We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience, great hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on the Alameda

Save Saved
You added Inn on the Alameda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn on the Alameda
303 E. Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Turquoise, Water, Sky
Ranked #2 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience, great hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The first weekend in March two of my friends and I flew in to Santa Fe (well, actually, Albuquerque) for a fun-filled couple of days. We only get to see each other every few years, and chose the Inn on the Alameda for our get together.

We wanted some place central so we could walk everywhere, and we wanted something where the three of us could talk well into the night (we knew it would happen, like I said, we only see each other every few years) and not have to go out into the hallway and around etc. Ideally we would have liked something like a one bedroom suite with an extra pullout sofa in the living area.

I looked at several lovely places in the area, but ultimately settled on the Inn on the Alameda. I think a number of other places would have worked out too, but here is what settled it. Every single interaction I had with the Inn on the Alameda, both before we arrived and while we were there, they were just so helpful and (seemingly) interested in our having a great time. I can't say this enough. The staff at the Inn on the Alameda are what made it so special in my opinion.

When I called to talk to them about what I wanted, they spent time on the phone and advised what they thought would work best (and no, it wasn't the most expensive option). They gave me a few other tips as well. And, two weeks before we were due, they sent us a really nice Santa Fe Guidebook. When one of our group was going to arrive much earlier than the rest of us, I called and put her on the reservation and they were very nice and accommodating, never acted put out.

The rooms are very nice, the beds very comfortable, nice amenities. There is a wine and cheese happy hour from four to five every evening, and the Happy Hour Guy (as we dubbed him) was just a sweetheart, and it was a real social hour . People weren't sitting in their corners, they were chatting and sharing their days.

The breakfast is included, and is decent. There's quite a spread and you should be able to find something to satisfy you, from sweets to egg dishes to healthy stuff. The Breakfast Lady (we couldn't remember any names, we are terrible people) was also a total sweetheart.

We got adjoining rooms, one with two queens and one with a queen. The rate per room, per night, was $210.

It is right around the corner from Canyon Road, and very easy walking distance to The Plaza.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    597
    197
    39
    9
    6
See reviews for
125
436
31
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We have been to Santa Fe several times over the years and this was our first time at Inn on the Alameda. As other reviewers have noted, we were struck with the extremely friendly service, lovely atmosphere (guest rooms and common areas are well-appointed and comfortable), sumptuous breakfast, and good location. These, plus a reasonable price, were an unbeatable combination in this lovely city. My husband noted that the front-desk reception (even after we requested a room change) was the nicest and most gracious he had experienced in a very long time. We also enjoyed the exercise room and the jacuzzi and a running trail along the river, right across the street. This is now our Inn of choice in Santa Fe!

Room Tip: Upper floor room with balcony was worth the few extra dollars
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan W, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Dhuds,

So very glad to hear that your recent stay with us was so positive. There are no sweeter words than glowing compliment to our well deserving staff; after all – every hotel is merely a building – but what truly separates the good from the great are the people who work there. We are so very proud of our exceptional people and each of us look forward to your return.

Jonathan Wise
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We are regular visitors to the Inn. One of the primary attractions had been the aesthetically pleasing, inviting and comfortable breakfast area. My wife and I enjoyed leisurely tasty breakfasts while chatting and reading the morning newspapers. At our recent visit we were dismayed to see nearly all of the four top tables replaced by 26 elbow to elbow seats of which 14 are at one high table. The chairs around the table are similar to bar stools, the kind where your feet do not reach the floor. There is not enough space to put a newspaper on the table while eating and there are no private conversations for guests in those seats. The new arrangement may appeal to people traveling solo and looking for company while reading the news on an iPhone, but couples on vacation may be disappointed. The good news is that the staff still ranks among the friendliest and most helpful of any.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We booked through expedia. When we arrived, it was early so rooms weren't ready. The front desk promised they would call us as soon as room was ready. No call for hours. We came back. "oh, we were just going to call you"--yeah, right. Gave us the crappiest room on the property (#104, fyi). We asked to see other rooms and were told that our best choice was to just get two rooms for what we needed. WEll, great for them, right? Then they tried to nickel and dime us on the second room! We asked for late check out, but then cleaning crew was not informed and busted into our room WITHOUT knocking and insisting on cleaning--very unsettling.
On a good note, the breakfast and wine hour are fantastic. Everyone is nice. Construction was underway, but wasn't really a problem.
Bottom line, choose your room wisely. We ended up in 209 and 214 and liked both of those, but keep in mind, the rooms are truly just average (small, low water pressure, dark).

