We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Santa Fe - liked our choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on the Alameda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Inn on the Alameda to your Saves list
Inn on the Alameda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   303 E. Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Turquoise, Water, Sky
Ranked #2 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Madiera Beach, Fl.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“First time in Santa Fe - liked our choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

I chose this hotel after comparing on trip advisor. I was there for a weekend with my husband and a few work days after. I was not disappointed.

We booked a "larger room" (133) which was literally on the corner. Traffic/outside noise was not a problem at all. It had a very nice/large enclosed/private courtyard which I liked. I would only suggest that because it was large enough- a lounge chair would have been a nice touch for reading, coffee, etc.

The room had a large bed, ample closet/dresser space, a small semi walled off sitting area with kiva fireplace, a desk area, a wet bar, and a bathroom that was a bit on the smallish side. There was very little bathroom counter space.

The room was slightly bigger then average while the courtyard was bigger then average. Staff was pleasant but I would not refer to as "amazing" as I have experienced in other higher end hotels. They were nice but not "over the top" in general. Charlie is a bartender and is extremely nice/helpful and makes the most amazing sangria:)

Pros:
- room basically but nicely appointed/decorated.
- loved the courtyard
- inn isn't self had a very comfy/relaxed feel to it
- check in was easy and smoothe
- parking easy, not a problem at all
- I found it to be quiet- did not have this issue as I have heard others post
- very close/walking distance to the square
- breakfast (included) was good- (see below on con part of food review)
- bathroom clean/room clean (see blow for additional)
- staff pleasant
- check out easy

Minor criticisms
- complimentary breakfast was good- tasty. Abundant pastries dominated. But, mostly continental feel- had a quiche and a frittata each day, but nothing a bit more substantial like eggs or an omelette.
- coffee was limited to breakfast- would have been nice to grab one in the afternoon.
- one day housekeeping came at about 11- the next day they were next door so I waited around for an hour thinking my room was next- went in and was not done- I went out for a few hours and came back around 3:30- still, not done so I took a nap- woke up an hour later and there was a tag on the door saying that they tried to clean but I had put do not disturb on- so room not cleaned that day. I had or got o the front desk to get a clean coffee mug. The staff noted the room had not been cleaned but did not offer to do so.

- for some reason- the fitted sheet was not overly fitted- more laying atop the mattress- kind of did not like that- felt uncomfortable (I'm a bit OCD about things like that)

- at about 11 one night my husband when to the front desk to get a snack for purchase but they were "closed"? Also, one time at night I had a terrible headache and needed Tylenol and did not want to go out to get it. The front desk said they could not give me any- I understand this- would maybe suggest having a few such like items for sale in situations like this.

-as mentioned, the staff was nice enough (mostly dining staff) but front desk just ok. They said they were "concierge trained". I was not entirely sure what that meant. We paid a decent price for our room/stay there- I think I expected a bit more from the staff like I have experienced at other nice places we stayed.

If I'm in Santa Fe again, it's very possible I would stay here again- but also as possible I might try another place.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina G, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
I am glad that you were happy with your overall experience at the Inn and appreciate you taking the time to let us know about the few areas where we might improve.

I look forward to meeting you on your next visit to Santa Fe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    225
    48
    9
    6
See reviews for
147
525
38
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Nice hotel, very clean. Simple rooms and decor. Was somewhat let down by the hotel, guess my expectations were to high!

I would look around for better value before booking this hotel again.

Bfast very nice!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina G, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your very candid review, coming from NY I can understand that our traditional Southwestern Hospitality may not have been what you were expecting. I am glad you enjoyed our breakfast and I certainly hope you will return to Santa Fe. There are many lodging options just outside of the downtown area that may be more to your preference for value, if you drive or rent a vehicle you can experience all that Santa Fe has to offer with out being in walking distance of the popular Canyon Road and Plaza areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This was our first trip to Santa Fe in many years and the city, and this hotel in particular, did not disappoint. The Inn is well located just off the plaza. Check-in and parking close to our unit was smooth and easy. We upgraded to a one-bedroom suite (#142), which was very comfortable. The living room had a sofa, big lounge chair, coffee table, desk and kiva fireplace, with a wet bar in one corner. The bed was just the right firmness for us. The bathroom had decent counter space; the toilet and bathtub-shower were in a separate space, with doors from both the bedroom and the rest of the bath. We liked the breakfast buttet, and the staff we encountered were all friendly and helpful. We will return here, unless TripAdvisor readers insist we should try something even better in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I've stayed at this lovely small boutique hotel on numerous occasions, however this is my first attempt at reviewing it. First off the location is close enough to the sights of the downtown area but just far enough away to avoid the crowds, such as they can be. It's essentially an easy and safe two block walk to the plaza. The hotel does offer a shuttle if needs be. The location is a one minute walk to the art galleries and restaurants on Canyon Road. The rooms are clean and come in several configurations. Our favorite room is number 251 which has a large, private outside sitting area, great for a socializing spot if you are travelling with couples and the weather permits. It goes without saying the rooms are clean and many/most have gas fire places. The bathroom is amply stocked with shampoo, shower gel, etc. and large robes are provided. The breakfast, which comes with the room, is as hearty or as healthy as you would like it, with quiche, frittatas, pastries, breads, cereal, juice, coffee, etc. Breakfast can be a bit crowded and seating can sometimes be difficult but it all seems to work out somehow. My experience with the staff has always been positive. The economy hasn't been particularly kind to the area the last few years and this hotel has, on the whole, done a good job of maintaining the pre-crash service, with only a regular guest noticing a few modest changes here and there. They've just opened a small restaurant that opens for dinner only, but we didn't try it though it smelled great as they prepped. Unless, God forbid, something happens to significantly change this wonderful little place, it will always be our home away from home in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina G, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
I am so glad that your experience at the Inn was exactly what we hope every guest will enjoy.

