We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL OASIS IN SANTA FE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1501 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Explore Santa Fe
Ranked #15 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersSilver level
EDMOND, OKLAHOMA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL OASIS IN SANTA FE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Santa Fe for three nights for the Winter Indian Market at Thanksgiving. Outstanding room, wonderful staff and great dining experience. Beautiful Native American Art Collection displayed in the Hacienda. Great location in Santa Fe. Wonderful shuttle service downtown in a restored English purple taxi. Native flute music in the restaurant in the evenings on Friday and Saturday. Can't wait to go back on our next visit!

Room Tip: Stay in the Hacienda, outstanding quality in the rooms. King Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and we can’t wait to see you again!!

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    213
    92
    34
    18
See reviews for
170
367
52
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I've been coming to Santa Fe on business a lot lately and finally got to stay at this hotel after my clients raved about it. Now I see why. This hotel is almost like an old lodge - classic Santa Fe adobe -style architecture, big kiva fireplace in the lounge, native american art on the walls, wooden furniture in the rooms. Very cozy, warm and culturally interesting. But it has all the modern conveniences too. Great Wifi. Great business center. Easy walking distance to the Plaza, the Whole Foods and the Railyard. Shuttle for almost anywhere you want to go so you don't have to drive. The service from the front desk, room service -- all super.
The food here is especially delicious - great chef. The spa is fantastic - its a bit of a splurge but so worth it - best massage I've ever had. Ask for Sherri or Lance. They are both world class.
The hotel is owned by the Picaris Pueblo tribe.. you can't tell it except for the wonderful gift shop which carries a large number of books, art and jewelry that are from this area.
Not expensive compared to other places in town if you catch it on on a special. Book in advance as it appears to be a popular place. Second floor of the old building where my room was is very quiet and has nice decks to sit out on and huge windows.

Room Tip: Second floor wing 260s is very quiet and the rooms are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for writing such an extensive review to tripadvisor.com and your kind words are greatly appreciated. We are all delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and hope that your business will continue to bring you back to Santa Fe on a regular basis. Many thanks to your clients for the recommendation!

kowaen mina so thuu puchi - Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

While a little ways away from the square, this hotel gave us a lot of extras! Wonderful continental breakfast, cookies and fruit when you return in the afternoon, a umbrella to use on the day it rained, wine and cheese in the afternoon, chocolate on your pillow, fruit in your room, bathrobe and slippers, and free shuttle/taxi service within a mile of the hotel!
The room was very nice and bed was fine. They do charge a daily fee for all these extras, but we found it worth it!
We did have a noisy person above us who stopped around at 7 am, but the hotel took care of it and upgraded us to a bigger room the following night.

Spa was not really a spa. It offered a few different services, but did not have a nice space for you to lounge in between your services. Only one bathroom and one shower, so it was a bit awkward when multiple people were trying to shower and dress in a tiny space.
My massage was good.
Staff was very very nice and helpful!

Room Tip: Ask for a top level room to avoid noisy people above you. Avoid being by the room where they serve t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Many thanks for staying with us and I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay.

Your point concerning the Spa is understood and we are hopeful we may be able to expand it next year! But please note that we have just added a sauna!!

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barceloneta, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

See comment about "resort fee at bottom". In all a lovely stay with nice staff and very nice to sit in lobby with the dogs by a real fire while having breakfast.
The concierge arranged a pet sitter, Fran, who came to the room and picked up the dogs so we could sightsee. There is a shuttle to everywhere nearby, even the Museum Hill where there are 5 excellent museums to see and a restaurant not to miss. The website photos led me to believe our room for four had beds in different rooms, so don't make that mistake, get a suite and an adjoining single.

They were booked for those so intended up paying an additional $200+/night room. Here is my one non flattering comment. There is a resort fee of $18/ night or not you use the exercise equipment or hot tub. But if they charge everyone...then it should just be part of the standard rate. It makes the rates look lower and more competitive that way, but it isn't forthright. Also, the Tax is high, so don't believe for a minute the room is only going to cost you $159/night.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
I am sorry you were confused by our website and I will certainly look in to that although any “additional” connecting room is always an “additional” room charge!

Your comment concerning the A.R.T./Resort Fee is noted and you may wish to read a detailed response I made to a similar review last month.

Many thanks for staying with us and I am happy to know that Fran was a good dog sitter!

chenoho mima téwe yo tha - We thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

A mediocre place filed with a rotten staff. Avoid this place at all costs because the room service quality food was overpriced and mediocre at best and the hotel overall was not at all world-class. Spend your money else where.

Room Tip: To get the best room simply go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Your unkind remarks are not appreciated nor understood, as you will note from most other reviews that we do care and provide great service!

I am sorry that you did not have the courtesy to express your disappointment when you were staying with us so we could possibly have addressed your problem! Nonetheless, no matter now!

Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We really liked this hotel. As Australians travelling it was easy to find and easy to park. Great room on the ground floor close to the lobby. For us we could easily walk to the Plaza which takes 10 min but the taxi shuttle provided by the hotel was incredible efficient. So close to the Rail Runner train and small boutique shops thus for us was also a plus. What we really liked after walking around all day was the great bar and restaurant area with the amazing fireplace. Very cosy with great food on offer. We ate in two nights we were there. Good price for the room and facilities. We would stay again.

Room Tip: If you like pool and spa I would ask for the pool wing. In Spring only the spa was in use so no nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
I am so delighted to learn that our guests from “down under” had a great time and enjoyed their stay!

Very many thanks for staying with us and we all wish you well on your travels!

kowaen mina so thuu puchi - Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We had a magical time here. I had no idea what to expect. But Pueblo culture was earthy and sophisticated at the same time. Warm woody textured decor, sympathetic service, and lovely display of coffee and assorted teas on each landing to take back to your room and sip in bed while planning your day. Easy trips in and out of town due to the purple coloured London taxi for prompt shuttling to and for. Only disappointment was that pool was not open at Easter as it was outdoor. But roaring log fire over breakfast in lobby made up for that. Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was quiet and had view over town. North facing. So perhaps south might have been sunnier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
And we do hope you will be back soon!! It’s still a little too chilly to open the pool (hence the fire in the Lobby), but it will be up and running by May 1st - and normally through the end of October.

Many thanks for staying with us and I am glad you enjoyed our coffee/teas and London Taxis, etc.!!

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa

Address: 1501 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Santa Fe and the Hacienda and Spa, the only Native American Owned hotel in Santa Fe, is located just blocks from the Santa Fe Plaza in historic downtown Santa Fe and in the heart of the Guadalupe Railyard District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Fe And Hacienda And Spa
Hotel Santa Fe & Hacienda Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.