We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely, Cozy Oasis and a Great Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on the Alameda

Save Saved
You added Inn on the Alameda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn on the Alameda
303 E. Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Turquoise, Water, Sky
Ranked #2 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A Lovely, Cozy Oasis and a Great Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We spent two nights here in mid June, during a super hot spell in Santa Fe. The inn was an oasis of cool comfort and special treatment from the gentleman from the bar who made sure I had a carafe of hot water for my tea to bring back to my room to the lovely ladies at the front desk who recommended restaurants and provided a road map upon our departure. Our room was cozy and immaculate with a beautifully appointed (small, in case you're envisioning a spa tub or something) bathroom and a very, very comfortable bed. The breakfast, included in the price, was delicious and we enjoyed it outside under the trees before the day got too hot. The location is perfect...a few steps from Canyon Road and a short stroll to the Plaza and all the shops. If we ever find ourselves back in Santa Fe, we would not consider staying elsewhere. They make you feel like we were special guests!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    597
    197
    39
    9
    6
See reviews for
125
436
31
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The location of this hotel is very good, a short walk to the main square and right by Canyon Road. Breakfast was good and while the variety wasn't great, it was hearty and generous. The room I had was very nice, and was very quiet. The staff was very professional and helpful.

I highly recommend attending the happy hour. The wine flows freely and the cheese, crackers and fruit are delicious. If there is sangria - have some!

I would go back again and would be sure not to miss the happy hour!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

During recent Western travels we spent three nights at the Inn on the Alameda in Santa Fe.
We were traveling with another couple and chose the Inn due to its location and generally good
reputation. We had expected our room to be a bit more modern than it turned out to be, and
we concluded that there had not been a lot of investment in the facility in recent times. It just
looked a bit worn, but our room was clean. We wound up on a third level of one of the several
buildings, with no elevator, so we had plenty of exercise during our stay. The staff were most
helpful and the wine and cheese hour each afternoon a welcome reprieve after a day of much
walking in the city. The morning breakfast was typical, with a hot quiche plus other cold items.
The location was a plus, with time to the plaza about 10 minutes max; Canyon Road a short
walk and loop road access about 1 minute away. I used their fitness facility and it was small
but reasonably well equipped. We did get van support for travel to restaurants on two
evenings and it was most helpful. We learned that some rooms are much more modern than
ours was, particularly some suites. Our friends had to extend their stay and had very fine
support with relocating their belongings while we were in Taos, and a super suite which was
very large and modern. In retrospect we felt it unfair to dwell on our room letdown, given many
other pluses. However, if we were to return to Santa Fe we would try another spot.

Room Tip: Only saw three examples-ours, friend's original casita which was SMALL, and the suite they had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We spent a weekend in Santa Fe and wanted to be close enough to the Plaza and shops to walk. We found the Inn on the Alameda, which had beautiful grounds and gardens, clean and quiet rooms. Some have patios, some are suites. The beds were some of the most comfortable I have ever slept on! There is a daily full breakfast, which was lovely, with plenty of space to sit in a common area, or you can take your food out to some tables in the garden. They also host a (free) wine and cheese serving from 4-5 pm, which was a pleasant surprise. One thing to know is that not every room has a refrigerator, so you should ask for one. All of the staff were very pleasant and helpful. We were close enough to walk everywhere we went, but should you want a ride, the hotel will drive you to your destination! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have stayed many times at the Inn on the Alameda and always enjoy it. I was just there again and it was great as always. They are keeping the place up too and updating furniture in the dining room. The breakfast is a real treat and another wonderful experience is sitting outside in the courtyard for breakfast. It's bliss. I am going again soon and can recommend it highly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina G, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience, our staff takes great pride in providing an experience guests can't wait to come back to again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

A pleasant and comfortable spot very close to the center of town. Breakfast in the pretty courtyard was definitely a highlight of our stay. Do note that there is a fair amount of variation between the rooms (see below).

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room on the second floor. The rooms in the Traditional Wing are smaller, and od...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina G, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a nice review, our rooms while classic Santa Fe Style are unique, which is why, whenever possible our reservation staff confirms all reservations made on line to discuss in detail the rooms booked and any particular guest needs.

We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Santa Fe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were very pleased with our room at the inn. The included breakfasts and hospitality were also good. We were within walking distance of excellent restaurants and museums. The location of the room in the deluxe building gave us a quiet experience. The size of the bathroom and provided robes were good, too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on the Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Alameda

Address: 303 E. Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Santa Fe, New Mexico, between the historic Plaza and the art-filled galleries of Canyon Road, the Inn on the Alameda is the ideal downtown Santa Fe lodging location. With this cozy inn as your home base, you can explore our town’s unique attractions, unique museums, fine dining, distinctive boutiques and local festivities. An ample continental breakfast with organic. vegan and gluten-free selections is included with every stay, as is a relaxing afternoon wine hour daily. Wi-fi and parking are always free, and one pet under 30# is welcome with a nightly fee in pet-specific rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn on the Alameda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Alameda Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel On The Alameda
On The Alameda Hotel
Inn Alameda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on the Alameda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.