“It MAY be for you. But there are exceptions.”
My husband and I are avid travelers, and always travel at least once a month, if not more. We stayed over Thanksgiving at the Hotel Santa Fe. I had read many positive reviews of the place, but I am going to be frank in my review. To begin, the hotel is in a lovely location, right downtown, within walking distance of the many shops, galleries and restaurants Santa Fe has to offer, (go to Sage Bakery each morning for a chocolate croissant--delish, and it's just across the street) and has relatively pretty decor and pretty views. The price was fair, but I have stayed in chain hotels for less and received more amenities than I did here. This is where things begin to go awry for the hotel. I was not told upon booking that I would be charged an extra $15 per night for parking and internet and etc. It's not that big of a deal, but the fact that this is not told to you upfront seemed like a cheap shot to me. Another criticism I have is the size of the rooms. Please be aware: The value priced rooms are TINY, and if you happen to have a lot of luggage (we never do, we are super light travelers) you will have no where to put it. Also the pet policy. I HAVE NEVER stayed at a "luxury hotel" where there is a pet policy as lax as it was here. I'm a dog lover--just not a lover of yappy dogs barking in the room next door to me. Everywhere we looked there were dogs--dogs pooping, dogs barking, dogs in the hall. NOT a huge fan of hearing yappy dogs in the rooms next door while I'm trying to relax on vacation. Another problem was the shower. The shower head was--well, I don't know how to explain it. I felt like I was being spit upon, and the spit went from SUPER HOT to SUPER COLD the entire shower. It may have just been the room that I was in, but it was not a good time. The final complaint I would like to contribute in my review is the state of the bed comforter. There were many BROWN STAINS on the top of the bed comforter. We noticed them after we got settled in, and didn't feel like changing rooms, so we just stripped the bed and used our sleeping bags instead. I am not one to review unfairly, so I would also like to add that perhaps this could have just been a one time deal. It was Thanksgiving weekend, and things were super busy. To finalise: the location, price, and kindness of the staff were huge POSTIVES. If you are on budget, do not travel with lots of luggage, do not mind dog noise, and are seeking an average/little bit above average place to stay, then this hotel might be for you. Again, the staff were kind and courteous, and the location is great.
If you choose a value priced room, be ready for a very small space.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
December 3, 2012
I am confused by the “comforter” remark as we three sheet our beds? But our sincere apologies for any stains you found as that is certainly unacceptable and not up to our standards.
Report response as inappropriate
We are indeed a dog friendly Hotel, but your comments are very unusual as they are normally well behaved! I wish you had told us at the time and we would certainly respond to any such issue.
We wish you well on your travels and are sorry for the inconvenience you were caused.
chenoho mima téwe yo tha - We thank you for staying with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.