We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Sanctuary in Uncertain Times” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa to your Saves list
Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1501 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Explore Santa Fe
Ranked #15 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Alamos, New Mexico
1 review
“A Sanctuary in Uncertain Times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

After evacuating suddenly from our home in Los Alamos due to the raging Las Conchas Fire, the largest in NM history, we sought lodging at the Hotel Santa Fe. Even though we arrived well past midnight with two cars packed with belongings, Hotel Santa Fe staff greeted us warmly and made our week's stay a welcome and safe refuge during a week of uncertainty. Our suite was beautifully appointed in traditional Native American decor, fine original artwork decorates the very comfortable lobby, and our dining experience was the best we've had since moving to Northern New Mexico almost 20 years ago. The hotel is conveniently located within easy walking distance to Santa Fe's charming Plaza and even closer to other excellent restaurants and shopping pleasures. We enjoyed the quiet comforts of the hotel's attractively landscaped pool and hot tub and were impressed by its beautiful spa and many services. I really can't say enough about the hotel's exceptional staff and surroundings, the attention to detail, and the sense of serenity we found within its walls during an anxious week.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
I don’t know how you found the time to write your very kind and encouraging words?! We are so glad to know that we took appropriate care of you during such a difficult and challenging time and hope all was well when you returned home. We appreciate all the great work that you, our neighbors, accomplish in Los Alamos, on behalf of this great Nation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    223
    93
    35
    18
See reviews for
176
374
51
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

This was third visit and one of the best ever. This Hotel keeps making small improvements that make us want to keep coming back. We love the fresh coffee every morning in the hallway by the elevator on each floor; the free limo service all over town is very convenient, and delicious meals in the comfortable surroundings, indoor or outside. The beds are very comfortable and quite luxurious. You will be happy here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write to tripadvisor.com. Your kind words are greatly appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Everything about the hotel exceeded our expectations. On the edge of the new Railroad District, we could walk to nearby restaurants and shopping. Getting to the plaza was a short pleasant stroll. The room was well laid out with both a living room and bedroom TV. The towels were large and fluffy and the matching terry robes a very nice touch. The comfortable living area was a nice compliment to the king size bed with ample closet space. The art in the adobe style hotel was unique, interesting, varied and abundent in the rooms and halls. Having complimentary morning coffee and tea on each floor was a welcome touch. The bronze sculptures that dotted the grounds, especially the Native American maiden by the outdoor hot tub were an added plus. The landscaping and flower gardens by the pool and outdoor eating area were an oais in the middle of a city. Both the concierge and the server who circulated around the pool areas were friendly and so helpful. House keeping was very attentive yet not intrusive. Can't wait to schedule another trip, After this very pleasant experience, I can't envison staying anywhere else in magical Santa Fe. Breakfast and lunch were very well done and my only minor concern was the dinner menu. It was average.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Wow!! Thank you so very much for your kind words and please come back soon. I must agree with you on the dinner menu and you just missed the new and interesting one introduced last Thursday, July 7th!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwood, Missouri
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011 via mobile

Hotel Santa Fe was nice. As others have posted here, make sure you get a junior suite if traveling with family. Also, request a 3rd floor room facing East for the best views. The location was awesome for the best of Santa Fe convenience. The building and grounds are attractive and well maintained. The staff was friendly and accommodating to our needs and special requests. The convenient complimentary coffee available on each guest floor was a nice touch.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Thank you for your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed here for a week while vacationing and everything was perfect. We walked in without a reservation and they upgraded us to a suite for the standard rate. Everything was so nice we stayed longer than planned. Our room was pristine and the hotel property is very nice. Perfect for walking around the gardens and just hanging out while relaxing. The employee are very friendly especially the front desk. We will stay here again. No complaints.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Thank you so very much for your kind words and please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

I stayed at the Santa Fe Inn for 4 days following a business trip in northern New Mexico. The hotel and grounds are beautiful, and only a short walk from Old Town without being in the middle of it. The entire atmoshphere is one of peace and calm. The hotel is also just across the street from the old train station, with a large plaza for a farmer's market, shops, restaurants, and walkways for an evening stroll. There are large parking areas, several choices of accomodation; an on-site restaurant with very good food, and an on-site spa. Staff completely understand the concept of customer service. Every interaction was cheerful, efficient and caring. I was upgraded from a single room to a mini-suite with a lovely balcony overlooking a courtyard garden. Staff remembered where I had been hiking t;hat day, helped with plans and directions, and were genuinely interested in their customers. The restaurant has very good, native inspired food at incredibly reasonable prices compared to many other Santa Fe restaurants. Bonus: a great bakery just across the street if the lovely buffet breakfast at the hotel is more than you want. I would go out of my way to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, General Manager at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Thank you so very much for your wonderful compliments and I hope that you will return one day soon. In the meantime, I wish you a wonderful summer wherever you may be . All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Had to spend a couple of days on business in Santa Fe in May and didn't want to drive back and forth (I live in Albuquerque) so I stayed 2 nights at the lovely Hotel Santa Fe. Quiet, beautifully appointed and centrally located but without the traffic of downtown hotels in its class. Love that it's Native American owned and that shows in the decor and feel of the place.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, General Manager at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind words and I hope you will have more business in Santa Fe again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa

Address: 1501 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Santa Fe and the Hacienda and Spa, the only Native American Owned hotel in Santa Fe, is located just blocks from the Santa Fe Plaza in historic downtown Santa Fe and in the heart of the Guadalupe Railyard District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Fe & Hacienda Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe And Hacienda And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.