We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa to your Saves list
Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1501 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Explore Santa Fe
Ranked #15 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Barceloneta, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

See comment about "resort fee at bottom". In all a lovely stay with nice staff and very nice to sit in lobby with the dogs by a real fire while having breakfast.
The concierge arranged a pet sitter, Fran, who came to the room and picked up the dogs so we could sightsee. There is a shuttle to everywhere nearby, even the Museum Hill where there are 5 excellent museums to see and a restaurant not to miss. The website photos led me to believe our room for four had beds in different rooms, so don't make that mistake, get a suite and an adjoining single.

They were booked for those so intended up paying an additional $200+/night room. Here is my one non flattering comment. There is a resort fee of $18/ night or not you use the exercise equipment or hot tub. But if they charge everyone...then it should just be part of the standard rate. It makes the rates look lower and more competitive that way, but it isn't forthright. Also, the Tax is high, so don't believe for a minute the room is only going to cost you $159/night.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
I am sorry you were confused by our website and I will certainly look in to that although any “additional” connecting room is always an “additional” room charge!

Your comment concerning the A.R.T./Resort Fee is noted and you may wish to read a detailed response I made to a similar review last month.

Many thanks for staying with us and I am happy to know that Fran was a good dog sitter!

chenoho mima téwe yo tha - We thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    216
    92
    34
    18
See reviews for
170
370
52
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

A mediocre place filed with a rotten staff. Avoid this place at all costs because the room service quality food was overpriced and mediocre at best and the hotel overall was not at all world-class. Spend your money else where.

Room Tip: To get the best room simply go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Your unkind remarks are not appreciated nor understood, as you will note from most other reviews that we do care and provide great service!

I am sorry that you did not have the courtesy to express your disappointment when you were staying with us so we could possibly have addressed your problem! Nonetheless, no matter now!

Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We really liked this hotel. As Australians travelling it was easy to find and easy to park. Great room on the ground floor close to the lobby. For us we could easily walk to the Plaza which takes 10 min but the taxi shuttle provided by the hotel was incredible efficient. So close to the Rail Runner train and small boutique shops thus for us was also a plus. What we really liked after walking around all day was the great bar and restaurant area with the amazing fireplace. Very cosy with great food on offer. We ate in two nights we were there. Good price for the room and facilities. We would stay again.

Room Tip: If you like pool and spa I would ask for the pool wing. In Spring only the spa was in use so no nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
I am so delighted to learn that our guests from “down under” had a great time and enjoyed their stay!

Very many thanks for staying with us and we all wish you well on your travels!

kowaen mina so thuu puchi - Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We had a magical time here. I had no idea what to expect. But Pueblo culture was earthy and sophisticated at the same time. Warm woody textured decor, sympathetic service, and lovely display of coffee and assorted teas on each landing to take back to your room and sip in bed while planning your day. Easy trips in and out of town due to the purple coloured London taxi for prompt shuttling to and for. Only disappointment was that pool was not open at Easter as it was outdoor. But roaring log fire over breakfast in lobby made up for that. Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was quiet and had view over town. North facing. So perhaps south might have been sunnier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
And we do hope you will be back soon!! It’s still a little too chilly to open the pool (hence the fire in the Lobby), but it will be up and running by May 1st - and normally through the end of October.

Many thanks for staying with us and I am glad you enjoyed our coffee/teas and London Taxis, etc.!!

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The hotel was generally clean and well kept. A bit dark for our taste.
Most everyone on the staff was very accommodating and friendly. They gave us a room upgrade for no extra charge and we didn't even ask for it.
Food in the Amaya restaurant in the hotel was quite good, service was too.
Was well worth the price and we'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Many thanks for your kind remarks and we do hope you will return one day soon!

chenoho mima téwe yo tha - We thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

On the plus side:

*The receptionist was extremely friendly and helpful. Gave us some great recommendations of sites to see and places to eat.

*They "upgraded" (I was a little questionable of this upgrade the next morning - but more on that later) us to a double suite, with a couch bed. I was traveling with two other friends so it was nice for everyone to have their own bed.

