We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want A Great Experience?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa to your Saves list
Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1501 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring in Santa Fe
Ranked #15 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
North Richland Hills, TX
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Want A Great Experience?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Tuesday, December 25, 2012


Mr. Paul Margetson
General Manager
Hotel Santa Fe
1501 Paseo de Peralta
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87501


Mr. Margetson:

My wife and I are writing in appreciation for the terrific time we had at the Hotel Santa Fe-Hacienda last week. This is the third time we’ve been able to enjoy your hospitality and thoroughly enjoy the time spent there. We simply wouldn’t stay any place else.

The front desk staff is always courteous and quick to get us off to our room. They were also very helpful with directions, questions, and summoning the little purple cab for our travels to and from the square. At the Hacienda, Mark, Lubo and Javier were most helpful and provided great service.

We also had an opportunity to talk with Michael (Security) one evening in the lounge. He provided some good ideas for restaurants and reflected the warm hospitality we’ve come to expect at Hotel Santa Fe. I believe Sondra was the name of the person who kept our room clean and inviting. We didn’t get a chance to meet her personally, but she did a great job.

This was the first time we brought our dog on the trip and were very impressed and pleased at how dog-friendly your organization is. This is a big plus in our book.

Please pass along our appreciation and praise to your staff. Their friendliness and attention to detail are the reasons we enjoy our visits to Santa Fe.

Sincerely,




cc: TripAdvisor

Room Tip: The Hacienda is luxury at a very reasonable price. This is the only place we stay when in Santa Fe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Your kind words are so very encouraging and have indeed been passed on to all the staff, especially Sandra, Mark, Lubo and Javier. Thank you so very much for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon! Wishing you and your family a very Happy New Year!!

kii thu wia‘‘ kanna thu wia - Our House is Your House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    246
    101
    36
    21
See reviews for
190
418
54
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Our recent stay was a wonderful treat. Having stayed in Santa Fe eight times previously, this was our first stay at the Hotel Santa Fe. It was a joy! The service was friendly and efficient. The design and overall artistic integrity of the hotel common spaces and rooms was an esthetic delight. The leadership of the hotel and dining room staff is serious and committed. We enjoyed observing how the wait staff was directed toward efficient, caring service--and we found the service impeccable. Everything in the dining room "clicks" and the menu and food preparation were superb. Although "off the Plaza", getting there is simple and clearly something the hotel is keen on facilitating. We have a long time love of contemporary Native American art and found the gift shop to be an astonishing, concise review of that topic from the Santa Fe School to the present. Clearly, much thought has gone into conceptualizing the entire esthetic experience for the visitor--and we thought it worked for us!!

Room Tip: Take the time to discuss what you want with the very pleasant reservation staff. Making the reserva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Wonderful words of encouragement so gratefully received!! Thank you very much for writing to tripadvisor.com. We did indeed spend a great deal of time hunting down the artwork and contents of the Hotel and add some touches every year!

Your complimetns have been specifically passed on to all the restaurant/kitchen staff.

Many thanks!!

kinna wachii xoum kowia - Peace, Love and Joy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We were delighted to find the Hotel Santa Fe to be the perfect refuge for our small group of snowbound travelers during the recent Arctic blast. The attentive staff soon made us forget our cares by serving a delicious candleight supper near the warming kiva fireplace. Although we had not originallly planned to spend the night our wonderful experience made us not want to leave ! The bed was uncommonly comfortable and the decor of our room and public areas very special. The hotel even provided all the necessities we had left home without. What began as an unexpected night away from home quickly became a lovely night to remember.

Room Tip: The Hacienda is delightful !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Wonder to learn that we persuaded you to stay with us and please come back soon! Wishing you and your family a joyous holiday season!

kinna wachii xoum kowia - Peace, Love and Joy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

the hotel was not bad but the spa is nothing special and after spending 500$ at the spa and presented my 10% coupon at the front desk they refused to honor it and said it had to be presented at the time of booking. this left a very bad taste in my mouth and felt it is not the proper way to treat customers. after all it was the front desk that gave me the coupon and now they used the fine print on the coupon to not honor their agreement

Room Tip: make sure you present your spa coupon at the time you visit spa not after they wont honor it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Yes!!! We did not handle this issue as best we could!! The Spa is operated by a third party and based on your experience we/they have changed the policy and going forward, with or without a coupon, the 10% is an automatic for Hotel guests.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you were caused and thank you for bringing this to my attention.

I believe you were shortchanged with the credit and I will send you the additional $15 if I can find your address!!

chenoho mima téwe yo tha - We thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is the only Native American owned hotel in Santa Fe and the artifacts and decor are authentic. Pet indulgent is the mantra-my pug enjoyed being able to sit in the lobby dining area.
The complimentary pet/human amenity basket-treats for pooches and humans-bowls, bed, dog biscuits, truffles for human guests, a bottle of wine and fresh fruit. We were given a map of pooch friendly parks, walks and hikes and even complimentary dog walking! Wifi and parking are included. The room was comfortable and well appointed.

The hotel's restaurant-Amayo is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner with seasonal dining in patio and private tepees. Great prix fixe dinner-tortilla soup, chicken, lemon tart for dessert.
Complimentary shuttle service-1 mile radius and to airport. Native American flautist performs in lounge on Friday and Saturday evenings.

A great central location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Many thanks for your kind words and so happy to know that your pug also had a good time! Have a wonderful holiday season!!

ko piane ca whachii - May Blessings Come Your Way
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Fantastic!!! The staff was more than nice, they went above and beyond. Absolutely no complaints!!!! Views from the rooms of mountains are amazing. We will definitely be returning to this location on our return visits to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you! And please come back soon!!

kowaen mina so thuu puchi - Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Can't say enough about this place. Perfect fireplace in lobby bar with Indian themed rooms. I understand that the property is native owned. This place has all the amenities of a major property but the charm of an Inn. The purple British cabs will take you anywhere but it's a short walk downtown. Remarkable

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
We thank you for your kind words and so appreciate being called a “gem” and “remarkable”. Thank you so much!

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa

Address: 1501 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#17 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Santa Fe and the Hacienda and Spa, the only Native American Owned hotel in Santa Fe, is located just blocks from the Santa Fe Plaza in historic downtown Santa Fe and in the heart of the Guadalupe Railyard District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Fe And Hacienda And Spa
Hotel Santa Fe & Hacienda Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.