We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on the Alameda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Inn on the Alameda to your Saves list
Inn on the Alameda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   303 E. Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Turquoise, Water, Sky
Ranked #2 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed here twice this fall. It is our favorite hotel in Santa Fe. Clean, quiet, wonderful staff, great breakfast and happy hour. The owner and management really DO understand that nickel and diming the clientele will not engender repeat customers. Many upper echelon hotels in Santa Fe and elsewhere are now charging "resort fees" and "parking fees". I find it fairly insulting. I think the mattresses are hard but we sleep on a tempurepedic - very little compares to that. I love the modest front door entrance. It speaks to the whole experience. They are forever painting, cleaning and fixing - as a good place should. Thanks for a quintessential SF experience.

Room Tip: We prefer the building at the far end of the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    211
    44
    9
    6
See reviews for
132
483
34
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

A few years ago we won a three night stay at the inn during a benefit auction. We have returned three additional times since we were so impressed with the comfortable rooms, accommodating and friendly staff, excellent breakfast, quiet ambiance, and excellent location. We spent several hours reading in the rocking chairs next to the fireplace in the inn's comfortable living room. We spent a lot of time walking the streets of Santa Fe and enjoying the outstanding restaurants. We stayed there as a couple; however, there were several "girlfriend groups," and a few families with young children. We shall return. We highly recommend the Inn on the Alameda.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is a very difficult review to write, as the Inn has a lot offer. In fact, I gave it five stars two years ago. But my second stay was entirely different. I’d already spent three days in Albuquerque when I checked into the Inn on the Alameda in Santa Fe with my sister, and I was feeling great. But the morning after our first night there, I felt like I was coming down with the flu. And by the time we left at the end of our three-day stay, I was taking three prescription medications in order to breath.

While my sister and I were packing to come home, we debated how much to tip the housekeeping staff. She didn’t want to leave a lot because she said the room was so dusty she sneezed continually. The room was dark, even with all the lights on, so I hadn’t noticed until then just how dusty it was. It was only at that point we decided to stand on a chair and check the air vent. What did we discover? A vent filled with dust and black gunk the consistency of paste (see the photo).

While checking out, we reported the vent to the front desk. I followed up with an email and photo to the manager, but never received a response.

The day after I got home, I saw my allergist, who said I didn’t have the flu. Rather, I was having a severe asthmatic reaction to something. When I showed her the photo, she said the vent looked like it contained mold. All I know is that it took two weeks and a lot more medication before I felt back to normal.

This is an older hotel, which is part of its charm. But older hotels have to be especially vigilant about air quality. There are several issues in this room that exacerbated the problem. First, the vent is the only way to get fresh air into the room. Instead of a window, it has a door that opens onto dirt, and there’s no screen. Also, the bathroom exhaust fan didn’t remove any of the moisture after we showered (we reported that too).

I’m allergic to mold and dust mites, so my reaction was more severe than most people would experience. My sister has no allergies, and her sneezing stopped within a day after we checked out. But no one should be exposed to this kind of air quality. Hopefully, this review motivates the Inn to clean up its ventilation. (I have many more pictures of the vent and its location in the room, if the Inn questions this problem.)

Room Tip: Check the vent in your room when you check in. If it's filthy, like ours was, insist on another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan W, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Altaira4,

Kindly allow me a moment to respond to your most recent comments;

Firstly, kindly accept my sincere apologies for not responding sooner; as this event occurred in October and the General Manager with whom you were in contact has since moved on to new challenges, it took me a little more time to gather and review all the specific details and results of this most unfortunate experience.

I am happy to report, that while the ventilation duct in your room was in fact wholly and unacceptably dirty as you point out, it was professionally confirmed to contain no mold whatsoever. Interior mechanical equipment such as this does receive regularly scheduled maintenance and cleaning, however, we clearly failed to maintain an acceptable level of attention for some inexplicable reason – and for that, we are truly sorry.

Nonetheless, as a result of this issue, I can also confirm that we took the immediate step to remove each and every internal ventilation duct in the entire building and thoroughly clean and repaint to far more acceptable standard.

