We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe to your Saves list
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
'Tis the Season-Save 25%
Ranked #23 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Albuquerque
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We have stayed in this hotel before, and were pleasantly surprised with the upgrades, especially the bar and restaurant. The newly appointed porches and outside dining are lovely and pleasant. As always, the staff is curteous and helpful and newly appointed rooms have a wonderful northern NM flavor. We especially loved the soft, luxory of the bed linens and quiet rooms. This hotel is a must for guests who want to be in the heart of Santa Fe.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    224
    68
    37
    23
See reviews for
103
275
40
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011 via mobile

The Junior King Suite was beautifully decorated, cozy, immaculate, and comes with the extra feature of a wood-burning fireplace. Wonderful comfortable bed with nice linens and down comforter. The entire property is very pretty - warm, inviting, with extremely friendly and helpful staff. Also, the location is perfect for walking anywhere in town. Would definitely recommend, and if we return to Santa Fe would stay here again without a doubt!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnison, Colorado
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

My family and I recently rented two Junior Mission Suites in the hotel and had very mixed feelings about our stay. The hotel has an amazing location, convenient underground parking and very reasonable rates.
However, we were located on the ground floor on the street (Nusbaum) side. The windows are obviously very old and not insulated at all. Most of us were completely unable to sleep due to street and bar noises that happened sporadically throughout the night all night every night. It really prevented us from being able to fully enjoy our trip.
That being said, there were lots of good things about the hotel that are worth mentioning also:
-The staff is extremely friendly and helpful.
-The very low-key bar is also filled with friendly employees and they offer great drinks at a reasonable price.
-The rooms are very clean.
-The courtyard is very nice and inviting.
If you choose this hotel, be sure to request an upper floor room that is NOT on the street.

Room Tip: Request an upper floor room that is NOT on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

I stayed there for little over two weeks and it was a delightful experience. They worked around my budget as i was on the govt. reimbursed stay. The front desk was very friendly and I came to know most of them by their names by the end of the stay. Same goes for the bar. Bar is usually not crowded but I ended up having fantastic conversations with the guy working at the bar. I would highly recommend the place.

PS. They were also fantastic about providing me extra coffee whenever I needed so cheers for that. :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Chimayo when it was transitioning from the Hotel Plaza Real. We had been evacuated from our home as a result of the Las Conchas Fire. The Hotel gave us a very reasonable rate to stay there for the entire week. The customer service is great - most rooms have private patios and the new lobby is just beautiful. This hotel is one of the more reasonable hotels in Santa Fe, but without having to compromise on quality. The location, less than a block from the plaza is great too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor for nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

I have travelled to Santa Fe numerous times and have now found the hotel that I plan on staying at on all future trips! Hotel Chimayo is a few steps from the plaza and is the perfect location for shopping, dining and relaxing. The lobby opens out to a charming outdoor enclosed 'avenue' that provides access to all of the rooms. We stayed in a suite that was spacious and charming. Upon entry into the tiled foyer with desk, there are french doors on the right leading into the sitting room with wood-burning fireplace, frig, microwave and sofa (which is an actual bed as well - not a foldout). Ahead is the huge bedroom with comfy beds and down duvets. Room 203 has two beds and opens to a large patio.The bathroom is small but adequate. The staff was friendly and tended to our every need. This boutique hotel gives personalized friendly service. We felt as if we were staying in our own world away from it all and yet we had easy access to everything. We never even used our rental car! I will not stay anywhere else but at the Hotel Chimayo on future visits to Santa Fe!!

Room Tip: The suites provided lots of room. Room 203 has two beds which is not listed on the website. It also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simonhutch
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011 via mobile

Stayed for a 2 night break earlier in the month. It's very easy to find and has convenient underground parking. The hotel has a good atmosphere and they are doing sympathetic renovations to improve it further. Our room was not one of the best but was good for the price we paid. We didn't have time to use the bar or dining facilities but they looked jolly enough.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Address: 125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe (previously the Hotel Plaza Real) has just been fully remodeled. This picturesque boutique hotel offers luxurious accommodations with original artwork which celebrates the unique heritage of Chimayo. The enchanting guest room suites feature bancos, fireplaces, private or communal balconies and separate living rooms centered on an open-air plaza patio. Just a short walk from the hotel are some of the most treasured Santa Fe attractions such as the State Capitol, the Palace of the Governors, the striking St. Francis Cathedral Basilica, and the Loretto Chapel, which houses the Miraculous Spiral Staircase. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Santa Fe
Plaza Real Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.