We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Rey Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added El Rey Inn to your Saves list
El Rey Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Splendid Fall Special
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Highly recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

If you want a hotel that is friendly, to both tourists and locals, reflects the charm and character of Santa Fe, and is nothing like a major chain hotel, then stay at the El Rey. The thick adobe walls kept the traffic noise out of our street-side room, the healthy continental breakfast (granola and soy milk as well as Cheerios and OJ, fresh hot tortillas if you ask), and the exceptionally friendly service made for a very pleasant stay. Although there is not a full-service restaurant on site, The Pantry, a short block away, serves great Santa Fe food in a casual atmosphere. I think we were the only people there who didn't run into people they knew! Obviously, it's where the locals go to eat.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    158
    42
    10
    7
See reviews for
101
221
26
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

We stayed at the El Ray for 5 nights, and had a great time. The Inn itself of composed of two old Route 66 motels that have been amalgamated and totally renovated. The grounds are immaculate, and have obtained an urban wildlife certification. A lot of work has gone into renovating and maintaining this property, and they have a number of amenites including two hot tubs (one indoors and one outdoor) + a pool (closed during the Winter). We were staying during off season, and enjoyed a 25% discount for booking over the internet. Even at full price this Inn is reasonable by Santa Fe standards. A continental breakfast is offered during high season, and a coupon worth the equivalent at a charming eatery next door was offered during our stay.

The room we stayed in was small but clean and well appointed. You have to remember that this started out as a motel back in the early 50's, so only so much can be done to renovate. There are larger and much more luxurious rooms available, with in-room hot tubs, etc for a higher price, but we had elected for the basic 2-queen bed room at the cheaper rate. The staff were great and the hotel was very quiet during our stay.

The only negatives were very minor. The Inn sits off of very busy Cerrillos Road, and visibility when exiting isn't great. However, a traffic light a couple of blocks away breaks the traffic flow and allows you exit if you wait a couple of minutes. Although drink machines are scattered throughout the property, vending machines for snacks, etc are only available at a couple of locations and were poorly stocked when we were there. The Inn is well staffed with maintenance and cleaning staff so put your Do Not Disturb sign out if you don't want to be wakened early'ish by the maids.

Aside from those minor quibbles, we had a great time and highly recommend this hotel. We can't wait to return

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

This motel has been in Santa Fe for many years and they have done an excellent job of keeping it updated while still retaining the charm of an older motel. Lovely grounds and wonderful staff.
We have stayed there separately and together many times over the years and always have a wonderful stay. I highly recommend El Rey.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

We came upon this adorable vintage motor court accidentally. Rolled into Santa Fe late one evening and did not know where to find a hotel. After wondering a bit, found the El Rey. Because it looks like an upscale renovated boutique hotel, i went in to inquire about rates. I was very pleased to find they are no more than the franchise hotels. The room was well appointed traditional Santa Fe style, the staff was very sweet and helpful, and the breakfast includes some wonderful health conscious additions. I would definitely stay at the El Rey if i were back in the Santa Fe area!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

My partner and I travel to Santa Fe about once a year and always stay at the El Rey Inn. We always get a different room and have never been disappointed. This year, we made it a family vacation, bringing my sister-in-law and her two kids (15 and 9). We got a 2 bedroom suite with a living room, dining room, wood burning stove and full kitchen. It was perfect! The breakfast is always wonderful, too - a very simple selection of breads/bagels, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, etc. but enough to get us through a full morning of skiing! The staff has always been very helpful - even showing us other rooms so we could make our choice for next year! My partner travels a lot professionally and gets tired of all the cookie-cutter chain places. We look forward to our trip to the El Rey and Santa Fe every year!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, OK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

Each room here is slightly different, which makes for a unique hotel. We only stayed one night but it was great. We had room 32, with two queen size beds and a wood burning fireplace. The decor was cheeky vintage, which we thoroughly enjoyed. The bathroom was huge and great for a family. The grounds are beautifully landscaped. The breakfast was great as well, with toast, boiled eggs, oatmeal, yogurt, and the ability to make breakfast tortillas. The staff was friendly and helpful. We'd stay here again the next time we're in town, hopefully for more nights!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

Friends suggested this hotel for the value and atmosphere both which we found to be
great! The breakfast was fabulous and included in the room price. I would definitely stay again! The soak in the hot tub was a nice way to end the day.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Rey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Inn

Address: 1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your El Rey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rey Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.