We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Be Back -- Without the Kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on the Alameda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Inn on the Alameda to your Saves list
Inn on the Alameda
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   303 E. Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Girls Getaway to Santa Fe
Ranked #3 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dallas(ish)
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Will Be Back -- Without the Kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

Loved this place. We arrived late at night after 9 hours in the car with two small children, so it is possible a Motel 6 would have seemed like an oasis. We had a room w/ a kiva FP in which we burned the delicious pinion they had stacked outside. The room itself was perfect for us, although I would have rated it a 5 if the bathroom had been just a little bit more luxurious. Our room also sided a fairly busy road, but it never really bothered us (and believe me, we are bothered by that kind of thing.) Service was great and everyone I encountered was friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet -- not really my taste, but everyone else seemed to like it. Everyone else seems to think it is kind of expensive, but I thought it was definitely worth it. It is a short walk to Canyon Road and the grounds are gorgeous. I wish we would have spent our whole vacation here and sent our kids home on a plane. It is definitely more of a romantic hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    771
    243
    51
    9
    6
See reviews for
162
558
41
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

This is the second time we stayed at The Inn, the first time based on the glowing reviews, and the second time based on a great first stay. This time was quite a disappointment. When we spoke with the concierge, we asked to be placed in the same type of room we had booked on our other stay.

When we arrived, we discovered we must have ended up with the smallest room in the hotel. There were not Two Queens, but one - placed at an angle. The room was claustrophobic to say the least - I can't imagine staying here for more than one night. The bathroom had a shelf over the sink that made it nearly impossible to wash one's face without hitting your forehead - the result was water all over the floor.

The breakfast was indeed copious, and would have been fine except for the rock hard bread, bagels and muffins. They were clearly not fresh but frozen - the muffins had to be heated up in the microwave to not break your teeth on them, and even then they were inedible. When I brought up my concerns to the woman at the front desk, instead of acknowledging my concerns, she proceeded to argue with me and tell me that "they bring them every day". Well they might bring them every day, but that doesn't mean they are fresh - they can bring them frozen! Regardless, the first rule of customer service is NOT to argue with the customer, but to at the very least acknowledge their discontent. Nothing - it was more important for her to be right.

I don't know - maybe The Inn has become complacent, resting on its laurels of its Trip Advisor rating. The wonderful customer service others speak of was blatantly absent.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new canaan, ct
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

Can't add much to the glowing reviews, other than to affirm them. The staff was among the best we've ever experienced anywhere, every single one of them. Darryl is the "go to guy" for restaurants (trust his recommendations), Scott for hikes (geology, archeology etc. -- I'm told he was a geology prof at a local college -- take advantage of his knowledge to make your trip much more interesting than you could have imagined!), and Daniel told us accurately what to expect on the slopes. I regret only that our time was limited to 3 days. Other staff was very pleasant and professional - at wine bar, breakfast and desk. Just can't say enough good things about the Inn on the Alameda.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Campo, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

Just returned from a great visit to Santa Fe. This was our first stay at the Inn and will definitely be our choice for return visits. The location was very convienent to the Plaza and Canyon Road. The breakfast buffet exceeded our expectations and the afternoon wine & cheese reception was enjoyable. Staff was great and parking was free. Highly recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

We visited Santa Fe for a "girlfriends getaway" and this was the second time we stayed at the Inn on the Alameda and it just keeps getting better. It's in a great location,.You can easily get to the Plaza and Canyon Road. The rooms are comfortable, cozy, and always very clean. The breakfast they serve is absolutely wonderful! And the wine and cheese reception they serve every afternoon is very classy. Actually it's one of the reasons we came back, as well as something to look forward to and a way to unwind every afternoon. Now, what I think truly sets the Inn apart and makes them so first class is the staff. The front desk staff is extremely helpful and it's very evident they are "concierge trained". However, everyone we have ever encountered was fantastic. Charlie, "the bartender" definitely makes you feel at home and is very attentive, and we very much enjoyed his company. Even the breakfast staff is great. They all get two thumbs up from us. We love the Inn on the Alameda. If you are going to stay in Santa Fe, it should be here!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

We have been staying at the Inn every year for the past 4 years and it is by far the best place to stay in Santa Fe. The breakfast is fabulous and the complimentary wine and cheese in the afternoon is great. The staff are all very helpful from Darryl at the front desk to Charlie at the wine bar. They even remember us every time we arrive with a warm welcome. You can walk to just about everything in Santa Fe. The rooms are clean and well appointed. Parking is free and the hot tub clean.

  • Liked — High quality sheets and towels, room decor
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

This Inn has the best breakfast buffet and a great wine tasting happy hour in the afternoon. They provide free parking and everything is walking distance. They have some fabulous upgraded rooms with kiva fireplaces and very nice updated bathrooms. I have stayed here four times now and can't make myself stay anywhere else, even if it is cheaper.

  • Liked — Wine tasting, breakfast, the smell of pinon and free parking
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on the Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Alameda

Address: 303 E. Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn on the Alameda 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Santa Fe, New Mexico, between the historic Plaza and the art-filled galleries of Canyon Road, the Inn on the Alameda is the ideal downtown Santa Fe lodging location. With this cozy inn as your home base, you can explore our town’s unique attractions, unique museums, fine dining, distinctive boutiques and local festivities. An ample continental breakfast with organic. vegan and gluten-free selections is included with every stay, as is a relaxing afternoon wine hour daily. Wi-fi and parking are always free, and one pet under 30# is welcome with a nightly fee in pet-specific rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and Odigeo so you can book your Inn on the Alameda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Alameda Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel On The Alameda
On The Alameda Hotel
Inn Alameda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on the Alameda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.