We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on the Alameda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Inn on the Alameda to your Saves list
Inn on the Alameda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   303 E. Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Turquoise, Water, Sky
Ranked #2 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
SoCal
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our brief stay here. I had a very favorable first impression when shortly after booking online I received a call from the hotel advising me there were no elevators and wanting to know if that would be a problem, then asking if I had any questions. Very nice. We arrived a couple hours before the 3:00 check in time but our room was ready so we were able to check in. The room was pleasant but pretty basic, although the bed was comfortable and the linens were nice. I was surprised at the decor. I expected Southwestern but the knotty pine paneling on the ceiling and rustic leather furniture seemed more like something you would see in Wyoming or Montana. The bathroom was tiny with one small shelf that didn't have room for much of anything. At almost $300 a night it was kind of pricey but this is a tourist location at the height of summer so not unexpected. All the staff members were friendly and helpful. The wine and cheese hour was lovely and the breakfast was outstanding! Free parking, free wifi and close to the Plaza. This was a great choice for our brief overnight stay and I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina G, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to let others know how much you enjoyed the breakfast, the wine and cheese, our wonderful linens, comfortable beds, and our friendly and helpful staff.

The leather furniture is Equpale, which has its roots in Mexico and has long been a standard of Santa Fe Style, while vigas are a more traditional ceiling treatment, southwestern style in Santa Fe runs the gambit of Mexican, western, and arts and craft.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next journey through Santa Fe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    225
    48
    9
    6
See reviews for
147
525
38
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, NM, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My husband and I loved our one-night stay at Inn on the Alameda.

The room was quiet, private, and nicely appointed. Desk staff were professional, friendly, and gracious every time we connected with them, whether by phone while planning our visit, or during our stay. The breakfast was fresh, amazingly delicious, very "sense of place," and included gluten free options, yay. They even comped us a bottle of champagne--set up in our room while we were out to dinner--because somehow it had leaked out that it was our wedding night. :-)

The only less-than-perfect element was our evening waiter/bartender. Nice enough person, and true, it's only a casual, bar-menu place with a very limited menu. Still, he was rough around the edges, definitely lacking in the people and communication skills (and terrific training) of his colleagues.

All in all, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina G, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to write your lovely review, we also appreciate knowing what pleases our guests and where we can improve. Your comments are truly thoughtful and constructive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

First off, the location is great, tons of *perks* are added at no cost (parking, a shuttle, internet, happy hour wine, etc.), and everything seems very clean. Those are the 'up-sides.'

However.

Just know that you're not getting much in terms of accommodations or service, unless perhaps you're springing for the top-of-the-line room (not that I've seen them, but giving the Inn the benefit of the doubt).

Room-wise, for $250-$300/night, think of it more like a $100-150/night room with the *free* amenities being heavily folded into the rate - the room itself will not be materially different from a budget inn. Two rooms we stayed in (we moved rooms due to privacy issues - see below) we're musty smelling (but clean), had a single natural light source of a glass double-door (leading to a small patio or balcony, respectively - the lack of light/windows might also explain the musty smell), not much at all in the way of ambiance, and each were right on the parking lot (resulting in no privacy if wanting to keep the blinds open, as well as noise from car-doors, etc.). The 1st floor room we tried, but abandoned, had a fire place (gas, and maybe charming in the winter?), but no privacy (as the first floor glass door faces the walkway that is a few feet away). The 2nd floor room offered marginally better privacy, but due to the parking lot below being visible from the bed we were still compelled to leave the shades shut (clipping the only source of natural light). In sum, room-wise, don't get your hopes up based on $300 - and assume instead that the "freebies" comprise a not immaterial portion of your rate. Note also that the property has several buildings, in several configurations, and so perhaps the property can be shopped to find better room value.

Service-wise, everyone was pleasant enough, but were more like "staff" than service professionals - don't expect a bellman or super-attentive personal service. Perhaps most telling in retrospect has been looking now through these reviews of anyone with a criticism and seeing the general manager's oft-snarky or passive-aggresive replies (I'm sure mine own is coming!).

