We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overall, but noisy.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe to your Saves list
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
'Tis the Season-Save 25%
Ranked #22 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Edinburg, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great overall, but noisy.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Stayed for 3 days Sunday to Tuesday, in Room 133 in October.
Pros: Great customer service, allowed us to check in at 12 pm (when check in should be at 3 or 4). Housekeepers were pleasant and greeted us, the repair man gave us his parking slot in the basement when he knew we couldnt park and the lot is full. Location can't be beat (within a block from the plaza) and the price is 100$ less than the Anasazi next door to the left. The room has a fireplace, small living area separate form bedroom, with its own TV and little wet bar. Room decor and design is very characteristic of the city.
Cons: Bed was super comfy, pillows were fine, but we were awaken DAILY at 5:45, 5:15, 5:30 in the morning by garbage truck right next to our ear. If you dont mind, then get a room right next to the street (has a view), but if you hate getting awaken very early by garbage truck, choose a room facing the Hotel Anasazi. No view, but no noise.The exhaust in bathroom (yes it has an exhaust) is very loud, and the AC (which cools really well) has a hissing sound all the time. I just thought of it as a white noise, but I prefer complete silence at night. Bathroom is small, and somehow, the bath mat disappeared on the 3rd day (???). Lastly, it is not accessible. We had to carry our heavy luggages up and down a flight of stairs. Ask early on if you can't do stairs (or carry your luggage up a stairs), so you get a room on the first level in the front part of the hotel.
Would I stay here again? Definitely yes.

Room Tip: For low noise, choose the sie facing the expensive Anasazi hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPR_Rooms_Manager, Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, October 8, 2011
Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to give us a very kind review. From the bottom of my heart I would like to apologize profusely for the garbage trucks awakening you each morning you were here with us. It’s one of those things we just can not control. Like you said, our location can’t be beat, less then a block from the plaza, and unfortunately no matter how many different times we ask the city to start their garbage pick up later in the morning, they do not. As you know our hotel is an older European style building, with an enormous amount of warmth, culture, charm and history. Some of our guest rooms do not have elevator access, but we always offer and have assistance available anytime to help with luggage upon check-in and check-out. Once again thank you for your comments, and it was our pleasure serving you. We look forward to you return in the near future!

Mike Byrd
Operations manager
Hotel Chimayo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    222
    67
    37
    23
See reviews for
102
272
40
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

This was our second stay. The place was remodeled and looked better this time than last. You can't beat the great location and resonable rates. The room was spacious and clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Great location. Beds are wonderful. Balconies are fantastic. Service is non-existant. We didn't know that we had to drag our luggage up two flights of stairs to our room. No elevator. Had to ask a gentleman to help us with getting the luggage up the stairs. A/C unit was very loud. Breakfast at the restaurant was horribly slow. We complained and the waitress told us that the cook only prepared one plate at a time. We went elsewhere for meals after that. When we checked out we called the desk for help in getting our luggage down the stairs but never got anyone to help us so we took one piece at a time down the stairs, then back up to get another piece to bring it down.

Room Tip: Be prepared to carry your luggage up flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPR_Rooms_Manager, General Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
We truly apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Your feedback is concerning and will be addressed with the appropriate department. We take great pride in ensuring excellent customer service and it seems we failed to do so for you during your stay. We invite you to return in the future so we can provide you the stay you so rightfully deserve. Thank you again for pointing out areas we can improve to make the experience at Hotel Chimayo a truly authentic stay for all our guests.



Helga I. Byndas
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights during the Festival. The hotel was perfectly situated - within walking distance of almost everything, and the staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful - especially Amanda at the front desk. If you are going to Santa Fe I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

This hotel is located just steps from the square and two blocks from the catherdral. Has nice restaurant and bar on location. Walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Amanda at the front desk is cordial and helpful. She knows the area and provides good information. Check in was smooth and room was ready when we arrived. Undergound parking lot ($14.00) very convienient. Parked when we arrived and walked until we left.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

After some very basic remodeling, the prices went up. They added a restaurant, which has excellent food but the worst possible service. Maybe they will get the major service problems worked out over time but it was a nightmare during Indian Market, the town's busiest time of year. They updated the carpeting, drapes and lighting, which was sorely needed. They have a religious altar in the lobby, a large crucifix in the courtyard, and crosses on the walls in the rooms; this religious iconography is far too excessive and offensive. All of it should be removed. The lobby seating is no longer conducive to socializing. The reservation system is a complete nightmare. I was quoted four different rates by four different individuals; although I had a written confirmation, I was quoted yet another rate on check-in that of course was the highest. What a battle that was! The wireless internet worked only two nights out of ten. The door locks kept malfunctioning. In just one day, I had to take my key to the front desk four times to be rekeyed and my husband had to do it three times that day. Imagine how irritating this got by the tenth day. Sometimes the doors were completely unlocked due to a malfunction. The location is great so close to the plaza, the food in the new restaurant is very good, and the staff really do try to be helpful, but the overall experience was very unpleasant. After many years of staying here several times a year, we are looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed one night at the Hotel Chimayo on our first visit to Santa Fe. The 'boutique' hotel is right in the heart of Old Town with in walking distance of everything...no exaggeration. Parking is underground and reasonable. Pets are welcome. The ambiance is warm and welcoming. The lounge/bar was indoor/outdoor. There is a restaurant on the second floor. There's plenty of outdoor seating and unique decor. We stayed with our little dog in a two room suite with fireplace. My only complaint is the reception for the bedroom television was horrible, but by the time we realized, it was too late to ask for help. Overall a really nice time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Address: 125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe (previously the Hotel Plaza Real) has just been fully remodeled. This picturesque boutique hotel offers luxurious accommodations with original artwork which celebrates the unique heritage of Chimayo. The enchanting guest room suites feature bancos, fireplaces, private or communal balconies and separate living rooms centered on an open-air plaza patio. Just a short walk from the hotel are some of the most treasured Santa Fe attractions such as the State Capitol, the Palace of the Governors, the striking St. Francis Cathedral Basilica, and the Loretto Chapel, which houses the Miraculous Spiral Staircase. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Santa Fe
Plaza Real Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.