We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb spirt! Outstanding art! Great service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1501 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer on Sale
Ranked #14 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Terra Cotta
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Superb spirt! Outstanding art! Great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Firstly, do splurge on a room in the Hacienda which includes breakfast and a "butler" and more importantly access to a wonderful native art collection and chocolates to die for. The overall spirit at the hotel is kind and serene even during the busy holiday season. Shuttle service makes visits to distant museums, galleries and restaurants easy with virtually no wait times. Great to come back to a roaring fire and lively vibe.

While some minor things like the TV's need updating and a minimalist could help reduce the clutter of everything you might possible need during your stay, the overall ambience was simply delightful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are equally delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the compliments. New TVs for the balance of the rooms are on order and will be in place by June!

ko piane ca whachii - May Blessings Come Your Way
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    516
    212
    91
    34
    18
See reviews for
167
361
52
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Garland, Colorado, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have stayed at the Hotel Santa Fe quite a few times and have always enjoyed the building and premises and the luxurious rooms, as well as the excellent service. On this past trip we experienced automobile trouble as we arrived in Santa Fe, and it was uncertain how long we would be staying. The staff went well out of their way to accommodate our uncertain needs, from arranging an extra night on very short notice (and a full hotel), and then extending our checkout time to accommodate our auto pickup. When I finally went to check out, about 45 minutes late, the staff was very kind and personal -- the young man at the desk knew all about our predicament and was personally concerned that our situation had been resolved. We felt like we were in the hands of a great extended family. We look forward to many future stays at the Hotel Santa Fe (but without car trouble), and we recommend it highly to anyone who wants first-class accommodations and a family-like staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
I am delighted to learn that we took such good care of you and thank you so very much for taking the time to write to tripadvisor.com

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

kii thu wia‘‘ kanna thu wia - Our House is Your House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We returned to the Hotel Santa Fe and Hacienda for our nine year anniversary. we live in Santa Fe but stayed here when we were married. The Hacienda offers complimentary snack and drinks in the early evening. The beer was flat and the wine was clearly corked. We then tried dinner in the hotel-service was so slow we left. We then retruned to the hhotel after a very so so meal at a local restaurant. The room heat had a mind of its own and we sweated the night away, no not because of mad passionate nooky, but because of the control unit did not work. I had to open windows and we were kept up by the noise from across the street. In the morning no one at the hotel cared.

Room Tip: If you stay in the hacienda and want a tub make sure you request one. Most rooms do not have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
I am sorry to learn that we “missed the mark” during your recent stay and please accept my sincere apologies for the obvious inconvenience you were caused. Please call before your 10th Anniversary and we promise to take great care of you!!

kowaen mina so thuu puchi - Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Lotawana, Missouri
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Beautiful hotel and the staff are outstanding....however, booked trip months in advance, lots of confusion at check in....thought check out was nice and simple only to find out they double charged our stay really messing up our credit card for the rest of the vacation.

Room Tip: Our room was lovely however, the lights in the trees shown through the blinds and it made it very di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hmmm!!! That was not clever of us and please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you were caused. We can and normally do better!! Please give us another chance??

kowaen mina so thuu puchi - Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Very beautiful hotel in and out. The building architecture has different style that you can only find in Santa Fe. My wife liked it very much. She took many pictures around it. The dinning experience was not as nice as expected.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and disappointed to learn your dining experience was below par. With apologies.

ko piane ca whachii - May Blessings Come Your Way
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I am a tax attorney with a national and international practice involving high net worth business and estate planning clients. In my travels (often with my wife, Marianne), I (we) stay in select hotels in the United States, South America, and Europe.

Marianne and I have stayed many times at the Hotel Santa Fe in Santa Fe, New Mexico (a delightful, most attractive, “Old New Mexico” city).

We invariably comment at the end of each stay at Hotel Santa Fe that it is the finest hotel experience we have had compared with all of the other hotels, inns, bed & breakfasts, etc., which we have been to.

The décor is extremely comfortable, lush, old-style, restful wood furniture and earth-tone colors (this is not a cold, steel and glass hotel!); everything is in outstanding/pristine condition; the rooms are spacious and quiet; the service is super-friendly, accommodating, and efficient; the food in the Hotel’s restaurant and in the “Hacienda” breakfast area is excellent; and Hotel Santa Fe is within walking distance of the Santa Fe Plaza (town square), but it also has free taxi service to and from many historic sites and shopping areas in Santa Fe.

An additional significant benefit is that the Hotel is majority-owned by the Picuris Indian Pueblo (located north of Santa Fe), and the rooms, hallways, and common areas are filled with most attractive and unusual Native American visual art, sculpture, and artifacts (e.g., Kachina dolls), as well as bedside note cards (changed each day) with lovely and spiritual statements from past Native American chiefs and holy men about the sanctity of the Earth, caring for each other, and living a life of integrity.

Who could ask for anything more?

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Your comments are inspiring and thank you so very much for taking the time to write such a lengthy review.

It is indeed motivating to learn that we were able to take such good care of you and your kind words have been passed on to all the staff.

kii thu wia‘‘ kanna thu wia - Our House is Your House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yomitan-son, Japan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Hotel Santa Fe is a great place to stay! Very helpful staff for restaurant recommendations! All of the restaurants were spot on.Yes, they do need to update some features, like bathroom shower heads and minor renovations. They had quick service if you needed any thing , like a bottle opener or plates! Very happy with Hotel Hacienda and Spa.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay and because I have now received a couple of remarks concerning showerheads in the past few months “new Kohler flipside showerheads” have been ordered and should be in place by mid-February!

Also, the “dings” and scratches are being repaired as I write after a hectic Christmas season.

Many thanks for your thoughts and kind words.

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa

Address: 1501 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Santa Fe and the Hacienda and Spa, the only Native American Owned hotel in Santa Fe, is located just blocks from the Santa Fe Plaza in historic downtown Santa Fe and in the heart of the Guadalupe Railyard District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Amex, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Fe And Hacienda And Spa
Hotel Santa Fe & Hacienda Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.