We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Stars for Hotel Santa Fe & Hacienda and Spa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1501 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer on Sale
Ranked #15 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Five Stars for Hotel Santa Fe & Hacienda and Spa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

What a dream week we had staying at Hotel Santa Fe & Hacienda and Spa. Our goals and expectations for our Thanksgiving break were exceeded, thanks to the outstanding and kind staff at Hotel Santa Fe.

Check-in was a breeze and our lovely room was immaculate and ready for us to unpack quickly, organize and prepare for the many activities we had planned. The location of Hotel Santa Fe is perfect for walking into the plaza for meals, sightseeing and to closer restaurants and sites as well. We also were so impressed with the shuttle car and bus service. A simple call to the hotel with your street location and the car is there within 7 minutes.

Unwinding and happy, we enjoyed talking with our fellow travelers so much because the environment is so friendly and warm. There were always goodies, coffee and other refreshments available in the welcome area and a coffee center is available in the foyer of each floor of the hotel.

Our major excursions included enjoying the artwork of Georgia O'Keefe at her gallery and museum; taking hiking trips to Bandelier State Park and Tent Rocks State Park in the Cochiti Pueblo area. Both hiking trails are excellent and touring the caves at Bandelier and seeing the amazing igneous rock formations at Tent Rocks was breathtaking. The beautiful weather allowed us to complete the trips to Chimayo and visit the chapel, enjoy mass and buy gifts and we also visited the Don Quixote distillery and wine tasting center and enjoyed five tastes for $15. All in the same glorious sunfilled afternoon.

By all means schedule all the spa treatments you can because the experience is glorious, healing and so helpful. Gladys provided me with an exquisite facial and hair removal treatment that brought new life to me. Her deep healing products are so amazing and the results were astounding. But Gladys is the real prize. What a brilliant and kind woman of healing. Thank you, Gladys!! I am forever grateful and can't wait until I see you again! Bridgette was also excellent in providing me with wisdom as she gave me the best pedicure of my life and healed my scaly feet with a warm footbath and gentle softening for my scaly heels! Thank you, Bridgette!

As we wrapped up our Thanksgiving stay, we enjoyed the delicious Thanksgiving dinner, with a carving center that provided prime rib, roast duck, buffalo short ribs and turkey. All were exquisitely prepared and delicious. The green chile stuffing with apples, cranberries and soft nuts was wonderful, as were the cranberries, the fresh cheese and cracker trays, the yams were heavenly and the assortment of breads and rolls was limitless. Of course divine dessert choices included pumpkin and pecan pies and a delicious espresso pot de creme.

Thank you, Hotel Santa Fe & Hacienda and Spa staff, chefs, concierge and shuttle service for one of the most delightful weeks of our lives! God bless you all richly!!

Pam and Tom Bulla
Houston, Texas

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Wow!! Thank you for staying with us, for writing to tripadvisor.com and especially for such gracious and kind words which I have passed on to everyone at the Hotel and Spa!

It is truly rewarding and encouraging to receive such positive remarks. I hope you will have an equally wonderful break over the Christmas holidays and also hope that you will return to Santa Fe and stay with us again soon!

ko piane ca whachii - May Blessings Come Your Way
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    504
    208
    90
    33
    18
See reviews for
163
353
52
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Santa Fe and Hacienda November 10th or 3 nights. We stayed in the Hacienda and had access to the lounge for cocktail hour and a very hearty continental breakfast both of which were wonderful. The butlers were very accommodating and would reach out to see if we had everything we needed. They were always there to recommend a restaurant or somewhere to pick up pizza. (excellent recommendations by the way) There were 3 of us in a room with 2 double beds. Although I was aware of this when I booked the room...i guess i thought my daughter and I could share a bed. It was a little tight! One the second night one of the butlers offered a cot. Little did he know I was about to ask. There were many little touches that went above and beyond any hotel I've stayed including the decor with the authentic indian treasures, a fruit basket upon arrival, the rain shower head, the candies left on the bed, the kiva fireplace to name a few. Some have complained about the $15 HEAART charge...Just built it in with the charge. It gave us access to the internet and the shuttle if we wanted to take it to town. We found the walk to town was relatively quick so we didn't use the shuttle. The last surprise when we left. As i checked out..the person at the front desk offered us bottled water to take with us. I have stayed in many hotels but never a place that really catered to their guests. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
I have just responded to a couple of caustic or less than happy reviews, so to read your remarks is truly uplifting!

