We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on the Alameda

Save Saved
You added Inn on the Alameda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn on the Alameda
303 E. Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Girls Getaway to Santa Fe
Ranked #2 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2007

My husband I chose the Inn on the Alameda after lots of research using this site. We booked well in advance, and were fortunate enough to get a room during this busy season. We stayed in suite #160, which has a private entrance and is absolutely lovely! There was a huge tub that was so deep that I had trouble getting in and out of. Probably just because I'm short:) I cannot say enough about the staff and service at the Inn. Jose at the front desk was particularly helpful and friendly. We especially loved the bed linens, which were so soft and cozy. The breakfast buffet was also a special treat and unlike most continental breakfasts I've had. We only made it to the wine and cheese reception once, but we enjoyed that as well. I highly recommend this Inn to anyone and would love to go again.

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    570
    190
    37
    8
    6
See reviews for
117
420
31
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson,AZ
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2007

Stayed At Inn on the Alameda July 15, 16, 2007. Property is very fresh, with beautiful grounds and furnishings. Very clean and well cared for. Our room had a small but ample patio with two chairs and a table. Beds were comfortable. Complimentary breakfast and afternoon wine a cheese hour are not to be missed. Try the special recipe Sangria. Easy walk to the plaza plus free parking. Quiet and friendly. An excellent value especially considering location and the freebies!

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2007

Just spent two nights at the Inn on The Alameda and was very pleased with the experience.

Our stay was very pleasant; the staff was knowledgeable and helpful. Our room was comfortable and very quite. No problems at all. We did visit during the recent "record heat wave" so I did wish the Inn was closer to the Plaza. But the location for Canyon Road definitely a plus.

Enjoy the afternoon wine & cheese , the bartender is a gem. The deluxe continental breakfast. was just perfect. Wonderful to sit outside under a tree on the patio sipping coffee in the early morning before the sun heated up. The complimentary parking was also a plus.

Definitely would recommend the Inn to all.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2007

Ruined birthday weekend/probably last trip to Santa Fe.
This establishment doesn't even deserve a rating, but "poor" and 1 star was all the system allowed me to rate it.
I booked a stay for my husband and myself back in March 2007 for a 3 night stay beginning July 13th (my birthday).
I booked a "casita suite" with a sitting area, kiva fireplace, wet bar area, king bed and the smallest bathroom we have ever been in.
We checked in a little early on the 13th (3pm). When we got to Room #130, we immediately noticed it was on the corner of the busiest intersection in Santa Fe. At 3pm on Friday afternoon this intersection was non-stop with dump trucks, construction trucks, low riders with loud music, 18 wheelers, etc. You could hear people sneeze while walking along the street outside this "casita". My husband immediately went to the front desk and asked that we be moved to another room. He was promptly told there were no more rooms available. So we had no other choice but to stay the night (they had already charged a full night on our cc). We immediately tried to find another hotel for the next two nights and were not successful. Everything in Santa Fe was booked because of the Folk Art Festival taking place that weekend. We were stranded and at their mercy. The Assistant Manager and two men on duty at the time we arrived were not sympathetic (actually smerked at us) and could have cared less. We had also booked a reservation at "Geronimo's Restaurant" back on March 22nd, for my birthday celebration that night at 8pm, through the "concierge" at the "Inn on the Alameda". We got suspicious about our reservation (because the front desk did not mention it when we checked in). We promptly found out we DID NOT have a reservation after all. We were told the "Inn on the Alameda" DOES NOT have a concierge and the person I made the "reservation" with must have been one of the front desk people. The Assistant Manager told us she was "SORRY" and getting a reservation for that evening was probably not possible. By this time, our weekend was basically in the "toilet".They somehow managed to find us a reservation at 9pm for dinner, but we weren't seated until 9:45pm and the restaurant was clearing out by the time we ordered our food.
We came back to our "hotel room on the highway" and listened to low rider cars with music that shook the windows of our room until 12:30am. Somewhere before 4am we slept, then we were awakened by the garbage trucks and construction trucks and people walking by our casita. My husband had enough and told them he wanted to talk to the Manager. We promptly checked out, got our money back for the "worst night of our life" and drove back to Texas. I would like to ask the staff at the "Inn on the Alameda".."'have you ever spent the night in the "casita #130"? This hotel is nothing but an over priced Motel 6. They claim to have a Concierge (NOT) and they don't offer or have anyone to help you with your luggage.Their staff and Assistant Manager are rude. SHAME ON YOU AND THANKS AGAIN FOR RUINING OUR LAST WEEKEND IN NEW MEXICO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
WE HAD ONE BAD MEAL, THE NIGHT FROM HELL....and worst of all, I didn't even get to shop in Santa Fe or eat at some of our favorite restaurants!!!!!

  • Liked — Getting our money back for the one night we spent in Hell! We had to wait until the next day to talk to the Manager.
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2007

We only stayed at this hotel one night, but had a wonderful visit. First, leading up to our stay, we had to change our arrangements multiple times (due to scheduling issues). They were always completely courteous and accommodating, and very thorough in keeping track of all the details. In addition, when we arrived, they informed
us that they had given us a courtesy upgrade so that we (2 couples) could be in rooms next to one another.

The rooms themselves were lovely -- nothing spectacular, but clean and comfortable and large. We had a nice patio as well. The breakfast
in the morning was large and delicious, and the location is great for
walking to almost any place you want to go in SF. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2007

Pro's: Small private patio off room, comfortable beds, helpful staff, nice simple breakfast buffet, convenient to Canyon Rd.
Con: Bed comforter was too heavy...It would be better to have a duvet.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2007

We selected this hotel based on Trip Advisor's ratings, and we were very pleased with the location, staff, buffet breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese receptions. We were disappointed in our room, which was small and overcrowded with furniture (we had to put a chair out on the patio so that we could open the door to our room fully, and we were only able to partially open the door to the patio, because the bed was only a few inches away). We also had hoped (and asked) for a room with either an upstairs balcony or a little courtyard, but instead our patio consisted of two chairs with a view of a wooden fence. Not very enticing. Still, the staff was great and we really enjoyed the breakfast. We might try another place on a second visit, though.

  • Liked — The breakfast buffet
  • Disliked — Crowded room, lack of view
  • Stayed May 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn on the Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Alameda

Address: 303 E. Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Santa Fe, New Mexico, between the historic Plaza and the art-filled galleries of Canyon Road, the Inn on the Alameda is the ideal downtown Santa Fe lodging location. With this cozy inn as your home base, you can explore our town’s unique attractions, unique museums, fine dining, distinctive boutiques and local festivities. An ample continental breakfast with organic. vegan and gluten-free selections is included with every stay, as is a relaxing afternoon wine hour daily. Wi-fi and parking are always free, and one pet under 30# is welcome with a nightly fee in pet-specific rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Inn on the Alameda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Alameda Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel On The Alameda
On The Alameda Hotel
Inn Alameda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on the Alameda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.