We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing respite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa to your Saves list
Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1501 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Explore Santa Fe
Ranked #15 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Plano, Texas
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“A relaxing respite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We've stayed at many different hotels in Santa Fe over the past 35 years, but never at the Hotel Santa Fe. We've gone the economy route, the family-friendly avenue, and some slightly upscale places, but for this trip, we were looking for a little something special and preferably inside Paseo de Peralto. While there are many wonderful choices in this area, the Hotel Santa Fe was the only one with a reasonably priced mini suite - perfect for our family of three.

We found a Winter Special rate for a king suite on the website. Perfect! However, we noticed that the website was silent as to certain things, such as parking. A call to the hotel revealed that the hotel charges an $18 per day "activity fee" for parking, local shuttle, newspapers, coffee and tea, and use of the facilities. OK, I know that these fees are becoming more common, but not to even mention it on the website and surprise guests with it when they arrive? We still made the reservation, but the undisclosed fee colored our attitude somewhat.

Upon arrival, we entered a cozy lobby, somewhat small, but warm and intimate with southwest/Native American flair. The bar and restaurant are just past the check in area. The outdoor pool and spa are just around the corner, and the spa, fitness center, and Hacienda rooms are in a separate building behind the main lodge. We found all of the staff to be friendly and welcoming.

Our suite consisted of a living area and bedroom/bathroom that could be separated by folding doors. The decor is, once again, Southwestern and rather charming. The living room has a tiny balcony with a single chair for relaxing outside. Inside, each room has a flat screen TV. The rooms clearly have a patina of time, but are spotless. The furniture was a bit oversized for the rooms - a queen would have worked better than a king - and the mini bar would have been immensely more useful if it had contained a bar sink. It was also somewhat difficult to evenly monitor the water temperature in the shower. Minor complaints, however, as the bed was extremely comfortable, the pillows were fantastic, and the linens were of good quality. We were greated with an inspirational Native American message every day courtesy of our housekeeper.

OK, as to that "activity fee". The hotel does provide coffee and tea in the elevator lobby on each floor in the morning, three newspapers (Local, US Today, and Wall Street Journal) are available in the lobby, along with bottled water - just ask at the front desk. The parking is ample on open lots, and the shuttle is definitely a good amenity - there are 3 vehicles and no set route. The drivers will take you anywhere inside the Paseo de Peralta loop, Canyon Drive, or Museum Hill, and probably anywhere else close by that you need. Our first night, the shuttle was extremely fast and convenient, however, pickup on our next trip required 2 phone calls and a 30-minute wait. Still, it was musch more convenient than looking for downtown parking.

There were several spa treatments on sale during our visit. I signed up for one, a facial, but my skin care expert recommended a different treatment for my skin. I had a 15% off coupon, so the cost was similar. It was a wonderful experience and lasted longer than the suggested 60 minutes. Well worth the price.

We ended up eating a snack at the bar, but did not try the restaurant. I thought the prices were fairly reasonable for Santa Fe for breakfast and lunch, and our bar quesadilla was large and overstuffed with chicken. The restaurant is pricier at dinner, but they offer a reasonably priced and interesting-sounding fixed price dinner option from 5:30-7:00pm. In the morning, rather than opting for the Continental breakfast, visit the Sage Bakery directly across the street for wonderful pastries, tarts, quiches, and breads. Tomasita's restuarant (popular, but not my favorite) is a few hundred feet away, as are several other local dining spots.

The Hotel Santa Fe creates a loyal following with its warm and welcoming spirit. We met many families that return year after year. We will, too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
I sincerely thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive review to tripadvisor.com.

I am delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay and that we took good care of you. Apologies for the Taxi cab wait on your second day. I will also address the visibility issue on our website regarding the A.R.T./Resort Fee Charge.

We look forward to seeing you again next year, if not before?!

Again, thank you!

chenoho mima téwe yo tha - We thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    221
    93
    35
    18
See reviews for
175
374
51
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Texas
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

My wife, grandson, and I returned to the Hotel Santa Fe for our second stay during spring break. We continue to be very pleased with the hotel. Our king suite was spacious, included a balcony, and two televisions. And, we were able to book at a very special rate, the best rate in Santa Fe for a top quality hotel. This hotel charges a resort fee, but is well worth it and our room rate remained less than other hotels even when including the resort fee. Hotel Santa Fe does not charge to park. Staff were friendly and helpful. My wife took advantate of an afternoon visit to the spa; she described her experience as amazing. Again, the only request, not complaint, we have of the hotel is to provide bell service to assist with bags.

Also, we ate dinner at Amaya, the hotel restaurant. We cannot imagine finding a better fine dining experience at a hotel. The menu offered a pre fixe dinner of $23.00! Please know that this favorable review is not based upon the price, but upon the quality of food and service. We thoroughly, completely enjoyed our fine dining experience due to the attentive wait staff and, of course, the delicious and artfully-plated food. My wife and I plan to return to the Hotel Santa Fe in August when we attend the opera. We probably will treat ourselves to a room at the Hacienda.

