We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa to your Saves list
Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1501 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Special Offer
Fuel Your Fall Package
Ranked #15 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This was our first visit to Santa Fe, and chose the Hotel Santa Fe based on other reviews. We were not disappointed. The hotel was in a convenient location, was beautifully decorated, and the staff was excellent. One of the best features was the free shuttle that ran to popular areas such as the Plaza. It was very convenient, we rarely waited more than 10 minutes, and the drivers were professional and friendly. We would return again, and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you so very much for your wonderful recommendation and also for staying with us.

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    225
    93
    35
    18
See reviews for
176
376
51
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Favorite part of staying at the Hotel Santa Fe - Kachina dolls left on our comfy bed every night. We came home with 3 kachina dolls. We got a special rate of $179 a night for a room with a very comfy king bed and a separate area with a pull-out couch and bar area. The hotel was clean and nicely decorated with the Picurus Pueblo Indian influence. We also received 3 $25 vouchers for meals at the hotel's Amaya Restaurant. The Elk dish was fabulous as was the Jalapeño Margarita. The hotel is about a 2 block walk from town, not bad, there is a shuttle but I have to say that there was a bit of a wait for the ride. We just walked. The hotel is not too far from the Farmers Market area.. Do not miss that on saturdays as it is one of the best Farmer's Markets in the country . Hotel also has a nice pool, fitness center and spa for tired shoppers and sightseers at the end of the day. Check to make sure the hot tub at the Fitness center is up and running as it was down when we were there - I am sure that is temporary. Also, enjoyed immensely, the wonderful Antonio Mendoza playing in the bar - bought 3 of his CDs and 1 CD from the Native American flute player. Side note: the kiddos might enjoy having their dinner served to them in the teepee outside the restaurant. All and all a very nice and unique hotel, at a fair price when discounted and with the restaurant vouchers!

Room Tip: The only service issue was the wait for the shuttle... but not a bad walk to town. Value is good at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for writing to tripadvisor.com which is so greatly appreciated.

Your kind words are very encouraging and I am so delighted to know that we took good care of you!

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I stayed here one night thanks to Hotwire - it was a quick business trip. I wish I were there for longer, and ideally with my husband. The room was lovely. Not very large, but had a fireplace, nice bathroom, and very comfortable bed. The artwork in the Hacienda was nice. I went to the wine hour in the evening, and the hosts had good suggestions for places to eat. It is about a 15 minute walk to the Plaza - and since it's a bit away from the Plaza it is very quiet.

I had breakfast as well - it was fairly basic but everything was good.

Parking is free, and the grounds are nice.

Service was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
We do hope you will bring your husband to stay with us soon - and for longer than one night!

chenoho mima téwe yo tha - We thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I am writing this from the hotel. We have been here 4 nights. It is a beautiful property. We requested a quiet room a nd were placed on the 3rd floor back. Room faces parking lot which I believe is quieter than the rooms overlooking the pool. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We are in the hotel section, not the hacienda, and found the room to be very nice. Large flat screen tv. Maybe we are not as picky as some travelers, but we found the room to be a perfectly fine size for 2 adults and a tween. In terms of distance, it is .7 miles to the plaza. We have walked back and forth multiple times on most days. We caught the shuttle in to town a couple of times. For reasoably fit people wearing walking shoes, it is a easy 10 to 15 minute walk. If you would not walk 10-15 minutes to get somewhere at home, this will probably be too far for you to walk, so plan on driving and parking, or taking the shuttle. Pro tip, there is a Whole Foods less than .5 mile in the opposite direction from town, it is huge and well stocked. We did some takeout breakfasts and dinners here when we didn't feel like eating out.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and your kind comments remind me to “get back on track” with my own exercise program!

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The hotel is co-owned by a pueblo tribe which is a great reason to stay here and support Native American rights in NM, rather than staying with 1 of the huge chains. The décor and atmosphere were outstanding. The lobby area and all common areas have glorious artwork, ambience, color scheme, taste. The room was on the small side and some items missing though they brought them immediately. Some parts of the suite (bathroom, kitchenette) were faded and the balcony was over a trash area so not great for sitting. Pool small, spa also small. However, overall I would go back here. It is a short walk from the old town, has a shuttle, great service, and wonderful live music - Indian flute player who is there regularly on weekends.

Room Tip: Am not sure the suites are worth the money, they are small
See more room tips
Green Features: The good news is this is Native American owned and not part of a conglomerate; income helps to support a small and impoverished pueblo tribe.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Many thanks for staying with us and please note that the people of Picuris Pueblo greatly
appreciate your kind words and custom. Please come back soon!

kowaen mina so thuu puchi - Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The service is fabulous here and I have no complaints. We stayed in Mid-May 5 nights, and had a suite with balcony. Rm was quiet. The staff even took my mother to hospital in the shuttle one day when she became ill. The restaurant and staff were all good. The pool area is nice. You can walk over to the railroad station area to a couple restaurants etc. But this hotel is not within walking distance of the downtown plaza if you are looking for that. We did wait for the shuttle one day and it never arrived so we drove ourselves around town.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
I am so sorry to learn of your disappointment with our shuttle service and my apologies for the inconvenience you were cause - we can and will do better!

Many thanks for staying with us and we all hope your mother is well and doing fine!

chenoho mima téwe yo tha - We thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, TX
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Thursday, June 05, 2014

Mr. Paul Margetson
General Manager
Hotel Santa Fe & Hacienda
1501 Paseo de Peralta
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87501


Your hotel is one of the main reasons we travel to Santa Fe. Sure, Santa Fe is a mecca for southwestern jewelry and bargains on all sorts of stuff. We love the history and the many interesting sights and structures. We keep coming back to Hotel Santa Fe & Hacienda because of the warmth and service of the people.

We particularly enjoy the comfort and quiet of the Hacienda. The rooms are spacious and very well maintained. We feel welcomed by the staff and the beautiful surroundings. Please convey our special thanks to Lupo, Robert, Javier, Richard, Sarah, Shawna and Maritza for making our stay so comfortable. Please tell Herman we especially enjoyed his warm greeting and friendly manner.

It was our pleasure to be among the very first guests on opening night for the indoor/outdoor area of Amaya restaurant. The area provides a scenic addition to your dining facilities. The food is always delicious at the Amaya. This trip, we enjoyed the salmon. What a feast.

Of course, the hospitality room in the Hacienda is always a restful place after a long day of driving or a hard day of shopping or sightseeing. The wine and snacks are a big plus. Service is terrific…attentive and friendly. We can always count on excellent recommendations from the “butlers” for sightseeing or dining if we want to venture out for the evening.

As always, we look forward to our next visit to the Hotel Santa Fe & Hacienda.

Sincerely,

Sue & Joe Fleming

Room Tip: The Hacienda is our favorite. It's a bit more upscale than the hotel, but both are great.
See more room tips
Green Features: Owned by Native Americans, the facility is extremely environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Fleming,

It was great to see you again and I am sorry I did not have more time to spend with you - maybe next time!

Your wonderful words of kindness are so very encouraging and we all love having you stay with us. Thank you, thank you, thank you - you have made our day!!

We so look forward to seeing you again which we hope will be soon? In the meantime, we all wish you great happiness and good health.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa

Address: 1501 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Santa Fe and the Hacienda and Spa, the only Native American Owned hotel in Santa Fe, is located just blocks from the Santa Fe Plaza in historic downtown Santa Fe and in the heart of the Guadalupe Railyard District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Fe & Hacienda Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe And Hacienda And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.