We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on the Alameda

Save Saved
You added Inn on the Alameda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn on the Alameda
303 E. Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Turquoise, Water, Sky
Ranked #2 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We had a room with two queen beds. The beds were very comfortable, and the linens quite nice. The ceiling in our room had pine boards which made the ceiling seem closer than would otherwise be the case. The bathroom was small with a pedestal sink and narrow board shelf above it. Still, the various towels and cloths were of a good quality, as were the soap and shampoo products. A hair dryer was in the bathroom.

We slept well with no noticeable noise or intrusions.

The Inn is near the Sante Fe Plaza, and with a shortcut through the Cathedral parking lot off Paseo de Peralta we were in the Plaza in under 10 minutes by foot.

The HD TV is quite small (19"? 21?) but we didn't watch any TV anyway.

The evening cheese and crackers with grapes are nothing special (but included gratis). The included sangria was good and quite refreshing.

The woman attending the breakfast buffet was brusque and abrupt, but the food was plentiful and good as others have described. We especially liked the cut fresh fruit.

My impression of Jose at the front desk was that he was a bit aloof and removed, but check in went well with no issues.

The layout is a bit of a maze with separate sections and buildings and parking lots here and there. Our room was off a hall that needed a key card to enter; a nice security touch.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina G, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review letting us know what you loved and where we can improve. All guest comments are appreciated and taken into consideration.

Happy Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    592
    195
    39
    9
    6
See reviews for
124
433
31
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed two days and felt very at home here. Morning breakfast was exceptionaly good and diverse. Rooms were quite comfortable and inviting with a private patio to enjoy the morning. It is withing easy walking distance to the both the plaza and galleries. Great place at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina G, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on are all inclusive rate with amenities.

Hope to see you on your next visit to Santa Fe.

Happy Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed here for four days in May and loved everything about it. We stayed in a suite which had a little kitchen area and a really cute sitting area with a fireplace. Even though it was on ground level and despite being on a fairly busy street we were not disturbed by street noise. We had our own outdoor sitting area but our room also opened onto the patio where you could have breakfast. The grounds are lovely. The food was good with a nice variety of things to eat. The setting was soothing and comfy and the location ideal - an easy walk to the plaza or the galleries. We drove to two fantastic hikes - one was close - Bryant Park? The other was not that far - maybe an hour - and well worth the drive to Tent Rocks. (Absolutely spectacular rock formations.) The folks at the Inn were more than helpful supplying bottled water for us everyday and anything we needed. The wine and cheese hour was a welcome site after a day of hiking, touring the museums and galleries or shopping. I recommend you stay here - I would return in a heartbeat!!

Room Tip: The suites are very roomy with lots of decorative details that made it feel more like a guest room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina G, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you so much for taking your time to share with others your enjoyment of the Inn and the welcome wine and cheese hour after a day hike to Tent Rock.

Happy Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The Inn on the Alameda advertises itslef as "the best value in Old Santa Fe" - and I have no reason to doubt their claim. The property is best described as a "boutique" hotel - small, but not tiny. We stayed in a Traditional King and our room was lovely and quite comfortable.
The hotel offers a large and diverse breakfast buffet with tradiational items as well as a few "specialty items" - Huevos Rancheros, Egg Casserole with Churrizo sausage, and other Southwestern items. They also offer a complimentary wine and cheese hour in the afternoons. It was a quick 5 minute walk to the plaza area, and the hotel offerred a complimentary shuttle to other locations. The Staff was fantastic ! Warm, freindly and really accommodating. Competing hotels only a block away were twice the price.
I would reccomend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in the old part of town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina G, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you so much for taking your time to detail all the added value offered with your room rate at the Inn, our staff truly cares about creating a memorable experience for our guest and I am so happy to hear that your stay was all we claim to be.

Happy Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We used to stay at La Fonda but won't anymore! Great, friendly service, delicious, generous breakfast, rooms with decks and patios – all this, and only a few block from the plaza. And at half the price. A no-brainer!

Room Tip: Ask for one upstairs with a deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina G, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you so much for taking your time to affirm the great value of Inn on the Alameda's all inclusive room pricing.

We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Santa Fe,

Happy Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is a nice place to stay in Santa Fe. Great location. The room was comfortable. Nice bed and linens. We stayed on the first floor and had a small patio. The hotel doesn't have an elevator so first floor is better for those with larger pieces of luggage. The service at the front desk was excellent and staff were friendly and helpful. Happy hour was a welcome perk. However, the one downside of our visit was the food: breakfast and dinner. In many years of traveling (domestically and internationally), I've never gotten sick after eating at a hotel, but,unfortunately, there is first time for everything! Overall, its a nice place but the best bet is to eat out for dinner and choose carefully at breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina G, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to let us know what worked for you at the Inn and what did not.

We do have an elevator in our deluxe building but not in the North or East building, so be sure to ask for the deluxe if you would like the second floor and find stairs challenging.

We are disappointed as well that your enjoyment of the food was contrary to so many of our guests comments, we closely follow safe serve standards and will be extra vigilant based on your experience.

Safe Travels Always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Indiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My wife & I stayed for 6 nights. Good location, close but just far enough away to be it's own little oasis of calm. Part of the that is the design of the property and the landscaping. Staff was friendly and helpful. Food was delicious. I didn't think that we would attend the wine/cheese hour more than once or twice but we went every day. It was that pleasant. We have absolutely no nits to pick with the Inn on the Alameda.

One word review--Outstanding.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina G, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to share with others all that makes the Inn so special to so many, you summed it up beautifully.

We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Santa Fe,

Happy Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on the Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Alameda

Address: 303 E. Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Santa Fe, New Mexico, between the historic Plaza and the art-filled galleries of Canyon Road, the Inn on the Alameda is the ideal downtown Santa Fe lodging location. With this cozy inn as your home base, you can explore our town’s unique attractions, unique museums, fine dining, distinctive boutiques and local festivities. An ample continental breakfast with organic. vegan and gluten-free selections is included with every stay, as is a relaxing afternoon wine hour daily. Wi-fi and parking are always free, and one pet under 30# is welcome with a nightly fee in pet-specific rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn on the Alameda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Alameda Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel On The Alameda
On The Alameda Hotel
Inn Alameda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on the Alameda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.