Thank you for sharing and I do hope on your next visit you will have the opportunity to try Chef Jen's fabulous fare.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My stay at the Inn was better than I had hoped for - in fact, it exceeded expectations so much so that I plan to spend my next weekend in Santa Fe here! Some previous reviews had suggested that the rooms might be in need of some TLC and that the walls were too thin. Although I heard a few creaky beams, thin walls were not an issue for me, and I found no fault in the room decor; rather, the decor added to the charm of the building and the grounds. The bathroom had lovely accent tile work and a large shower/tub, lovely earthen-tone hues, and large mirrors. The room (and grounds) had some great touches - southwestern themed lamps and patterning, adorable patios (ours on the first floor screened in with tree branches turned into a fence!), dried red chilies as decorations, and cute little courtyards. For anyone interested in gallery-hopping, the location could not be better because you are not even one block away from Canyon (and only a quick 5 minute walk from the best hot chocolate you've ever had at Kakawa Chocolate House!). We did not venture "downtown" to the Plaza; however, we had no trouble requesting that the Inn's shuttle drop us at dinner (Restaurant Martin - a wonderful surprise - absolutely delicious, cozy, and highly recommended), and they say they will take you (and pick you up) at any destination. The shuttle arrived less than 5 minutes after we called for the pick-up; the driver was really friendly and timely. Breakfast was low-key and the frittata/quiche/stuffed croissants were delicious. Although I did not partake in the available pastries, there did seem to be a wide variety of choices (including gluten-free muffins)! All in all, it was a lovely, quiet stay in the City Different!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "traditional" building (not with the fitness center/massage room). Our r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina G, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
The time you have taken to write your detailed review is truly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were very clean and Inn is in good location to walk to many of the sites and wonderful restaurants and shops of Santa Fe. The check-in process had a few issues, but were corrected to our satisfaction. Next time in Sante Fe, I will look for something a little more cozy and quaint; this style of Inn makes me feel like I was on a business trip, not a long needed vacation.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina G, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
I certainly appreciate anyone who takes the time to write a response, but goodness me, "a bit like a chain", this is so contrary to our usual guests comments I am not sure how to respond and would have thought you had posted to the wrong Inn had I not personally approved a complimentary upgrade for you during your stay. We have a cozy lobby, 10 buildings which include 12 distinct casitas, the traditional rooms all have pine tongue and groove ceilings, traditional southwest furnishings and décor, each room is slightly different, some include kiva fireplaces, the bathrooms are titled in traditional New Mexican style. We are definitely not a bed and breakfast so I certainly understand that if that is your preference we did not meet that expectation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Service was spot on from the reservation process to the end of the stay. I found the location to be almost perfect - Canyon Road is a block away and still close enough to the plaza (5 minute walk) to hear the church bells.

Rooms are functional and well decorated. I'd agree the walls are pretty thin - but it's not exactly the Animal House crowd staying here, so it wasn't a big deal. As far as street noise - I couldn't hear any from my room. There are several different styles and sizes of rooms. The website was sufficient for me to make my choice, but if you are particular - I'd call the property before booking. They'll go out of their way to make sure you are satisfied.

Manager's Happy Hour and the morning breakfast were both nice extras. Overall an excellent experience and a great home base for a stay in Santa Fe.

Room Tip: Some of the patios are bigger/better than others. If this is important, I'd call before booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina G, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
What a nice review, I so appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn on your next visit to Santa Fe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on the Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Alameda

Address: 303 E. Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn on the Alameda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Santa Fe, New Mexico, between the historic Plaza and the art-filled galleries of Canyon Road, the Inn on the Alameda is the ideal downtown Santa Fe lodging location. With this cozy inn as your home base, you can explore our town’s unique attractions, unique museums, fine dining, distinctive boutiques and local festivities. An ample continental breakfast with organic. vegan and gluten-free selections is included with every stay, as is a relaxing afternoon wine hour daily. Wi-fi and parking are always free, and one pet under 30# is welcome with a nightly fee in pet-specific rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Inn on the Alameda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Alameda Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel On The Alameda
On The Alameda Hotel
Inn Alameda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on the Alameda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.