Thank you for your very kind words and I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and we took good care of you.

Wishing you and your family a very Happy Holiday Season!

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I have been to this hotel several times over the past 15 years.
I have to say I used to love this place.

I want to compliment the place first by saying that I love that it is dog friendly and for that I am grateful.
But after that, my compliments go way down.
It seem like the hotel is past its prime.
At first they tried to put us in the worlds smallest room where you could barely turn around.
We asked to be put in another room as it was only 58% full.
They did do that.
BUT, in every room, the TV's are ancient, the rooms are small, and it seem ...well just worn.
I understand the economy might make it so that they can't upgrade things in a timely fashion, but this place needs to pick things up a bit.
(And why is it that hotels have to use one-ply paper...why?)

I want to say nice things...I do...as this place has a sentimental place in my heart, but I think next time I visit Santa Fe, I will stay elsewhere.

It's fine for an average hotel...but I expected soooo much more.
The staff is nice!!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
I can assure you that our room sizes have not changed in all the years that you have stayed with us?! So, I am confused as to why you should suddenly find fault.

We have an ongoing extensive refurbishing of our rooms every year, so are sorry you were disappointed and also sorry you will be moving on?!

Whilst we continue to change out our TVs, I am perplexed that guests to Santa Fe to watch TV!!

kinna wachii xoum kowia - Peace, Love and Joy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was centrally located, about a mile from the plaza. You can walk to the plaza in about 20 minutes. If you do not feel like walking the hotel offers a free shuttle: small bus or London cab (very cool). The hotel was very quiet at night. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will return very soon.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon!

kii thu wia‘‘ kanna thu wia - Our House is Your House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Hotel Santa Fe is a quaint hotel located near great shopping and restaurants. They have a shuttle that will take you Downtown and to the Plaza. The rooms are clean, but could use a little updating. The staff is really nice and the hotel bar is small, but it's stocked! And the coffee bar on each floor in the mornings is a great plus!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony that overlooks the pool, the view is much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Yes, we love those “best friends”!

xoum wia‘‘ pia pianee - Love, Light and Laughter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

HSF was a charming hotel, and overall we had a good experience. The hotel Is located about 20 minutes walking distance from the plaza, but they offer a free car service which was great. The rooms are nice and clean but dated. Overall it is a good value for the price, but there are much nicer (and more charming) options in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
I am glad you believe we are “good value” but beg to disagree that there are more charming options in Santa Fe?!

chenoho mima téwe yo tha - We thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The recent experience at Hotel Santa Fe & Hacienda and Spa was exceptionally positive. My husband and I have stayed at this hotel on different occasions over the years while attending professional conferences in Santa Fe. Specifically, the front desk staff were courteous and responsive to our needs. Room service was very reliable and accommodating. Meals in the restaurant were savory with excellent service. Rooms were clean, well designed and appropriately decorated and we particularly enjoyed the balcony. Transportation via shuttle into nearby Santa Fe was provided. Overall, the aesthetic beauty, charm and Native American influence of this hotel is evident as there were so many extras which make Hotel Santa Fe & Hacienda and Spa top quality in all respects.

Room Tip: We would recommend a suite with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you so very much for your great comments/compliments and we are delighted to learn we took good care of you. Please come back soon!!

ko piane ca whachii - May Blessings Come Your Way
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa

Address: 1501 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Santa Fe and the Hacienda and Spa, the only Native American Owned hotel in Santa Fe, is located just blocks from the Santa Fe Plaza in historic downtown Santa Fe and in the heart of the Guadalupe Railyard District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Amex, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Fe And Hacienda And Spa
Hotel Santa Fe & Hacienda Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.