We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Your Holiday Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe to your Saves list
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Shop 'til You Drop
Ranked #23 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Dallas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Not Your Holiday Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

When traveling, I try to avoid the major chains. Hotel Chimayo definitely breaks the mold - in comfort, personality, and convenience. Heritage Hotels and Resorts focuses the decor of public and private areas on the Indian and Hispanic history of New Mexico. The hotel is not promoting religion, yet the Catholic Church plays a prominent role in local history, so many of the decorative pieces have a Catholic theme. The rooms, off a visually interesting courtyard, include comfortable sitting areas with fireplace, and the bedroom included a fabulous soft mattress with stacked fluffy pillows. Expensive native woven rugs and artwork made me feel like I was a guest in a friend's house. Their bar and restaurant (including balcony patio) were excellent. The Low 'n Slow bar has a lowrider theme, and the barmen/mixologists are enjoyable.

Room Tip: The hotel was completely full when I was there, and there were no noise problems. The band playing i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    228
    69
    39
    23
See reviews for
103
282
42
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
423 reviews 423 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

The Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe has recently been remodeled,and displays a fair amount of religious folk art. The rooms have a variety of configurations, some of which require going up stairs (ask when making reservations). The room was well lit, and contained a mini-fridge. There is a bar and restaurant on premises The front desk staff was very cordial and helpful. The plaza is withing walking distance.
Parking is available for an additional fee.
On the whole, had a most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: There are some suites available, Ask if you have any issues with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Great hotel! Friendly and helpful staff! The hotel is charming, clean and in the perfect location to everything in Santa Fe main square. Bar and restaurant on site is excellent. Beds are extremely comfortable. From the minute you walk in everything smells like intoxicating Pinon Pine. They will make a fire for you in your room! Great deals on rooms. Really happy we stayed here. We will be back....

Room Tip: 112 is nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We spent several days in Santa Fe recently and really enjoyed this hotel. We had been here some years ago when it was another property and it has vastly improved. Although there was a minor issue when we checked in, apparently a double booking occured but the manager quickly upgraded us to a small suite with a balcony and fireplace. We loved the courtyard/patio and the hotel restaurant, Tia's Cocina, is excellent. Underground parking was appreciated and for our stay the usual $14 daily fee was waived. Just off the Plaza, the hotel is central to a great many of Santa Fe's attractions and restaurants. We will return again. Attention to service from the staff was exellent.
A downside is the heating/cooling system is a "one pipe" system. Meaning it is either set on cooling or heating. And if it on "cooling" for instance, you can't get any heat. Unless of course, you have a fireplace in the room and ask staff to build a fire for you. We were fortunate that the weather was pleasant and we didn't require either heating or cooling.

Room Tip: If you don't mind stairs, stay 2nd floor at the back for quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces NM USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe.

My wife loves Santa Fe. So, when we got a special offer for two nights at the Chimayo hotel we grabbed it. It turned out to be one of the best short breaks we have had in a long time. The hotel is owned by the Chimayo Pueblo and in the late spring and summer they offer guided tours of the pueblo.

The hotels location is the best in Santa Fe, 25 yards from the Santa Fe Plaza and the portico of the Palace of the Governors where Native Americans sell their jewelry and pottery. The hotel has underground parking – not a small item in Santa Fe. The rooms are small in keeping with a hotel of its age but the bathrooms are modern and the décor of the rooms has enough Southwest touches and furniture to set them apart from the chain motels on Cerrillos Road.

In the summer the hotel offers guided tours of the Chimayo Pueblo. They had not started those trips when we were there. However, they did offer a free walking tour. The walking tour was the high point of our stay. I have lived in New Mexico for 60+ years and had to come to Santa Fe fairly often in my job and thought that I was familiar with most of the city and its history. I was wrong.

My wife and I were the only ones on the tour that morning and our guide teamed up with the guide from the La Fonda Hotel who also had only one couple in tow for about an hour tour of the city in the neighborhoods around the Square. It was very enjoyable and I learned a lot about the city that I had never known or had forgotten.

We will definitely stay at the Hotel Chimayo in the future. I mentioned the La Fonda Hotel, probably Santa Fe’s most famous hotel. When in Santa Fe at least have lunch at the La Fonda and enjoy their uniquely decorated dining room and explore the art work in all areas, including the hallways

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in April with our family of four. The location cannot be beat as it is just off of the plaza where you want to be. It is a very nice building as well with an ambiance and decor of old New Mexico. The staff was very helpful particularly the gentleman at the front desk in the evening who made some very good restaurant recommendations. That being said, our sleep quality was poor as you cannot control the temperature in the room even though there was an air conditioning/heat control device in each room. It was very hot each night. We complained to the front desk twice about it and, unfortunately, they said there was nothing that could be done as the heat was controlled for the building as a whole. The only alternative for us to reduce the temperature to a comfortable level was to open several windows. However, this resulted in a lot of unwanted street noise both late at night and in the early morning. As a consequence, we did not sleep well on either of the two nights that we stayed at the hotel. This definitely marred our experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn NY
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

We would definitely recommend the charming hotel to everyone who visits Santa Fe. We booked through a prepaid, non refundable offer and did not know what to expect. The computers were down and tour room was not ready. They offered us lunch, drinks and upgraded us to a suite. Our suite had a fireplace. When we asked to light the fire, a young man came with logs and started the fire. The linens were luxurious. The decor is lovely but the bathrooms are teeny tiny. There is no vanity or place large enough tp hold toiletries. Other than that, everything is wonderful. We would like to thank the manager, Helga Byndas for making our trip to Santa Fe very special.

Stayed May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Address: 125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe (previously the Hotel Plaza Real) has just been fully remodeled. This picturesque boutique hotel offers luxurious accommodations with original artwork which celebrates the unique heritage of Chimayo. The enchanting guest room suites feature bancos, fireplaces, private or communal balconies and separate living rooms centered on an open-air plaza patio. Just a short walk from the hotel are some of the most treasured Santa Fe attractions such as the State Capitol, the Palace of the Governors, the striking St. Francis Cathedral Basilica, and the Loretto Chapel, which houses the Miraculous Spiral Staircase. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Santa Fe
Plaza Real Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.