In other words, unless you shop the property's rooms well, you're paying a decent price to get a number of services described often as 'free' (hope you use them!), a good location, an only OK room, and pleasant "staff" but not really service. In Santa Fe, this package of goods may well be worth every penny, but just know where those pennies are being distributed.

Room Tip: See if you can get away from parking lots, add some windows, and make sure to diligence whether the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We celebrated our anniversary in Santa Fe and loved our stay at the Inn on the Alameda. It was the perfect location (a quick 10 min walk into town) and we loved that our room felt very "local." we reserved a room off the main part of the Inn so it was secluded - perfect for us! We never made the complimentary wine/cheese hour every day but the complimentary breakfast was incredibly delicious. The staff was super helpful (we had more than a few questions for them) and it was really convenient that they provided a free shuttle to the main drag (you know, in case it rained or something). Would definitely recommend staying here - it was a great choice, especially for the online price!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina G, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
I so glad to hear that our excellent staff made your anniversary stay that much nicer.

Thank you for taking your time to share with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I brought a group of guests that filled 14 rooms to this hotel recently for four nights. The hotel staff was absolutely outstanding. Every person that worked at the front desk during our four night stay was knowledgeable and friendly. The breakfast was delicious, and the wine and cheese happy hour much appreciated every day. The courtesy vehicle was so convenient, and the hotel staff more than happy to drop everything to take you down the road. Staff was very efficient at bringing guests' suitcases to their rooms as soon as the coach arrived at the hotel, and were very efficient collecting everything at the end of our stay. (Many thanks to house keeping for getting all 14 rooms ready prior to our early arrival!!)

I had an unexpected emergency to deal with and the hotel staff was more than helpful at making the process as smooth as possible. Rooms are lovely, and even though some of the rooms do look out onto the parking lot, I was not really bothered by this, as I didn't spend much time in my room! The property has lovely nooks to sit and relax in and its proximity to Canyon Road and the Plaza area mean you really don't spend much time in the room. It is also possible to eat at Agoyo Lounge, which serves light fare every night from 5-10, and the food was absolutely delicious, and reasonably priced.

It is a quiet property, with a local boutique feel. There is a lot of character to the property, and it feels like you are in Santa Fe, unlike some hotels that you could pick up and plop down in any city and you wouldn't notice a difference. I would absolutely go back.

Room Tip: Many rooms have some kind of balcony, but not all of them have furniture on the balcony. There is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina G, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your lovely and thoughtful review, we enjoyed hosting your group and are always ready to assist when something unexpected occurs during travel.

We look forward to the groups return next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

It is easy to get to all the main areas you will want to see in Sant Fe. It is caual, but sophisticated at the same time . You can't miss with this place. The have a complimentary wine ane cheese reception every afternoon. Just what is called for as you make plans for the evening.

Room Tip: It makes the plaza and canyon street equally accessable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina G, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share with others your enjoyment of the Inn, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salina, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Best value in Santa Fe. More like staying with friends. Terrific customer service. So relaxing. Close to Canyon Road, wonderful shuttle...quiet atmosphere, knowledgable friendly staff. Will definitely go back!Excellent!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina G, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Wow what a great review and to the point "best value in Santa Fe", thank you so much for sharing.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Happy Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on the Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Alameda

Address: 303 E. Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn on the Alameda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Santa Fe, New Mexico, between the historic Plaza and the art-filled galleries of Canyon Road, the Inn on the Alameda is the ideal downtown Santa Fe lodging location. With this cozy inn as your home base, you can explore our town’s unique attractions, unique museums, fine dining, distinctive boutiques and local festivities. An ample continental breakfast with organic. vegan and gluten-free selections is included with every stay, as is a relaxing afternoon wine hour daily. Wi-fi and parking are always free, and one pet under 30# is welcome with a nightly fee in pet-specific rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Inn on the Alameda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Alameda Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel On The Alameda
On The Alameda Hotel
Inn Alameda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on the Alameda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.