While I understand you were already in direct contact with the previous General Manager, if you feel that this issue had not been resolved to your complete satisfaction, I do hope that you will reach out to me directly. I would certainly welcome the opportunity to show you first hand the remarked and significant difference should your travels once again bring you to Santa Fe.

Jonathan Wise
General Manager
The Inn on the Alameda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I'll start off by saying that you can't beat the location of this small and intimate hotel. Very easy walking distance to the plaza and restaurants. When we arrived, it was only 10 o'clock in the morning. To our amazement, they allowed us to check in to our room. At 4 o'clock, they had complimentary wine and cheese, which was very good. Not knowing any of the nearby restaurants, we asked the person at the checkin desk if he had any recommendations. We said we had had enough of the new mexican fare and would like Italian for dinner. He pulled out the menus of two local italian restaurants and suggested one in particular. We said that sounded perfect and was prepared to leave. However, he immediately picked up the phone and called the local manager of the Italian restaurant saying he was sending two of his guests there immediately and to have a table ready. Wow! We did not expect that kind of service! By the time we walked the few blocks to the restaurant, our table was already ready. The meal itself was great. After a few more stops on the way back to the hotel, we were finally ready to call it a night. That's where the one problem occurred, and why I just can't give the extra star to this hotel. When evaluating a hotel, I must take into account how good the beds and bedding are. In this care, the bedding on our bed was horrible. This sounds strange, but the sheets "crackled" like newspaper and irritated our skin. They were either brand new and never washed or they were some of the cheapest sheets I've ever seen. We perhaps got 1 hour of sleep that night. We should have called the front desk immediately, but it was just too late and we honestly thought we would still be able to sleep. Our mistake for not calling them. However, their mistake for not taking the time to make sure the sheets were comfortable. The next morning, the front desk clerk even suggested that they were probably new sheets. Ummm, you should wash sheets before placing them on a bed. I really wanted to give them 5 stars, but for this reason, I simply cannot. I would still recommend this hotel to others though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orefield
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We read all of the great reviews of the Inn. We expected that we would enjoy the Inn. However, our expectations were exceeded. The Inn is beautiful, the staff is welcoming, and the value is exceptional. The breakfast is superb. The Happy Hour is a nice touch with excellent Sangrias. The parking is free. The location is extremely convenient close to the Plaza and right across the street of Canyon Rd. We only had booked two (2) nights at the Inn but extended it given our experience. The staff handled our request with grace. The town of Santa Fe is all that is written about it. We highly recommend this Inn.

We used the fitness center and we found that it had everything we needed including a set of free weights. We did not use the Spa. All in all, an excellent stay at an excellent Inn.

Room Tip: We had a standard room with two (2) queen beds. It was sufficient for our purposes. A bit tight fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Inn on the Alameda is a comfortable, cozy, well located place to stay. Concierge was very helpful with directions, recommendations and advice. Very nice breakfast, much more than a simple "continental" breakfast. Easy walking distance to both the Plaza and Canyon Road areas. Only negative with our room was the lighting which was too dark. Cozy fireplace in lobby was nice to hang out by, we never made it to the daily wine and cheese reception but I'm sure it's very nice. No extra charges for parking or internet. Very comfortable place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Good hotel, with dark rooms and that is a pity!
Nice staff and very, very helpful. Breakfast with large en extensive choices.
Minibar available, but not stocked. The Inn is on five minutes walk from the centre, La Plaza. We had pleasant stay!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on the Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Alameda

Address: 303 E. Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn on the Alameda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Santa Fe, New Mexico, between the historic Plaza and the art-filled galleries of Canyon Road, the Inn on the Alameda is the ideal downtown Santa Fe lodging location. With this cozy inn as your home base, you can explore our town’s unique attractions, unique museums, fine dining, distinctive boutiques and local festivities. An ample continental breakfast with organic. vegan and gluten-free selections is included with every stay, as is a relaxing afternoon wine hour daily. Wi-fi and parking are always free, and one pet under 30# is welcome with a nightly fee in pet-specific rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn on the Alameda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Alameda Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel On The Alameda
On The Alameda Hotel
Inn Alameda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on the Alameda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.