We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great For A Family Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1501 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Explore Santa Fe
Ranked #15 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great For A Family Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife and I, and our two young children stayed at The Hacienda and had a very enjoyable experience. We had never been to Santa Fe before and I chose The Hacienda because it appeared to provide the best value for the cost of the lodging.

The staff was extremely attentive to our needs, and fulfilled requests for a step stool (for the kids to use in the bathroom) and a loaner sled so we could enjoy the snow. Each evening the staff offered a turn down service, including chocolates, and checked in to see if we had any needs.

We enjoyed the inclusive breakfast and happy hour in the Hacienda lounge, which has its own wood burning fireplace, a patio and great mountain views. The hotel restaurant, Amaya, had very good food (including a kids menu) and a very nice atmosphere since it adjoined the hotel lounge and fireplace. The prix fixe menu ($23 for three courses) was a very good deal.

Our room, a fireplace king suite, was a good size for the family and included a terrace and queen sofa bed. There was a portable humidifier in the room which was a helpful amenity due to the dryness at Santa Fe's altitude. The bathroom had a very nice shower, but no tub. The living room could have used a closet, or at least a coat rack, to hold the big coats needed during cold weather months.

The hotel is not located in the center of Santa Fe but that wasn't a problem for us for a few of reasons. First, the hotel offers free shuttle service (which we used) to the center of town. Second, the walk to town is pretty easy (about half a mile) if the weather is nice. Finally, there are a bunch if interesting shops and restaurants right near the hotel including ones at the rail yard (which is right across the street) and along Guadalupe St.

All in all we were pleased with the hotel and would stay there again. It's important to know that local taxes and the $15 per day resort fee will increase your bill by roughly $50 per night over the base rate. I knew this at the time of booking so it wasn't a problem. The array of services that the hotel offers (including wifi) makes the fee a palatable one.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Your extensive review is greatly appreciated and we do hope you enjoyed Santa Fe, as well as The Hacienda, on this, your first trip, to town.

We also hope you wi.l be back in the near future and in the meantime we wish you and your family a wonderful upcoming summer season wherever you may be!

chenoho mima téwe yo tha - We thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    213
    92
    34
    18
See reviews for
170
367
52
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

ur experience of this elite (12 diamond, our rating) Hotel has made it our only place to stay in Santa Fe.
The rooms are comfortable, clean, and homey. The resturant food is some of the City's best in a City of great food. The lounge and Friday and Saturday nights transports guest to wind swept vistas of eagles, sun, and sky. The Staff is always genuinely warm and caring, their attitude is you valued and cherished.

The location if easy walking to the plaza or you can use the free hotel shuttle.....Your dollar is well spent when you stay at this hotel........We will always come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

I love this hotel! I had an "Hacienda" room. These rooms are a nice balance of luxury versus price. Room includes a gas fireplace, free parking, wine and cheese in the evening, breakfast in the morning, a free shuttle to Santa Fe's restaurants, museums, etc, and a great location by the rail yard, within walking distance to the plaza. Only downside for me, is the
"Hacienda" rooms have a walk-in shower - but no bath tub.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us again and for your kind words!

kii thu wia‘‘ kanna thu wia - Our House is Your House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aztec, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this elite hotel in a fantastic city. The staff is very accommodating, the restaurant and spa on-site are up to par, and the location is fine for walking downtown on warm nights. I would highly recommend this hotel for romantic getaways. This is the only hotel I will stay at in my future visits to Santa Fe.

Room Tip: The Hacienda Suites have pleasant gas fireplace and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful recommendation which is greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back one day soon!

ko piane ca whachii - May Blessings Come Your Way
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Love the location, and the price was right. Nice decorating, clean, and with lots of natural light in the room. I opted for a junior suite, and the extra space was really nice. For a multi-day stay, I would consider it mandatory. However... The walls are thin. It's way too easy to hear the conversation in the next room. The folks were using a normal volume, and I heard everything. It made me alter my voice significantly when talking to my wife. The resort fee ($15) made me a little cranky. One of the perks it apparently pays for is "free" wi-fi. Doesn't the resort fee make it "not free"? The real problem was that I was constantly dropped. And I mean constantly. It is absolutely inadequate, and there is no excuse for that. So, those are my main complaints. No aural isolation, which is a major fault, and crappy wi-fi connectivity, which is an irritation. The front desk staff I liked a lot. Very nice people. And the concierge lady was just the most friendly, helpful person one could want. All in all, I won't go back. I hate thin walls.

Room Tip: Junior suite provides a very nice sitting area. Highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
So sorry to learn of your noisy neighbors, as we did spend a lot of time during construction to deal with “sound attenuation” issues, i.e. stagger studs, insulation, etc. I wish I knew which room you stayed in so I can fix the problem and also the wifi issue, as most everywhere else in the Hotel, it is very good.

I do hope to hear from you and apologies for the inconvenience, but please give us another opportunity to take care of you.

kowaen mina so thuu puchi - Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

After attending a business meeting in Albuquerque, I brought my wife with me to check out Santa Fe for a couple of days. We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights with the Explorer Package. What a bargain this was and it was well worth it. The package included a full breakfast each morning, a 3 course Prix Fixe dinner and a 2 hour historic personal tour with our guide Nat. The breakfasts were great and filling as you could help yourself to the continental breakfast buffet as well as order a prepared main dish. A great way to bulk up for the day's adventures. Dinner had some good choices and was just okay. However, we were entertained by a Native American flautist who also played Spanish guitar. It was so relaxing and wonderful that we bought one of his CD's after the performance. Our package came with a junior suite that was comfortable and relaxing. Only downside was the sheets in the bed. They were somewhat starchy and not a soft cotton. The historic tour with Nat was entertaining. Nat is a lifetime resident of Santa Fe and his knowledge of its history and his presentation was very entertaining. The hotel offers a shuttle service to most of the tourist attractions and great restaurants. There are so many wonderful things to see and do in Santa Fe. We will be returning in the Spring for a longer vacation and we plan to stay at the Hotel Santa Fe.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for writing your critique to tripadvisor.com and your kind words are greatly appreciated. Delighted to learn that you greatly enjoyed your tour with Nat, as for the first time, he was “panned” by a recent guest commentary.

We look forward to seeing you in the Spring!

chenoho mima téwe yo tha - We thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hacienda at Hotel Santa Fe several years ago. When we decided to return to Santa Fe for Valentine's weekend it seemed the only choice.The charm and ambiance of this lovely hotel won us over from the start. The staff is wonderful, the large rooms clean, very comfortable and cozy with their gas-log fireplaces. Great beds! We were fortunate to be there for Ronald Roybal's (Native American Music Award nominee - beautiful flute and guitar music inspired by indigenous America) weekend performances in front of the welcoming pinon wood fire in the lounge area. We both look very much forward to returning to this wonderfully relaxing hotel. Absolutely lovely.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Many thanks for staying with us again and your kind words are greatly appreciated and encouraging!

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa

Address: 1501 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Santa Fe and the Hacienda and Spa, the only Native American Owned hotel in Santa Fe, is located just blocks from the Santa Fe Plaza in historic downtown Santa Fe and in the heart of the Guadalupe Railyard District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Fe & Hacienda Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe And Hacienda And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.