*The couch bed was actually quite comfortable. I had a very nice sleep on it.

*The shuttle service was handy. We didn't use it a lot because Santa Fe is a great place for walking.

What I hated:

*We were in room 162 which was a terrible place to be, as we found out early the next morning. We were right next to a banquet room (which I hadn't noticed the night before, I was just pleased with the free "upgrade") and there was construction happening right outside the window. (We arrived after it was dark, so I hadn't noticed that either.) Bright and early the next morning we woke up to LOUD talking from the banquet room. It seriously sounded like a whole herd of people was in the room with us. Then the construction started right outside. It was horribly loud and we couldn't open any of the blinds to let light in because a bunch of construction workers were literally standing right next to the window.

Since the damage was already done, and we had to be up bright and early the next morning anyway, we didn't ask to switch rooms. I do feel that they "upgraded" us, though, because they knew it was a terrible room and no one in their right mind would want us.

*Even though it's a 4-star hotel, there was grime in the corners and the shower wasn't that great. Obviously, the walls are not sound proofed at all.

I loved Santa Fe and plan on visiting again, but I will not stay at this hotel again, nor would I recommend it.

Room Tip: Do not take room 162 or any rooms near a banquet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Please accept my sincere apologies for the obvious inconvenience you were caused by our expansion of our Patio project and the inconsiderate behavior of the crew outside. We certainly should have advised you at check-in.

I am obviously disappointed to learn you will not be back, but should you change your mind, please ask to speak with our Reservations Manager, Desiree, who will guarantee you the best room available and some extra special treatment if you mention this note.

Again, apologies but pleas give us a second chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

When I made my reservation at The Hacienda I was looking for an upscale hotel. I wanted to stay at a nice hotel because I am a female traveling alone. I asked some questions and decided to book Hacienda for three nights. While I was talking to the agent the 1st night sold out so she offered to put me in hotel Santa Fe the first night and then move me. It was last minute and I was not sure if I wanted it so I told her no because I wanted to research hotel and did not want to adhere to cancellation policy. She waived cancellation policy and put notes in computer. When I arrived the front desk guy insisted I was a no show and I would have to pay for 1 St night. I disputed so he told me he would have to listen to recording bc reservations are recorded. I said ok. Then he said the agent was there so he would talk to her. A while later I inquired and was told she was at lunch at hadn't called yet. I called her directly spoke to her and she said she would talk to him to remove charge as soon as we hung up. I asked her to listen to recording too. I went downstairs and he actually lied to me and told me she hadn't got back to him. When I called him on it his response was," She did call but I was too busy to take the call.". That is a totally inappropriate response especially for a hotel claiming to be 4 star with exceptional service. After going to plaza I checked again and he said he would remove charges but not without telling me that the reservation agent wanted me to be charged but he would take charge off. She was the one helping me and even if she did why did he feel the need to tell me that? Birdie in the restaurant was exceptional, Thomas the driver was fun and informative and the butler who printed me directions to Ghost Ranch and tent rocks was great(not sure of his name or the name of rude front desk guy). Also my 1st floor room was a little stuffy. It is a shame because a lot of the staff were nice and I really wanted to like this cool locally owned hotel. I am bummed bc only vacation for a while. I also used to work for a hotel myself and I currently own a pet salon and would never treat a customer the way that guy treated me! I request management listen to recording but I am not sure if one exists or if he just had the desire to treat me like a criminal.

Room Tip: Heard from other travelers that 1st floor not as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
You are absolutely correct and the Front Desk agent was totally out-of-line with both his responses and attitude. I am so very sorry that you were treated incorrectly and inappropriately - whether we record a reservation or not is only for our in-house accuracy confirmation and should never be used in the context you encountered.

Please give us another chance. I promise you we can do better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa

Address: 1501 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Santa Fe and the Hacienda and Spa, the only Native American Owned hotel in Santa Fe, is located just blocks from the Santa Fe Plaza in historic downtown Santa Fe and in the heart of the Guadalupe Railyard District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelClick, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Fe & Hacienda Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe And Hacienda And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.