Room Tip: Go for at least the second floor. Rooms with fireplaces looked pretty nice, but weren't availab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan W, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Michelle K,
Firstly, allow me to express my sincere apologies that your stay with us apparently did not live up to your expectations, and for that we are truly sorry.

However, I hope you will allow me a moment to respond to a couple of comments that you have made.

While it was true that you and your family arrived before our confirmed check in time of 4pm, our records show that even with the change in rooms, we still managed to make good on our promise to check you in on time as the latest check in time was recorded as 3:55pm. We certainly do whatever we can to accommodate early arrivals, however during busy times; we are often unable to guarantee this.

While I am certainly sorry that you were not pleased with room #104, I would have to agree with you that for 2 adults and 2 teenagers, it would seem unsuitable. It is one of our smaller rooms and more suited to 2 guests rather than 4. In fact, we do not allow more than 3 adults per room and I can only assume that perhaps Expedia was unclear of our booking polices – otherwise, they might have recommended that you to reserve 2 rooms from the start.

I am very sorry that you felt “nickel and dimed” in having to take a second room – again, that was certainly not our intention and was as a direct result of having 4 adults. I am encouraged, however, that our staff offered to upgrade one of the rooms at no additional charge and offered the second room at a discounted rate for the inconvenience.

I can find no suitable explanation or excuse for our housekeeping staff entering your room unannounced even if a late departure was confirmed. This should never happen and I have reviewed this issue with housekeeping staff to avoid this any time in the future.

It is always our primary goal for you and your family to have a truly wonderful experience at the Inn on the Alameda – and clearly in this case, we did not live up to expectations. If you do not feel I have responded appropriately to your concerns or if there is anything further that I can do to address this past experience and encourage you to give us another opportunity, I do hope you will reach out to me directly.

Many kind thanks,

Jonathan Wise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

If your budget allows, enjoy the clean, nicely decorated rooms - but make the most of the public space with its friendly, attentive staff for more than just the complimentary quality breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese.
I would give 5 but for the relative cost, even though we were in the cheapest rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This has to be one of the friendliest hotels I have ever stayed in. Every person of this wonderful staff was a pleasure, which really sets the tone for a relaxing trip. The bed and linens were wonderful. The breakfast great. The happy hour serving wine and cheese is well attended and relaxing. The location is just off the plaza making walking easy. There is free parking and internet. A really lovely choice for a stay in santa fe.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Recently stayed for three days, and the Inn set the tone for a lovely time in quiet winter landscape of Santa Fe. Breakfasts ample and delicious. The public spaces are pleasant, in our wing there were comfortable sofas with a sunny spot to wait. In the central part of the hotel there was a kiva fire, nicely stocked bookshelf and open area that opened onto the breakfast room in the mornings. Our room had a small terrace, and the bed was comfortable, clean. All accents, furniture, even a Southwestern bowl in the room, were well chosen. Hotel staff were helpful and most welcoming. Easy walk to the central plaza; we walked everywhere. There was hot tub and spa, but we also made the trip to Ten Thousand Waves, highly recommended, outside the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on the Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Alameda

Address: 303 E. Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Santa Fe, New Mexico, between the historic Plaza and the art-filled galleries of Canyon Road, the Inn on the Alameda is the ideal downtown Santa Fe lodging location. With this cozy inn as your home base, you can explore our town’s unique attractions, unique museums, fine dining, distinctive boutiques and local festivities. An ample continental breakfast with organic. vegan and gluten-free selections is included with every stay, as is a relaxing afternoon wine hour daily. Wi-fi and parking are always free, and one pet under 30# is welcome with a nightly fee in pet-specific rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn on the Alameda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Alameda Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel On The Alameda
On The Alameda Hotel
Inn Alameda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on the Alameda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.