We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great package.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa to your Saves list
Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1501 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fuel Your Fall Package
Ranked #14 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vallejo, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great package.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

After attending a business meeting in Albuquerque, I brought my wife with me to check out Santa Fe for a couple of days. We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights with the Explorer Package. What a bargain this was and it was well worth it. The package included a full breakfast each morning, a 3 course Prix Fixe dinner and a 2 hour historic personal tour with our guide Nat. The breakfasts were great and filling as you could help yourself to the continental breakfast buffet as well as order a prepared main dish. A great way to bulk up for the day's adventures. Dinner had some good choices and was just okay. However, we were entertained by a Native American flautist who also played Spanish guitar. It was so relaxing and wonderful that we bought one of his CD's after the performance. Our package came with a junior suite that was comfortable and relaxing. Only downside was the sheets in the bed. They were somewhat starchy and not a soft cotton. The historic tour with Nat was entertaining. Nat is a lifetime resident of Santa Fe and his knowledge of its history and his presentation was very entertaining. The hotel offers a shuttle service to most of the tourist attractions and great restaurants. There are so many wonderful things to see and do in Santa Fe. We will be returning in the Spring for a longer vacation and we plan to stay at the Hotel Santa Fe.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for writing your critique to tripadvisor.com and your kind words are greatly appreciated. Delighted to learn that you greatly enjoyed your tour with Nat, as for the first time, he was “panned” by a recent guest commentary.

We look forward to seeing you in the Spring!

chenoho mima téwe yo tha - We thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    227
    96
    35
    18
See reviews for
176
386
51
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hacienda at Hotel Santa Fe several years ago. When we decided to return to Santa Fe for Valentine's weekend it seemed the only choice.The charm and ambiance of this lovely hotel won us over from the start. The staff is wonderful, the large rooms clean, very comfortable and cozy with their gas-log fireplaces. Great beds! We were fortunate to be there for Ronald Roybal's (Native American Music Award nominee - beautiful flute and guitar music inspired by indigenous America) weekend performances in front of the welcoming pinon wood fire in the lounge area. We both look very much forward to returning to this wonderfully relaxing hotel. Absolutely lovely.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Many thanks for staying with us again and your kind words are greatly appreciated and encouraging!

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We had a no smoking room, but the shared ventilation system made the room reek of cigarettes. There is a $15 resort fee in addition to room cost. No in room coffee, and coffee wasn't available until 7am in lobby. The Internet access signal was weak and would drop frequently. Only hacienda guests can use outdoor hot tub, not hotel guests. No restroom near fitness room ; sign directs guest to go back to room if that is needed. The beds were comfortable, towels large, and location great.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
With apologies for the smoke. All of our rooms are smoke free, but very occasionally a guest will “break the rules” and it is certainly an expensive/time consuming challenge to clean up afterwards!

We do have a hot tub just off the Lobby by the pool at the Hotel and don’t understand why you were not advised accordingly!

With apologies for the inconvenience, but please come back and stay with us again!

ko piane ca whachii - May Blessings Come Your Way
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We didn't experience any difficulties at this hotel but I can't work up a bunch of excitement about it. Front desk personnel were helpful and friendly, the room was clean, and the location was good. I agree that the walls seem thin - we couldn't hear people talking but could when they laughed loudly. Woke up to people running in the halls at 4 am. but the noise stopped pretty quickly. Best part of the location is it's in walking distance to Tomasita's - great local food. We were there to ski and were pleasantly surprised by the Santa Fe ski area. It only took about 30 minutes to get there from the hotel. Overall, a good experience, but the word for this hotel, for me, is "adequate."

