We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A simply wonderful hotel in the heart of everything to do in Santa Fe.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe to your Saves list
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Limited Time - Save 20%
Ranked #25 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Ruidoso
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A simply wonderful hotel in the heart of everything to do in Santa Fe.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We checked in late and during a very busy weekend in Santa Fe. We were treated as if we were the only ones at the registration desk. The bellman gave us a history lesson on the way to our beautiful suite. The waiter at dinner provided fabulous service and spent even more time telling us about the hotel. I've stayed in several Heritage Hotels and have come to believe they are all top notch. This one is no exception. They have a thumbs up and I look forward to my next stay with them.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    245
    74
    44
    23
See reviews for
109
301
45
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

This is an excellent hotel with a great location to everything Santa Fe has to offer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, TX
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

The service at the hotel was a bit spotty. We had a hard time finding someone to come to the front desk to check us in. There isn't any valet parking or bellmen but the front desk clerk did send one of the maintenance men to the garage to help us with our luggage.
Our room was comfortable but had a steep flight of stairs to climb once inside the door to get to the main area. We didn't mind, but it would be difficult for someone with bad knees--definitely not a handicapped accessible room! Our room was clean and freshly painted and carpeted, but it is obviously an older hotel. It was warm while we were there and the air conditioning in the room had obviously seen better days. We opened our windows both nights we were there to cool down.
The location was great however--just around the corner from the Plaza. The hotel also has its own parking garage which is rare for Santa Fe.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a ground floor room unless you like climbing a lot of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Recently returned to my favorite hotel on the Plaza and was amazed at the great job they've done with their re-do. The new rooms are crisp and very chic. Beds to die for. Always enjoyed the courtyard and porch but now they're even better. The entire staff did a super job to make my stay extra special. Front desk was friendly and helpful, especially Mike Byrd, who made it his mission to insure that I had a wonderful time at the hotel, as well as in Santa Fe. The new lobby is very evocative of historic New Mexico. And did I mention location, location, location?

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Visited Hotel Chimayo de Sante Fe with friends who had previously stayed at the hotel and had a wonderful experience. Centrally located, helpful staff, lovely facility and one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept on at a hotel.

Room Tip: stayed on the first floor, rooms were quiet and comfortable, bed was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

I am VERY happy with Amanda and her service was awesome! She is the best front desk lady! I LOVED her =)

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

The staff here is indeed the selling point. I had called prior to arrival to inquire about the possibility of an early check-in and was easily accommodated by Daniel, the desk clerk on duty. Upon arrival and during the brief length of our stay we were always made to feel at home and greeted with friendly smiles.

The room was nice and decorated in typical Southwestern motif. They have outstanding central air conditioning which kept the room nice and cool. The bathroom was small and a bit cramped, the one aspect which I was not totally happy with. If we had planned on staying longer I would have asked about a room with a spacier bathroom.

The location was perfect. It is literally a stone's throw from the Plaza and walking distance to any and everything you need in that area of Santa Fe. We were there for a family event which took place in several different venues, all within comfortable walking distance of the hotel.

Overall we had a pleasant experience at this place and would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to the Santa Fe area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,412 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,228 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Address: 125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picturesque Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, a boutique hotel, offers luxurious accommodations with original artwork which celebrates the unique heritage of Chimayo. The enchanting guest room suites feature bancos, fireplaces, private or communal balconies and separate living rooms centered on an open-air plaza patio. Just a short walk from the hotel are some of the most treasured Santa Fe attractions such as the State Capitol, the Palace of the Governors, the striking St. Francis Cathedral Basilica, and the Loretto Chapel, which houses the Miraculous Spiral Staircase. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Santa Fe
Plaza Real Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.