We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on the Alameda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Inn on the Alameda to your Saves list
Inn on the Alameda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   303 E. Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Turquoise, Water, Sky
Ranked #2 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Winter retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Recently stayed for three days, and the Inn set the tone for a lovely time in quiet winter landscape of Santa Fe. Breakfasts ample and delicious. The public spaces are pleasant, in our wing there were comfortable sofas with a sunny spot to wait. In the central part of the hotel there was a kiva fire, nicely stocked bookshelf and open area that opened onto the breakfast room in the mornings. Our room had a small terrace, and the bed was comfortable, clean. All accents, furniture, even a Southwestern bowl in the room, were well chosen. Hotel staff were helpful and most welcoming. Easy walk to the central plaza; we walked everywhere. There was hot tub and spa, but we also made the trip to Ten Thousand Waves, highly recommended, outside the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    225
    48
    9
    6
See reviews for
147
525
38
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had a two night stay booked to go skiing and the forecast the day before called for 50 mph winds the following day so even if the lifts were open it would have been miserable. I called the desk and requested that they allow me to rebook another weekend for 2 nights. They quoted me their keep the first night plus tax policy then I received an email from their manager saying how generous they had been. I get this if they are full. They were not. So what it means is I'm out the one night which they got but they are out the 2 nights that I would have booked had they been more reasonable. So beware if your plans change. We will be staying elsewhere next time.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a suite with one bedroom and a living room with a sleeper sofa. The suite had access to the bathroom from both rooms - convenient. Kiva fireplace was great.

Suite was clean, with plenty of room. Parking, wireless Internet, and breakfast were all included. 2 color TV's in the room.

Brief walk to breakfast room near reception. Only 1 block to Canyon Road art galleries. Great location, clean, good service, and fair pricing. Lots of charm about the place. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Our check in was very pleasant. The agent was very friendly, helpful and offered many recommendations for dinner. The bellman was knowledgeable and pointed out many useful areas of the hotel (hot tubs, ice machine,etc.) Our room on the second floor was super cozy. The bed comfortable, the pillow were the nice, flat ones (there may have been fluffy ones too). We had a balcony with 2 chairs to relax on. I felt like we were in someone's nice home, not a cookie cutter hotel room. In the evening, we sat in the lobby enjoying drinks from the bar. There were 2 fireplaces to sit by. It was such an inviting environment. In the morning, there was a nice buffet (we did not get try as we were rushing out). It looked delicious. Free internet access is included here. This places is charming and quite a gem!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Inn for 3 nights over the Christmas break. It is a lovely inn, located within walking distance from the downtown area. We walked to the Plaza daily. Parking is free. The daily wine and cheese is complimentary, albeit limited and adequate. Breakfast is sufficient and lacking in non-gluten goods as advertised in their website. When we there, there was only non-gluten cookies available. My partner is on a gluten restricted diet. Room is small but quite cozy. II did not give the inn the best rating is because of the lack in little details. For examples: the tables and chairs in the food service area. They are rickety and the legs of the tables are too narrow. I am not a big nor tall guy and yet I kept knocking my knees on the legs of the tables. Needs updating overall, showing signs of wear and tear, and outdated stuff. Small room and small bathroom. Not cleaned as often as should...how do I know...there was a dried leaf (not a small one, noticeable) on the stairs and it was there for all three days we were there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan W, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear asiantraveller101,

Many kind thanks for sharing your comments regarding your stay with us this past December.

Firstly, allow me to apologize that we did not have sufficient gluten-free items during your stay; as you rightly point out, we pride ourselves in offering a wide variety of gluten-free items every day on the breakfast buffet, including muffins and various other breakfast pastries. I can only assume that we planned poorly and managed to run out of certain items during your stay. This should never happen and for that we are truly sorry.

As for your observations regarding the need for updating in the Agoyo Lounge furniture – we could not agree with you more and we are proud to report that the entire lounge is currently getting a small make-over with new furnishings and a new, small but elegant bar menu – still staying true to our unique Santa Fe style, but far more refreshed and comfortable. So for your next visit, you will be very pleased to see a series of small but most welcomed improvements.

In spite of these oversights, we are very pleased to know that your stay was still most enjoyable and we certainly do look forward to your return to Santa Fe and the Inn on the Alameda.

Best,

Jonathan Wise
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place is absolutely wonderful. The service is outstanding, the decor is cozy and relaxing, and the little extras put it over the edge. They are being modest in calling their breakfast a "continental" breakfast. Don't expect stale rolls and fruit cups. They have hot choices (at least two different egg dishes), abundant cereals, pastries, fruits, etc. They have gluten-free and vegan options as well. Their wine reception is wonderful with many choices of wines and plenty to snack on. Our room was clean and was always serviced in a timely fashion. I can't thing of a single thing that they didn't do right. I would DEFINITELY come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband and I are on a cross-country road trip. We were really looking forward to a two night stop in Santa Fe. I knew that we wanted to stay near the main plaza. Also knew that Santa Fe has some lovely, very unique southwestern style lodgings, so definitely wanted one of those. After much research, we settled on the Inn on the Alameda and we were not disappointed. The price was fairly reasonable compared to the other hotels of this type and location AND it included free on site parking and free internet and a great complementary breakfast in their attractive lodge. It is easy walking to the main plaza with the great boutique shopping and the museums. Don't miss the Native American outdoor mart on the plaza - very cool. Our room at the inn was comfortable, nicely done and spotless. All staff couldn't have been nicer and more helpful. The front desk was welcoming and friendly. We highly recommend.

Room Tip: We told the front desk attendant when we arrived where we wanted our room and what kind of room we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on the Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Alameda

Address: 303 E. Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn on the Alameda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Santa Fe, New Mexico, between the historic Plaza and the art-filled galleries of Canyon Road, the Inn on the Alameda is the ideal downtown Santa Fe lodging location. With this cozy inn as your home base, you can explore our town’s unique attractions, unique museums, fine dining, distinctive boutiques and local festivities. An ample continental breakfast with organic. vegan and gluten-free selections is included with every stay, as is a relaxing afternoon wine hour daily. Wi-fi and parking are always free, and one pet under 30# is welcome with a nightly fee in pet-specific rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Inn on the Alameda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Alameda Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel On The Alameda
On The Alameda Hotel
Inn Alameda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on the Alameda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.