We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on the Alameda

Save Saved
You added Inn on the Alameda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn on the Alameda
303 E. Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Turquoise, Water, Sky
Ranked #2 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I'll start off by saying that you can't beat the location of this small and intimate hotel. Very easy walking distance to the plaza and restaurants. When we arrived, it was only 10 o'clock in the morning. To our amazement, they allowed us to check in to our room. At 4 o'clock, they had complimentary wine and cheese, which was very good. Not knowing any of the nearby restaurants, we asked the person at the checkin desk if he had any recommendations. We said we had had enough of the new mexican fare and would like Italian for dinner. He pulled out the menus of two local italian restaurants and suggested one in particular. We said that sounded perfect and was prepared to leave. However, he immediately picked up the phone and called the local manager of the Italian restaurant saying he was sending two of his guests there immediately and to have a table ready. Wow! We did not expect that kind of service! By the time we walked the few blocks to the restaurant, our table was already ready. The meal itself was great. After a few more stops on the way back to the hotel, we were finally ready to call it a night. That's where the one problem occurred, and why I just can't give the extra star to this hotel. When evaluating a hotel, I must take into account how good the beds and bedding are. In this care, the bedding on our bed was horrible. This sounds strange, but the sheets "crackled" like newspaper and irritated our skin. They were either brand new and never washed or they were some of the cheapest sheets I've ever seen. We perhaps got 1 hour of sleep that night. We should have called the front desk immediately, but it was just too late and we honestly thought we would still be able to sleep. Our mistake for not calling them. However, their mistake for not taking the time to make sure the sheets were comfortable. The next morning, the front desk clerk even suggested that they were probably new sheets. Ummm, you should wash sheets before placing them on a bed. I really wanted to give them 5 stars, but for this reason, I simply cannot. I would still recommend this hotel to others though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    583
    192
    38
    8
    6
See reviews for
120
427
31
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orefield
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We read all of the great reviews of the Inn. We expected that we would enjoy the Inn. However, our expectations were exceeded. The Inn is beautiful, the staff is welcoming, and the value is exceptional. The breakfast is superb. The Happy Hour is a nice touch with excellent Sangrias. The parking is free. The location is extremely convenient close to the Plaza and right across the street of Canyon Rd. We only had booked two (2) nights at the Inn but extended it given our experience. The staff handled our request with grace. The town of Santa Fe is all that is written about it. We highly recommend this Inn.

We used the fitness center and we found that it had everything we needed including a set of free weights. We did not use the Spa. All in all, an excellent stay at an excellent Inn.

Room Tip: We had a standard room with two (2) queen beds. It was sufficient for our purposes. A bit tight fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Inn on the Alameda is a comfortable, cozy, well located place to stay. Concierge was very helpful with directions, recommendations and advice. Very nice breakfast, much more than a simple "continental" breakfast. Easy walking distance to both the Plaza and Canyon Road areas. Only negative with our room was the lighting which was too dark. Cozy fireplace in lobby was nice to hang out by, we never made it to the daily wine and cheese reception but I'm sure it's very nice. No extra charges for parking or internet. Very comfortable place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Good hotel, with dark rooms and that is a pity!
Nice staff and very, very helpful. Breakfast with large en extensive choices.
Minibar available, but not stocked. The Inn is on five minutes walk from the centre, La Plaza. We had pleasant stay!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Higland Park, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Inn on the Alameda is not a fancy hotel or a fast paced place to be seen.....but it is warm, inviting and close to downtown and Canyon Road....so you can walk anywhere.
The rooms are very nice, not elegant, but extremely well kept.....and wi-fi, breakfast, and happy hour are all included. It is a great place to really relax after a long hike or just touring the downtown area. The people who work there to a one extremely courteous and helpful. It reminded me of being in a big comfortable family room. We stayed there twice and wouldnt stay anywhere else.....PS-Great Sangrias!

Room Tip: They do have rooms with balconies that over look one parking lot........The view is not great so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We can not rave about this Inn enough!!! It is very conveniently located to the famous Canyon Road and the Plaza. Easy walking to restaurants and most of the places to see in Santa Fe. The staff were very friendly, warm, attentive, and knowledgeable about things to do, places to eat, and how to get there. Each evening there was a lovely wine reception with bread, cheese, fruit, and other snacks. Every morning they served a plentiful, delicious, and hearty breakfast with great coffee. Lovely Southwestern decor throughout the Inn. The room was quiet and cozy with a private patio. One night, we made use of the jacuzzi that was walled in on all sides but open to the ski - a perfect place to relax after a day of walking and a delicious meal at the very nearby Mucho Gusto restaurant. We strongly agree with others who wrote reviews about this place. In short, it is an excellent value and was one of the highlights of our 3 day stay in Santa Fe!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deb_Swanson, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for the accolades regarding your recent visit! Our staff appreciates the special mention and we agree, Mucho Gusto is a wonderful little restaurant next door. The two outdoor hot tubs are available 24 hours a day, so either enjoy the blue sky or the star filled night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

I met a friend here for a long weekend, exploring Santa Fe. We were both very impressed with the Inn and the ambiance. The decor fits right into Santa Fe and the breakfast was very impressive. They actually have dairy and gluten free options! This was a very pleasant surprise as I was able to eat without the stress of not knowing if I could eat what was offered! The staff went out of their way to be helpful with a true "customer-service" attitude. I would absolutely stay here again!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deb_Swanson, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
We are so happy that you were able to find options on the continental buffet that fit your dietary needs. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn on the Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Alameda

Address: 303 E. Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Santa Fe, New Mexico, between the historic Plaza and the art-filled galleries of Canyon Road, the Inn on the Alameda is the ideal downtown Santa Fe lodging location. With this cozy inn as your home base, you can explore our town’s unique attractions, unique museums, fine dining, distinctive boutiques and local festivities. An ample continental breakfast with organic. vegan and gluten-free selections is included with every stay, as is a relaxing afternoon wine hour daily. Wi-fi and parking are always free, and one pet under 30# is welcome with a nightly fee in pet-specific rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Inn on the Alameda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Alameda Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel On The Alameda
On The Alameda Hotel
Inn Alameda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on the Alameda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.