We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull small hotel; right of square.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe to your Saves list
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Monroe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderfull small hotel; right of square.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

This was my wife and my fifth trip to Santa Fe. Have stayed at La Fonda and Loretto but this is our favorite. Quaint courtyard instead of long hallways. Large quiet room. Comfortable bed and convenient parking. Convenient location 1/2 half block from square.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    234
    70
    39
    23
See reviews for
106
286
43
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

The hotel is undergoing major renovations in lobby area, so no breakfast or places to sit and relax are currently available; this is not stated when making a reservation. The location is very good; a stone's throw from the plaza. However, the 14/day parking fee is excessive. The walls and floors are very thin; can hear my neighbors too well. The room is fair, clean, comfortable bed, small bathroom, and a staircase that is useless. Service is below average; I waited 15-20 min. To check in while the one clerk, in the disheveled and dusty bar, talked on the phone without being able to prioritize. Ask for a discount; given the state of affairs, he did reduce my room rate and comp the parking, which was nice. Free Internet. I will not likely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPR_Rooms_Manager, Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Dear Mountain Wander,
Thank you for your review on Hotel Plaza Real. I am truly heart- felt that we did not meet all of your expectations while you stayed with us. We have taken every precaution necessary to ensure everyone who books a reservation, either by phone or on line are told we are going through renovation. Unfortunately it’s not a perfect system and we do our best to avoid this type of situation. This is still no excuse, and for that I’m truly apologetic. On a side note I wanted to explain a few things in hopes that it may change your mind and you will return to stay with us in the future. The staircase you saw was there to join a room for families that have two rooms but want a connecting door. I was also informed that you were kept up all night due to your neighbors and I just wanted to let you know that if this occurs again we would love for you to call the front desk ; we will gladly change your room and help you with any luggage you have, so you may be more comfortable. Lastly, I would like to address the front desk clerk who helped you during check in. He is a new employee here at Hotel Plaza Real and that was his first night without a trainer. I have spoken with him personally so he knows policy and how to prioritize situations better so this will not happen again in the future. I am glad to hear that you were happy with one of our newly renovated rooms and that the bed was most comfortable for you. I do hope that you were fairly compensated for your dissatisfaction. Thank you again for your honest review.
Mike Byrd Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

We recently stayed at the Hotel Plaza Real. The hotel is currently undergoing renovation in the lobby area, but there was no inconvenience to us at all. Our room was on the second floor. We had a private staircase up to it from a central courtyard. There is a hotel parking garage conveniently located under the property and well worth the $13 fee. They let us leave the car there for the entire day we checked out while we were sightseeing. Our second floor room was small, but felt airy and open due to the staircase, high ceilings, and a good layout with a refrigerator and food counter separating the beds and dressing area. A large balcony overlooked the courtyard and was a pleasant place to relax. The room was charming and decorated in Santa Fe style. The only drawback was the tiny bathroom. Fortunately there is a dressing area outside. The courtyard might not be pleasant during winter snow, but it was lovely at night, especially when all the lights came on. There are strings of peppers hung by every room and it has a great atmospere.
Even with all these pluses, the best thing about the room was its location. It was about half a block to the plaza and is in the thick of the downtown arts area, but on a side street so that it is quiet. We got an excellent rate from the hotel website. The worst thing about the Plaza Real was having to leave it. Breakfast would have been nice, but there are many options within walking distance. I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Check hotel website-price was 1/2 off on a Sunday!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageHtls, Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Hello!

Thanks so much for your feedback, pictures and traveler tip on our site. Your review describes many reasons why we take pride in Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe.

Regarding Breakfast, we're excited to announce Tia's Cocina; a new restaurant which will feature home cooked meals in a hacienda-style setting. It'll seem as though you're in the village of Chimayo for breakfast.

We thank you for your patronage and your wonderful review. I will be sure to pass on the compliments to our staff at the newly reinvented Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe.

Regards,

Kristelle Siarza
Heritage Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Plaza Real was beautiful, clean, private and close to lots of terrific restraunts and shopping.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosquero, NM
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

This property is truly enchanting! The whole atmosphere was just amazing! The rooms are very nice and the bed!! Wow! That bed is the most comfortable bed!! My new favorite hotel in Santa Fe!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Attentive staff, luxury room, beautiful hotel, a street away from the Main Square. Only drawbacks: no breakfast included and you have to pay for parking ($14). However, there're cheaper alternatives a short walk away - public parking.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

My wife and I were in Santa Fe for our son's graduation from St. John's College. The hotel is ideally located one block from the historic plaza and all of its associated stores and restaurants, on what was a very quiet Washington Street. All attractions are in easy walking distance, in fact that would be the preferred means of getting around. We rented a car so we could travel out to the college, which was only a few mintues away. The underground parking lot made renting the car very convienent. On several days we were in and out the garage frequently.

The new restaurant was still under construction so I can not comment on that.

What I liked most about the hotel besides its location was the charming courtyard from which we entered our room. It was decorated with hanging bunches of red peppers and I suspect flowers durng the summer season. I found this much more appealing and in some way soothing than hotel hallways. It is gratifying to walk out of your room into fresh air, look up at a beautiful blue sky, listen to the captivating songs of the birds and not hear the sounds of the outside world. Kind of a separate world.

We stayed in a suite, which gave us a separate sitting area, complete with fireplace, 2nd TV, frig, sink, coffee maker, and micro wave. Our room was technically on the first floor even though we had to walk up one set of steps. There is a second floor and I believe maybe a third floor in the front of the hotel.

The Heritage Hotel website really does not do the hotel justice in presenting the Plaza Real's charm and convienence.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Address: 125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#22 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe (previously the Hotel Plaza Real) has just been fully remodeled. This picturesque boutique hotel offers luxurious accommodations with original artwork which celebrates the unique heritage of Chimayo. The enchanting guest room suites feature bancos, fireplaces, private or communal balconies and separate living rooms centered on an open-air plaza patio. Just a short walk from the hotel are some of the most treasured Santa Fe attractions such as the State Capitol, the Palace of the Governors, the striking St. Francis Cathedral Basilica, and the Loretto Chapel, which houses the Miraculous Spiral Staircase. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Santa Fe
Plaza Real Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.