We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“softest sheets I have slept on” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1501 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer on Sale
Ranked #15 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Aledo, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“softest sheets I have slept on”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed here only 1 night in October, but would definitely return for another visit. We upgraded to a suite which was very lovely, had a balcony & was very clean. Slept like a queen on the softest sheets ever! The hotel has lovely grounds, like an oasis in busy city. Free shuttle to the square.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We are so delighted to know you slept so well and hope to see you again soon.

chenoho mima téwe yo tha - We thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    504
    207
    90
    33
    18
See reviews for
163
353
52
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I chose the Hotel Santa Fe for my 50th Birthday celebration, because it had a wide range of room choices at rates that were much more reasonable than hotels right on the Plaza. In a word, everything was perfect. I am quite particular about hotels, and this is one of the best. My guests agreed. The fact that hotel was a few blocks from the Plaza was not an issue at all. A couple of times we took the shuttle, but most of the time we enjoyed the walk. It's very close, and the people who rented cars rarely used them.The Hacienda rooms are large and recently updated, and the Hacienda lounge is a great amenity. The junior suites in the hotel were more rustic, but also tasteful and very spacious. And everyone I encountered on the staff was fantastic. As just one example, the head of security volunteered to drive us into town after the regular shuttle hours had ended, and he insisted that if we needed a ride back, we should call at any time -- even though shuttle hours were already officially over. I had my birthday dinner in the Teepee with appetizers beforehand catered by the hotel. The food and service were outstanding, and the prices were very reasonable. Several weeks later my friends are still raving about the food and how wonderful it was to have dinner in the Teepee. I never worried about logistics, because several days before the event, the catering manager sent me a sheet with every little detail spelled out, and in fact everything was executed flawlessly and with good cheer. It bears repeating: The experience was perfect.

Room Tip: I enjoyed the Hacienda, because of the fireplace and the Hacienda lounge. My room on the sixth floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We are all so delighted to know that you and your friends enjoyed your birthday celebrations. Thank you so very much for your kind and gracious comments and for writing such an extensive review.

We think you are “fantastic” too!!

We hope to see you next year and in the meantime we wish you all a Happy Thanksgiving and joyous Holiday Season!

chenoho mima téwe yo tha - We thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is one of the few hotels owned by Native American Indians and it is fabulous. We'll worth the cost. The Hacienda is pricier but the regular hotel was very quaint. The service was wonderful. It was within walking distance the The Plaza although the walk itself is not "picturesque". They have a limo service that will take you to the plaza or come pick you up if you call the hotel. The vans are bright purple so you can't miss them. We walked to the plaza, did some shopping then had a bite. It got very chilly so we decided we didn't want to walk back. We called an they were there in 2 minutes!

Room Tip: If you stay at the Hacienda side, breakfast is included. It was only $11 for us for a great continen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Very many thanks for staying with us and we think you are also “fabulous” for writing such a nice review.

Please come back soon!

kowaen mina so thuu puchi - Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

WEll, first of all it is located on the busiest corner of santa fe, whereas the pictures give another impression, sirens and traffic all day and night! The pool, supposedly heated is freezing, just spent half an hour trying to get warm under the shower, which at 6 foot i had to do yoga to manage to get under it. Miserably small bathroom also. Every step you take here costs money, I booked it because it is under native american indian ownership. WELL, I am sorely disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
I am distressed to learn of your unhappiness with your stay, but recognize that you encountered some noise issues beyond our control and the pool is indeed closed because of the very cold weather!! But the hot tub is hot and next to the pool!!

Wishing you well in your travels!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, USA
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Our first stay at Hotel Santa Fe was in 1992. With the exception of a few year hiatus for the care of elderly parents, we return every year for 7-10 days during October/November. The staff are always friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and go out of their way to make you feel welcome and your stay a pleasant experience. When they say, "How are you today?", you feel that they are really interested. The Junior Suites are clean and comfortable and the housekeeping staff obviously take pride in their work.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool provide quiet and a great sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you so very much for returning and staying with us again. We are all delighted to be your “second home” and look forward to welcoming you back next October/November!

Wishing you and your family a wonderful holiday season!!

kii thu wia‘‘ kanna thu wia - Our House is Your House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

From the front desk check-in throughout the stay I experienced the best that hospitality has to offer. The room was an unexpected suite with custom made details that made it a Wow! For example, a hand painted faux feature wall, rounded curves on the door frames, textured material on all upholstering and with the bedding the spoke of Santa Fe, local art. I had the Lavender Spirit treatment at the spa with Lance. Divine. Next, I met Sabine, the restaurant manager for the quaint bar and restaurant, Amaya, in the heart of the hotel. She has trained her staff to deliver care and sincerity with their service. I felt welcomed and elected to have both lunch and dinner in house because they made me welcome in their cosy and beautiful space. And the food, well it was beautifully presented and local. This group has the magic. They know how to turn it on perfectly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
I got up early this morning to read our tripadvisor.com reviews and you have “made our day”!

Your kind, gracious and encouraging words will be circulated to all the staff at the Hotel and Spa.

Thank you, thank you, thank you so very much for staying with us! Please come back soon!

kowaen mina so thuu puchi - Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed in The Hacienda section of the hotel. The rooms were very nice as was the service. The bed was extremely comfortable. The decor was nice and the bathroom was large and very clean. All of the staff - from the front desk to the day and night "butlers" were friendly and accommodating. I wouldn't hesitate to return to this hotel.

As a side note, the Spa isn't much of anything. They offer the usual services like facials, massages, and body treatments. The Spa is very small so there wasn't much of a small other than the treatment rooms. In addition, the available hot tub which is on another floor was out of order our entire stay.

My other disappointment was the hotel's concierge. She didn't seem to have much helpful information. For example, when asking for her recommendation for where to rent a bicycle, she said she would look for that information online. Since I too had the Google available, I could do the same. She also sent us out to the Taos Pueblo (an hour drive) on a day that the Pueblo was closed to the public. I would think she would know about this or check before she recommend we visit.

Back to the positive - I found the restaurant Amaya's food, atmosphere, price and service to be very good. My family chose to have dinner there twice during our stay. Given how many good restaurants Santa Fe has, this is a compliment to Amaya.

I highly recommend this hotel and have already told some friends about it.

Room Tip: Stay in The Hacienda section if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you so very much for recommending us to your friends.

I do apologize for the shortcomings of our concierge and we certainly should have know/done better! But thank you at t eh same time for bringing this to my attention.

We will commence renovating/construction of the Spa deck this winter and apologies for the hot tub being out of order, but hopefully you were directed to our other hot tub adjacent to the pool.

Many thanks for staying with us.

kowaen mina so thuu puchi - Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa

Address: 1501 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Santa Fe and the Hacienda and Spa, the only Native American Owned hotel in Santa Fe, is located just blocks from the Santa Fe Plaza in historic downtown Santa Fe and in the heart of the Guadalupe Railyard District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Amex, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Fe And Hacienda And Spa
Hotel Santa Fe & Hacienda Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.