We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1501 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Start Your Summer Here!!!
Ranked #15 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Colorado Springs, CO
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The hotel was beautiful, peaceful and very clean. The staff were very professional. The bed was comfortable. We were only in town for a quick overnight so we weren't able to use spa services. The parking was free at the hotel. They offer a free shuttle service to the plaza or it's about a 10 minute walk from the hotel (which is what we did). We would stay here again. We did eat breakfast in the restaurant. I highly recommend the blue corn blueberry pancakes!

Room Tip: We used priceline and got a great rate. They do charge a 19.00 per day resort fee, so be aware. I di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
I do hope you will stay here again and longer next time! Our blue corn blueberry pancakes await you!!

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    504
    207
    89
    33
    18
See reviews for
163
352
51
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We've lived in New Mexico for four decades, and this is by far my favorite hotel in Santa Fe. It's the only Indian-owned hotel in town (by Picuris pueblo), very well run and managed, great food, comfortable meeting facilities, charming Southwest decor, lounge with ative music. Consistently a good experience. Well-located, a short walk from the old town square, easy to find and park.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
So very many thanks for your kind and gracious comments. We are delighted to learn that you continue to enjoy your time with us! Thank you!

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Everything about this hotel was top-notch. The rate was reasonable, the staff was friendly and helpful and the room was clean and very comfortable. We ate two evening meals in the restaurant which is excellent and reasonably priced. We enjoyed professional local Native American music twice, enjoying it by the fireplace located in the lounge area. One of the best features was a free shuttle which took us anywhere and picked us up when we were ready to return to the hotel. Also it is the only Native American owned hotel in Santa Fe.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
I am so delighted to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay and especially appreciated Ronald, our musician, and our London Taxi service.

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

The Hotel Santa Fe is pleasant enough,with its Pueblo-style architecture that fits smoothly into the area, with spacious lobby, decent restaurant, friendly front desk, and fairly sizable rooms (with requisite drastically overpriced minibar and snacks). But in these times, Internet connection is everything and here it was woefully slow if there at all. They have one network for free Wifi and when you call to complain, they give you another, which they say is lesser known and thereby faster. Well, they must have told everyone at once because that one was as slow as the first, and for my two-day stay there, I wasted far too much time waiting for pages to load. And forget about streaming video. One time I called and they said they'd have to put in a work order. Why? I wasn't the only one complaining, several others in my party said the same thing, so you'd think with this collective dissatisfaction they'd do something preemptively rather than address individual complaints.

So overall, it's a decent hotel, nothing fancy but clean and comfortable. The Internet is where it falls down big time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, always nice to step out into mountain air, and if you need Internet c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
I am certainly disturbed to learn of your disappointment/frustration with our wifi set up, as we have assiduously worked on providing the best possible set up over the past two years. Please accept my sincere apologies, but thank you for bringing this to my attention. Not good and will be addressed immediately!!

chenoho mima téwe yo tha - We thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I stayed three nights in a junior suite in the hotel and was pleasantly surprised at the size of my room; there was a separate sitting area with a flat-screen TV with a minibar and microwave, a sleeping area with another flat-screen TV on the chest of drawers, a large-sized bathroom with a tub I could actually use for a bath!
The staff, whether in the hotel, the restaurant, or the spa were attentive, cordial, helpful, and made me feel like I mattered. An added plus was the personal shuttle the hotel provides free of charge to its guests to drive them to and pick them up from local destinations. What a great amenity!
The food and drinks in the restaurant were top-notch! Delicious, reasonably-priced, with a good variety and portion sizes. May I recommend the chips, salsa, and guacamole with a prickly pear margarita off the bar menu while relaxing near the blazing kiva fireplace? Fantastic!
I thoroughly enjoyed myself every moment, and not just when I had a fabulously relaxing hot-stone massage, body scrub and facial at the wonderful spa!
Honestly, this is the nicest hotel I've every stayed at and look forward to my next visit.

Green Features: The bath amenities are organic and environmentally-friendly. Guests may opt not to have their bed linens and/or towels changed daily to save water and energy. Great going!
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you so very much for writing such an extensive and positive review. Your comments are greatly appreciated and we are delighted to learn that we did indeed take good are of you and you enjoyed your stay.

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed in the hacienda's "Fireplace Suite" for a couple of nights in winter and we were very pleased at the authentic Santa Fe charm of the whole place. Ambience is very important to me so I was happy to have gotten such a good deal on such a room with Kiva fireplace. It's got a wonderful, quiet feel to it-dimly lit, mood lighting, lots of Santa Fe art and artifacts displayed, an upscale restaurant/bar and quality furnishings. With kids, it's nice to have the separate bedroom and living room with queen pull-out couch. There was a chipper concierge who was very eager to be of assistance, give advice and help out. We tipped him well after the free wine/happy hour for all his help. It was really, really helpful to have the free shuttle (tips expected) to call for a reliable, quick, fun, purple taxi. I used the spa one evening (which looks even nicer in person) and the masseuse was very good at deep tissue-I can be picky. We would certainly return in the future.

Room Tip: Try to request a room with natural views, instead of parking lots or of other buildings. Make sure t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
All of the staff at the Hacienda & Spa thank you for your kind and detailed report. Please come back soon!!

chenoho mima téwe yo tha - We thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This hotel needs an update, it is fine if you aren't planning on spending time there. It has motel quality rooms. Also, be aware that there is a $19 charge per day for amenities, a hidden cost. If the basic amenities are $19, they should add be added to the room charge, not doing so is a violation. The continental breakfast is $11, don't bother as there are wonderful places to eat within walking distance.

Green Features: All hotels should not rely on the guest to be environmentally friendly, this hotel does it right.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
I am disappointed that you were disappointed with your stay but respectively disagree with your comments. Wishing you well wherever your travels may take you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa

Address: 1501 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Santa Fe and the Hacienda and Spa, the only Native American Owned hotel in Santa Fe, is located just blocks from the Santa Fe Plaza in historic downtown Santa Fe and in the heart of the Guadalupe Railyard District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Fe And Hacienda And Spa
Hotel Santa Fe & Hacienda Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.