We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing a enjoyable.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa to your Saves list
Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1501 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3-Night Ski Package
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Relaxing a enjoyable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Just stayed two nights with my sister. The room was very nice, quite and comfortable. The bathroom was small but doable. Nice tea and coffee service in the mornings on each hall way. Location good a slight walk to the old town center but not a problem. Desk staff very helpful. Pool was closed still for the season but hot tub was open. Not sure we would have used it though even if it was open.

Room Tip: Continental Breakfast $11.00 person. We faced the main street and were able to sleep with the balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Many thanks for staying with us and so glad to know you enjoyed your stay!

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    234
    100
    36
    20
See reviews for
183
399
51
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, CO
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

The desk staff were not very nice. We arrived an hour and a half early after a long drive from Boulder and were told check in was at 4:00. We came back at 4:00. Again no nice greeting, but the suite was lovely. We had a large gorgeous bath with lots of counter space. The living area was very nicely done with a great private deck area attached. The bed and linens were to die for in a very spacious bedroom. A nice wine and munchies was done in a wonderfully bright and airy lounge area with private outdoor space. The butler service was such a nice touch. We also had dinner at their restaurant, all well done. If you can just get past the front desk, you will enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite in the new addition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
I am so sorry to learn that our Front Desk staff was less than courteous as they are invariably our “stars of hospitality”. Please accept my sincere apologies and your comment has been addressed with them!

chenoho mima téwe yo tha - We thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artesia, New Mexico
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We were up in Santa Fe for the weekend and took advantage of a Spring special on their suites. Ours had two double beds and a sleeper sofa. The room was decorated nicely in the usual southwest decor one sees in most of the places here. Good size room with a frig. The only downside was a view of some junk out the window....would be easy to tidy this area up. There is a 18$ resort fee here which covers parking and the use of the shuttle. Never had a problem getting the shuttle to take us where we needed to go in a reasonable amount of time (it goes to the plaza and gallery areas generally). One can walk to the plaza area from the hotel...not a bad walk...perhaps around a half mile. Staff very very helpful and courteous. Having stayed at quite a few hotels in Santa Fe I would say it is in the mid range price and room wise...not luxury but very comfortable. Breakfast was OK....better eating options can be found in the area though for breakfast but is was convenient. Free coffee is available in the bar area near the restaurant as there is no coffee makers in the rooms (ours anyway). Decent value for the money...recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Many thanks for your recommendation and also thank you for staying with us!

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We arrived and were not greeting very warmly by the front desk staff person. She informed us she would have to charge daily for the credit card we were using because it was a debit with VISA logo. Right off the bat, not a good feeling to be accused of not being able to pay the bill in full at check out.
Also, she explained there was an additional $18.00 charge for shuttle service (which we never used), and "other amenities" like what? newspaper and wi-fi??? I know of plenty of other hotels that offer that for free. Also, there was a continental breakfast - for a $6. charge! No thank you!!! We waited for the shuttle once, after requesting it at the front desk and no driver ever came out to meet us after our standing on the curb for over 5 minutes. There is no clearly marked entrance and more than just us seemed to be confused about that.
the room was small, the pool was closed (it was SPRING BREAK???) Surely that was not right.
And the bathroom was too tiny to function in - plus no ventilation or fan. Nice.
The spa was nice and the woman we made reservations for a treatment was nice. The massage therapist was nice and gave a good massage. The sugar scrub, however, caused me to break out in a massive rash on my thighs and upper arms the following day. Not sure what was in the scrub... must have been allergic.
We will not be staying there again...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Hotel Santa Fe Soothes the Weary Traveler


Hotel Santa Fe has the healing power to soothe the savage beast that lurks inside the weary traveler. I arrived at the hotel in a fairly disgruntled state and the true litmus test of a great hotel is the ability to change my attitude in a matter of minutes. The warmth and hospitality of the front desk staff, the owner, Paul, the Hacienda Butler, Peter, all conspired to shift my disgruntled mental state to cheerful wellbeing.

My king bedroom in the Hacienda building was very attractively furnished—super comfortable bed and quality bedding. As the only Native American owned hotel in Santa Fe, the furnishings and art work are harmonious and generously displayed— Kiva style fireplace, fine hand crafted furnishings and luxury bathroom amenities. I honestly can’t find one detail that has been overlooked, including New Mexico art books in room.

Pet friendly plus! Owner, Paul’s canine mascot, Herman meets and greets at the front desk and we were offered dog cookies, pet waste bags and a map of the hotel’s Puppy Professional Park (where doggies do their business).

We had a wonderful dinner in the (full)bar section of the Amaya Restaurant where my furry companion was able to join me. Sophie, French restaurant manager adds a cosmopolitan air and European hospitality and new employee, Birdy, made a Cosmopolitan extraordinaire.

Families definitely feel welcome here but there is a wonderful sophistication still to be savored.

In warmer weather, guests are able to relax and enjoy the outdoor swimming pool, hot tub and dining area patio.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
So very many thanks for your kind and gracious comments and we are all delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay! And Herman thanks you also!!

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Great family spring break rate, but only an OK stay. Service at check-in and check-out was friendly and helpful. Room clean and adequate. Wireless service was terrible. Breakfast was disappointing -- very little fresh food available; instead, lots of sugary baked goods.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
I am equally frustrated to learn you had wireless service problems, as we have recently upgraded everything again and were under the impression that all is well. I wish I knew which room you were staying in! Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you were caused, but please note we also have a business center to overcome any problems of this nature.

chenoho mima téwe yo tha - We thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I stayed 4 nights and it was an enjoyable experience. I typically stay at B&B's or very small inns so staying at a larger hotel was a change for me. I missed the intimacy of smaller settings but the friendly staff and excellent service give Hotel Santa Fe a homier feel than I was expecting. My only peeve was that neither the package provider nor the hotel website mentioned the $18 dollar a day resort fee, When I arrived I had the basic King room on the ground floor. It was the room facing the front driveway so I requested an upgrade ($25.00 per night) and got a first floor room facing the rear of the building with a parking lot view but it was quiet. The room showed a little wear but it was well kept and very clean. The use of the little purple taxis and shuttle that are included in your $18.00 a day fee is a great amenity. I really enjoyed the pre-fixe dinner options available between 5:30 and 7:00 p.m. If you choose to have breakfast at the hotel you may wish to select from the menu rather than choose the $11.00 continental breakfast. I ate at a couple of other places and the only one I will note, which was suggested by a local, was the Plaza Café. It's an old fashioned diner, nothing fancy, there were tourists and townies and the food was delicious. I used the spa - they squeezed me in when I called after a day of visiting Bandolier and climbing up to the top of Tsankawi. I had a combination scrub and massage including the use of hot stones. It was fantastic. Another highlight was the Friday and Saturday night performance of a gentleman who played the guitar and native flute - beautiful. The little touch that I enjoyed the most were the native prayers and sayings that were left on the bed by the cleaning staff each day. Last but not least I enjoyed using the hot tub. It was wonderful sitting outside in the brisk March air after a full day of hiking. I would stay here again and would recommend it to other travelers.

Room Tip: I believe the upper floors are more expensive but I believe you have better rooms. I found my room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments and we are all delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay. Your hiking sounds exhausting, but ia m also pleased to know that your Spa treatment was a success!

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa

Address: 1501 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Santa Fe and the Hacienda and Spa, the only Native American Owned hotel in Santa Fe, is located just blocks from the Santa Fe Plaza in historic downtown Santa Fe and in the heart of the Guadalupe Railyard District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Fe And Hacienda And Spa
Hotel Santa Fe & Hacienda Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.