We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, delicious breakfast, sparse exercise room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on the Alameda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Inn on the Alameda to your Saves list
Inn on the Alameda
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   303 E. Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Girls Getaway to Santa Fe
Ranked #3 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, delicious breakfast, sparse exercise room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

The hotel is lovely and the staff is always warm and welcoming. They serve a delicious complimentary breakfast every morning (although they added a tacky "tip" jar this year.)

The exercise room is tiny and dingy so don't plan to get your exercise there! The hotel is walking distance from Canyon Road, the Plaza and many wonderful shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    771
    243
    51
    9
    6
See reviews for
162
558
41
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Avon Lake, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

The Inn on Alameda is a comfortable inn within walking distance to everything. We were warmly welcomed by the staff at the front desk and offered a cold beverage. We were very early to check in because of an early flight so the staff offered to call us as soon as the room was ready and they did. We were upgraded to a king suite which was lovely. The room was very clean and had wonderful bed linens, pillows and bathrobes. The one thing that I have always wished for in a hotel room that you never find is a makeup mirror. For middle aged eyesight this is a bonus! The wine and cheese reception in the afternoon was excellent. We enjoyed wine,various cheeses, fruit, veggies and dip. The breakfast in the morning was delicious. It included a choice of 2 fritattas, pastries, yogurt, etc and even had vegan offerings. All this is included in the price of the room. The only thing negative I could say was that our balcony looked at the parking lot, but Santa Fe beckons you away from your room, so it made no difference. If ever in Santa Fe, choose this little gem.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st louis
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We just spent two nights here Aug--10--11. we loved the location and very nice staff. We walked to everything. We had a king room with balcony on the second floor. Our balcony was on the corner facing the street and parking lot but was large and noise was not a problem. The room was small but cozy. This room did not have a desk, so if you needed one this could be a problem. The breakfast was good. We enjoyed the happy hour each day talking to other guest. I really loved the homemade sangria. We were in room 215. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Had a wonderful stay for three nights here. Tried to extend, but they were fully booked!

This is the perfect location if you have tickets to the Santa Fe Opera. Reserve a seat on the shuttle that leaves at 7:40 pm for door-to-door service and preferential treatment. It costs $20 a person, but it's worth every penny. Plus, it is fun to share impressions with other hotel guests, many of whom return here each year to take in the full season's shows.

The accommodations are lovely -- traditional Southwest design, comfortable and clean. Finally a good night's sleep! The bed was perfect, nice luxury bedding with two top sheets sandwiched between a cotton waffle blanket and a heavier wool coverlet. So comfortable for sleeping. The bath offered English toiletries. Free in-room Wifi was fast and reliable. Nice work desk and balcony with a very pretty view.

We booked a traditional room in a three-floor building. Very affordable. Free parking. Short walk to the Plaza (3 blocks?) and one block from the art galleries on Canyon Road. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and well-maintained, lots of little courtyards with outdoor seating and walkways. Will probably upgrade to a ground floor suite in one of the courtyards this fall. They look very charming. No elevator in our building.

Wonderful full breakfast and delightful happy hour from 4-5 pm each evening. Friendly guests, very courteous staff.

My favorite thing about this hotel is its location: Just far enough away from the hub bub of the plaza to make it almost serene. There is a short cut to our favorite restaurant, Mucho Gusto, where (I hate to admit) we ate three times during our stay. Fresh, wholesome food is a real luxury when you are on the road! Grilled vegetables and super fresh salads. Yum. There is also a wonderful gift shop, The Giving Tree, a nail salon, a funky video store, and a fabulous consignment shop, Act 2, close by.

As I sit here typing this, the church bells are ringing, there is a lovely breeze and a brilliant blue sky. Loved sitting in the courtyard to read the newspaper and have coffee each morning. Looked forward to the Happy Hour and the choice of wines and sangria each evening in a sociable setting. Loved watching the sunset from our balcony at night.

Delightful and romantic experience. Will definitely return!

Room Tip: No elevator in our building. Ask about one floor accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We've been to Santa Fe many times and wanted to experience the Inn on the Alameda since there were some good reviews. We stayed in a casita with an outdoor seating area - hoping to enjoy some Santa Fe quiet. Although we were told upfront this was on a main road, we didn't know it was at the intersection of TWO main roads. When I went to speak with the front desk person, he called the Manager who could only tell me they were booked up and there was nothing he could do. Needless to say, because of the traffic noise, we never used the patio and would've saved a lot of money if we stayed in a quiet room somewhere in the back of the hotel. The layout of this room was illogical: the bed directly in front of the door with blinds that let in all the light. We had to unscrew the outdoor lightbulb so the light wouldn't keep us up all night. The Television was in a cabinet that could barely be seen from the bed. We had to either sit in the seating area by the kiva or stand directly in front of the television to watch it. There was a broken sink handle, that had to be fixed twice in order for us to get hot water. We had to move the spotlights over the shower so they wouldn't blind us. These may sound like small things, but when you're paying a lot of money for a room, these are the type of details that should be taken care of. The staff was moderately helpful, though some not as cheerful and nice as most of the other hotels we visited during our trip. We didn't use the exercise room due to the fact that it was so small and dark, we couldn't stay in there for more than 30 seconds. On a positive note: the breakfast selection was good and the room appeared clean. Honestly, for another $100 a night, we've stayed at hotels in Santa Fe that were leaps and bounds beyond this hotel. Next time, we will spend the extra money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

The service overall was very good, the only problem we experienced was the free breakfast which was 20minutes late one morning when we were in a rush to leave. They offer so many local guides and magazines in the lobby and the on site massage was wonderful.
The room was clean and spacious, we were given a surprise free upgrade which made our day.
The location was perfect for us, if you love art Canyon Road is right across the street which has over 100 galleries. Then if you walk maybe 10 minutes in another directions you reach the main shopping district. The hotel has wi-fi, free parking, an in room safe, hot tub, laundry room and dry cleaning. The only issue I had with the room was the water pressure in the shower, one day I took an afternoon shower and the strength of the stream kept going in and out. It was annoying but I did not have this problem during my morning showers the rest of the days there.
What I liked best was the hotel itself, so beautifully designed and tranquil.
What I liked least was the repetitive breakfast menu. I really had to think hard on this since everything is really well done and there is a good selection. We stayed four days and I was all Quiche'd out.

Room Tip: Though the hotel is on a main road it didn't seem very noisy, a room in the back might be a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Passing through Santa Fe and stumbled upon Inn on the Alameda where we spent the night. A perfect place to decamp. Clean and comfortable. Well located in Santa Fe to stroll around square and walk to one of many delightful restaurants. Would return. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn on the Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Alameda

Address: 303 E. Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn on the Alameda 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Santa Fe, New Mexico, between the historic Plaza and the art-filled galleries of Canyon Road, the Inn on the Alameda is the ideal downtown Santa Fe lodging location. With this cozy inn as your home base, you can explore our town’s unique attractions, unique museums, fine dining, distinctive boutiques and local festivities. An ample continental breakfast with organic. vegan and gluten-free selections is included with every stay, as is a relaxing afternoon wine hour daily. Wi-fi and parking are always free, and one pet under 30# is welcome with a nightly fee in pet-specific rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and Odigeo so you can book your Inn on the Alameda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Alameda Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel On The Alameda
On The Alameda Hotel
Inn Alameda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on the Alameda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.