We highly recommend the Hotel Santa Fe.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony on the second or third floor. We stayed in room 365, a king suite loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
We sincerely thank you for your kind words and are delighted to learn that we took good care of you and you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again in August to enjoy the Opera!

kowaen mina so thuu puchi - Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The Hotel was clean and comfortable, a warm inviting atmosphere and an authentic experience of Native American hospitality. I particularly was attracted by the Native ownership of the hotel, and that they employ Native American workers. The service was outstanding. They graciously accommodated my request to have a larger room, and put me in a suite. The food in the hotel restaurant was excellent, also heavily influenced by Native Pueblo culture. They even provided ice scrapers, with the hotel logo, as we got lots of snow during my stay. The shuttle was extremely efficient; complete with a London taxicab. The only negative, if you can call it that, was that the first room, a standard king, was a bit small. The suite was excellent!

Room Tip: the larger rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for your kind words which are greatly appreciated and we are all delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay.

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

My husband and I travel to Santa Fe every year to celebrate the new year. We always stay at the Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, and we love it! The hotel is not in plaza; however, it's walking distance, and the hotel also provides a complimentary shuttle to and from the plaza. The staff is absolutely delightful they went out of their way to please us and to make sure we were comfortable. When you visit, make sure you dine at the Amaya restaurant, the cuisine is delicious, and the prices are reasonable.

We've stayed in both the hotel and the hacienda and enjoyed them both very much. They both offer wonderful amenities. We can't wait to go back with our dogs! We highly recommend this hotel; you will not be disappointed everyone makes you feel right at home.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you so very much for staying with us again which is so greatly and gratefully appreciated! We are all delighted to learn you enjoyed yourselves and your kind words and recommendations are so very encouraging. Many thanks!

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Extremely welcoming. Nice staff. Great location. Would definitely stay again if we are in the area. Very clean. It was a treat since we got it on hotwire and got an amazing deal! loved every minute of it there. Sheets were a bit scratchy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay and please do come back soon!

chenoho mima téwe yo tha - We thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

When I needed a special treat before a big surgery, I spent some time at this hotel. I had only planned on one night, due to my restricted budget, but when I talked to the Manager of Sales he switched me to another, slightly smaller room, and I was able to stay several more nights, enjoying the close proximity to downtown and all that Santa Fe has to offer, as well as thoroughly enjoying the afternoon free drink and appetizers in the lovely garden area.
It was exactly what I needed to see me through the surgery -- thank you Hotel Santa Fe - I will be back. Your generosity will not be forgotten.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and hopefully your surgery was a great success. We look forward to welcoming you back!

chenoho mima téwe yo tha - We thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobbs, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The Hotel Santa Fe, Hacienda and Spa is the most beautiful and welcoming hotel for business, couples &/or family…they are within walking distance to the plaza and all sorts of added shopping, museums &/or entertainment (with a toddler we loved taking advantage of their wonderful and efficient shuttle service)! This hotel offers so much for their more than reasonable rates and they go above and beyond to accommodate your dates needed…their location is superb and the views are spectacular! The staff is highly professional, friendly and knowledgable about their hotel and services and about all that Santa Fe has to offer! We had the pleasure of staying in both the Hotel Santa Fe and then moving over into the Hacienda while visiting family in January 2014…we then sadly lost my sister in February and returned with hours notice to The Hacienda to which the hotel worked diligently to extend our stay throughout the week to meet our needs. Due to our family dynamic we were pleased with each suite…they are all beautiful and very cozy (the balconies and fireplaces are such a lovely touch and the decor and art throughout this hotel is spectacular)! The hotel spa is absolutely wonderful offering a wide range of services from massage to facials, etc…they have a heated outdoor pool and a deluxe gym and an extensive public business center (the wifi is great…actually fast and very reliable)! Their complimentary breakfast is served in the main lobby as well as every floor with complimentary cheeses/fruits and drinks from 5:00-7:00 every evening…the selection was quite impressive and very much appreciated! The butler in The Hacienda is more than accommodating catering to your every need and the room service was the best (we were in our room a couple of times while it was being cleaned and she did a deep cleaning and dusting every time)! The restaurant is superb…we were there long enough to try every item offered on both menus! Again, we found this hotel to serve business meetings & conferences quite well and professionally; as well as; couples and families and we so look forward to returning!

Room Tip: I love online booking; however, at times when we need to accommodate our family dynamic I find onlin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Wow! Your wonderful review is so greatly appreciated and also so very encouraging. Thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive commentary and we are so sorry for your sad loss. We hope to see you again soon.

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa

Address: 1501 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Santa Fe and the Hacienda and Spa, the only Native American Owned hotel in Santa Fe, is located just blocks from the Santa Fe Plaza in historic downtown Santa Fe and in the heart of the Guadalupe Railyard District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Fe & Hacienda Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe And Hacienda And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.