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We constantly strive to be more than adequate, as you can see from so many other commentaries. We promise to “wow” you next time!!

chenoho mima téwe yo tha - We thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Let me begin with the caveat of this critique that if they weren't claiming to be "high-end" I would accept some of the shortcomings, but if you are going to claim it, then you better have service/facilities to match. Okay, so I wanted, and intended, to love this hotel. In fact, I pushed for it when another couple brought up a different hotel. To start, I should have known there were going to be perpetual issues after all the challenges associated with just making reservations. I called the hotel, versus just booking on their website, as wanted to clarify not only the package we were planning to do but ensure rooms could be reserved near each other as we were traveling with another couple. Well, 1+ hours and 3 hang-ups (their end) later, I had been told they had no availability even though rooms were showing available on their site (and numerous others). Having given up on getting support over the phone (even though they had suggested that was the safest way to ensure the two reservations were coordinated), I ended up just booking on line (making the note about rooms together). I wish I could say the hotel experience made up for the initial frustration... it did not! First, let me assure you the Santa Fe Hotel and Hacienda are not the same property (don't have same lobby/check-in/service). As you enter the Santa Fe Hotel lobby there is a giant table greeting you where a concierge sits for some hours of the day. Problem with that is there is nowhere else to gather at the entrance so any more than 2 parties arriving/departing at the same time overwhelm the front desk. I will say we got checked in with relative ease but with no explanation as to how to set-up the two tours or dinner that were included in our package (all of which required reservations). After getting to our suites, which were beside each other (yeah), I called to ask about coordinating the tours and was told they would check into and get back to me (which admittedly they did, but what if I hadn't asked; we would have just "lost" those items).
The rooms: okay as to space, if you get suites, but bathrooms are small and balconies may as well not exist. Don't get room 375 as you have the pleasure of the ice machine right beside you;
The restaurant: Breakfast rocks (the Breakfast Burrito, Huevos Rancheros, and Cinnamon French Toast are awesome); but dinner is disappointing in comparison (and especially considering the awesome options in town); dinner is extra disappointing if you get the package that includes it as they severely limit what you can have and I assure you they don't include the top options;
The bar: Pretty much part of the restaurant and not manned well to keep up with the restaurant, catering rooms, and the actual bar area;
The Spa: Expensive, poorly run, and hard to make reservations for before or during a stay;
Housekeeping: GREAT!
The Front Desk Staff: Friendly and clueless; here's a great example - the front desk actually asked my husband to fix their mistake with one of the tours they contract with when they didn't accurately account for who had already paid on the tour (They gave my husband the tour guides cell number and asked him to call. Really? Wrong on so many levels).
Additionally, DO NOT do the SANTA FE tour (either via package or per the brochure in the lobby). It is horrible. "Nat" is a realtor for his "real job" and after the 1st hour, you are pretty much on a real estate tour.
Finally, as I mentioned, we were traveling with another couple and booked the exact same package, but our bills were $200 different after check-out. Admittedly, I haven't followed up here as think we were charged correctly while the other couple ended up getting a night for free, but still shows the lack of competence considering we made reservations, checked in, and checked out at the same time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your stay and please accept my apologies for the reservation complications which are certainly not acceptable.

I checked on your accounts and assure you that both parties were charged the same amount!

Your unhappiness with Nat, our tour guide, is a first! But again, apologies.

Sorry we did not take better care of you!!

kowaen mina so thuu puchi - Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cow country, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

On our way to Angel Fire, NM, we booked a Jr Suite on Dec 29. There was a little snow on the ground, just a dusting, but we woke up to a gorgeous white wonderland. This hotel was so cozy and the staff was very friendly. They genuinely seemed to care about the guests having a wonderful time.

The bathroom was on the small side but it was clean!
I posted done pictures so the hotel could be viewed in the winter. To have a nice breakfast in the dining room and see snow gently falling was very beautiful and serene.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
So delighted you had a wonderful time in Santa Fe’s “Winter Wonderland”. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have stayed at Hotel Santa Fe before and it is consistently a great experience. The staff is friendly and helpful, the bed was super comfortable, our room was immaculate. The bar has great burgers and Amaya has wonderful food at very reasonable prices. We loved the breakfasts too. We had an odd problem - there was an alarm clock on in the next room which was unoccupied and we could hear it through the wall. We called the front desk and it was fixed within minutes. I have recommended Hotel Santa Fe to friends and they have thanked me. We will definitely come back every time we are in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
With apologies for the neighboring alarm clock!!

Your kind words are greatly appreciated together with your recommendations to friends. Many thanks!!

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa

Address: 1501 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Santa Fe and the Hacienda and Spa, the only Native American Owned hotel in Santa Fe, is located just blocks from the Santa Fe Plaza in historic downtown Santa Fe and in the heart of the Guadalupe Railyard District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Fe & Hacienda Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe And Hacienda And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.