We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ten years and counting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on the Alameda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Inn on the Alameda to your Saves list
Inn on the Alameda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   303 E. Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Turquoise, Water, Sky
Ranked #2 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
“Ten years and counting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This year marked the tenth year I have stayed at the Inn. It was originally recommended in 2003 by a friend who was a Santa Fe resident. I love everything about the Inn. The grounds are even more beautiful this year with a profusion of new container plantings. The staff is always so gracious, and the breakfasts and afternoon receptions beckon irresistibly. A walk to the Plaza takes no more than five minutes. We especially like the casita 134 which has everything you could want accommodation-wise: front and back patio, safe, refrigerator, even a kiva fireplace. All the other rooms are just as charming with wood on the ceilings and latillas on the closet doors for that New Mexico touch. We have already made our reservations for 2013.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deb_Swanson, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Ms. K, It was so nice to see you and Ms. G again this year and we look forward to seeing you next year as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    222
    48
    9
    6
See reviews for
139
514
37
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I have visited Santa Fe many times and this is definitely my new favorite hotel. The property is just steps away from the Plaza yet very quiet and relaxing. The staff was welcoming and informative (Armando). The morning breakfast was delicious with many options including some regional selections (red and green chile). The room was very clean and the bed was very comfy. I loved our little balcony. I personally dislike being cooped up in a hotel room with no option of fresh air. The hotel room, the lobby and the grounds are warm and cozy with a residential feel. I will absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed one night here and it was wonderful. The room was beautiful and very clean with a small patio outside. The air conditioning was so quiet you hardly knew that it was on. Extremely comfortable king bed. We enjoyed our stay here very much. Breakfast included your choice of three different quiche, baked goods, cereal and fruit. There was also a wine and cheese reception in the late afternoon. The staff is accomodating and friendly. We loved the short walking distance to the main plaza or to Canyon Road. We look forward to returning the next time we are in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deb_Swanson, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for mentioning our wonderful housekeeping department. They do take great pride in their work and we will pass your accolades along to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and i have stayed at Inn on the Alameda many times but this was our first visit in 3 years, The Inn has a great close-in location, walk everywhere and yet it is peaceful. Staff is very friendly and the rooms are very nice. We stayed in 143 which is among a row of one story casitas and has a separate living area (and fireplace for winter stays). We love having our morning coffee or afternoon wine on the covered patio in front of our unit. The only suggestion I have is to streamline the clunky checkout process.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deb_Swanson, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
We are pleased that you chose the Inn on your return trip to Santa Fe and that you enjoyed suite 143. We would like to let future guests know that there is also a private patio off the back bedroom that they might enjoy,as well. In the future, rather then coming to the desk, we would be happy to email you a copy of your folio upon check out. This may expedite the process for you. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Everything about the Inn on Alameda feels magical. The moment we entered the Hotel, the warm colours and friendly staff made us feel like at home. Our room was decorated with attention to details, keeping the New Mexico vibe alive in a very classy way.

The breakfast was incredible good, all genuinly made in house using local products and in genrous quantities. Defintely Value for money. dont miss it!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deb_Swanson, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you so much for mentioning our wonderful continental buffet which is catered in by the following local bakeries, Chocolate Maven, Sage Bakehouse and Treehouse Cafe and Bakery. All wonderful spots to try for lunch as well. Treehouse cafe is a also all organic (gluten-free and vegan options) and farm to table. We are quite lucky to have such wonderful resources. We hope you had a safe trip home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We have been staying at the Inn for many years. The location is great, within walking distance from Canyon Road, the Plaza and it's surroundings. It has a smaller, more intimate feel than the larger hotels in the area and the staff is caring and helpful and the service is excellent. One night we had leftovers from a nice dinner and we asked if we could have a small refrigerator for our room and within a few minutes, one had been delivered. The breakfast and happy hour wine and cheese are very nice and not offered at other hotels where you pay the same room rate. One year we forgot to make our reservations and had to stay at a hotel a bit farther away from the Plaza. We missed the personal attention and the location.

Room Tip: Our favorite rooms have balconies. If you want a special experience, stay in one of the casitas; th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deb_Swanson, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review and for choosing the Inn again for your recent visit. We do appreciate you mentioning the added amenities we offer for those staying with us. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venice beach, ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I checked into this hotel yesterday (am here now) and since I'm here for a wedding and this is one of the wedding party's recommended hotels, I did not check trip advisor first and was curious what other people had to say. I am paying $260/ night for a 'deluxe king room' - and there is not one thing deluxe about it. It's nothing more than a glorified Double Tree with a slight southwestern theme. If I was paying $150 a night, I wouldn't complain, but by the price, I thought I would be spoiling myself a little. the walls are thin, the people above me woke me at 5:00 am with their showers and stomping around. the carpet is old and worn, the bathroom is out of date and the light/fan sounds like a jet plane. the 'terrace' is a small area next to the parking lot with 2 chairs - not a terrace at all, just an outdoor space. I found the staff very nice though. And for the other reviews that give this place high ratings based on location...well, look at a map, Santa Fe is tiny - almost all hotels have good locations here. For the same price you can get a nicer room at La Posada, which also has a restaurant, pool/spa and more amentities.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deb_Swanson, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
We regret that the deluxe room was not to your expectation and hope that by accommodating your move to the traditional room at a lesser rate your second evening was more to your liking. We will certainly address the fan noise, as we are now aware of it. We hope guests will let us know when they are staying with us any issues that arise, so that we may try to rectify the situation to make their stay as enjoyable as possible. Our rate does include a continental buffet, wine hour and we do not charge for parking and wireless which the other downtown hotels do charge from $!0 - $30 per night. We thank you for the accolades regarding our staff and hope that should you come to Santa Fe again you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on the Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Alameda

Address: 303 E. Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn on the Alameda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Santa Fe, New Mexico, between the historic Plaza and the art-filled galleries of Canyon Road, the Inn on the Alameda is the ideal downtown Santa Fe lodging location. With this cozy inn as your home base, you can explore our town’s unique attractions, unique museums, fine dining, distinctive boutiques and local festivities. An ample continental breakfast with organic. vegan and gluten-free selections is included with every stay, as is a relaxing afternoon wine hour daily. Wi-fi and parking are always free, and one pet under 30# is welcome with a nightly fee in pet-specific rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Inn on the Alameda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Alameda Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel On The Alameda
On The Alameda Hotel
Inn Alameda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on the Alameda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.