We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Rey in Santa Fe is a different world - old New Mexican charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Rey Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added El Rey Inn to your Saves list
El Rey Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Splendid Fall Special
Ranked #10 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersGold level
Dobbs Ferry
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“El Rey in Santa Fe is a different world - old New Mexican charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

August 2014. This is our 2nd visit to the El Rey, the first being in 2006. Both times excellent. Although our two queen room was around 150/night, compared to, say, under a hundred a night at one of the chains (and don't get me wrong - I love Motel Six's and Sup'r Eights - happily staying in many of them during our five-week drive around-the-USA in our car in 2010), this place is just plain worth it. The pool is the largest rectangular motel pool you can find - at least 40 or 50 feet and a nice deep end - good for laps. Everywhere there are nooks and crannies of rooms with plants hanging outside, in planters along the driveways. There are small gardens between the different groups of rooms. The included continental breakfast is good, and one sits in one of three charming rooms, two indoors or one under an outdoor arbor with flowers everywhere. Our bathroom was large and tiled prettily. The AC and TV worked fine. If the El Rey was within several blocks of the PLAZA it would cost you 2 to 3 times as much, and you wouldn't find a vacancy in summer, trust me. Anyhow, it's only a 10 minute drive to the PLAZA area, and parking within a few blocks of the PLAZA is not onerous. PS- the bldg just north and next to the El Rey is an excellent and delicious restaurant with New Mexican and American foods.

Room Tip: For our 2 adults and 1 child, in 2006 the room w a double bed and a twin was the most reasonable. Fo...
See more room tips
Green Features: They spend a lot of effort making this place "green" -- an "oxygen generator" with flowers and plants.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    153
    39
    10
    7
See reviews for
98
208
22
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pagosa Springs
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

El Rey was built in 1936, thoughtful owners over the years have maintained and upgraded this property. It now contains mature plantings, shady walks, sculptures and myriad flowers. We stayed in one of the original rooms nicely furnished with Santa Fe style furniture. My only disappointment - pillows way too soft, and bedside light fixture that did not work and was not fixed after asking at the office. (we stayed 3 nights). Light fixtures all had real bulbs so reading was possible!

Green Features: Santa Fe mandates changing sheets after 4 days on extended stays - a backer in the room for recyclable bottles and cans.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

I did not love Santa Fe as much as I thought I would (too touristy after Taos and Chimayo areas), so the El Rey was a real oasis with its friendly staff, great pool, and many amenities. It was close to the Shake Foundation too, which was a perfect lunch spot. The El Rey's breakfasts were good and varied. Our room was wonderful. It was located on the upper floor of the Spanish Colonial Courtyard. We had a corner room (number 69, I think), which was equipped with a little kitchenette (with small stove, fridge, microwave, dishes, and cookware). Just outside the room was a sitting area. We enjoyed sitting out there with a glass of wine or cup of tea after a long day in town. We did not find going into the city too much of a hassle although finding parking was sometimes a pain. Finally, the staff at the front desk was extremely helpful and friendly always. We enjoyed our stay here very much, and found it a great place to stay with kids.

Room Tip: I recommend the upper floor of the Spanish Colonial courtyard section of the hotel. it was peaceful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

El Ray Inn is beautifully set out , good price for rooms , very clean & neat hotel , traditional adobe style ,plenty of facility's & room , grounds are lovely & pool is spacious , spas & sauna are great , washing facility's are good
Highly recommended to stay at

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We were heading back to Texas and needed a place to stay in Santa Fe over the 4th of July. Tried to book the El Rey over the internet but it showed full. Pulled in and were pleasantly surprised to find they did have a room--they explained they don't put all their rooms up on the net and hold back the best rooms for return walk-in travelers like us. Room by the pool with a courtyard, flowers blooming--it was as restful and comfortable as we have come to expect.

Room Tip: Toward the back off Cerrillos quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Older Inn but well kept. Staff was friendly and the grounds are so beautiful. A little far from the Square area. The breakfast was nice and great to sit outside an enjoy the scenery. The flowers are gorgeous all around.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We keep returning to El Rey Inn, year after year, because it delivers consistently and a bit more. This time, at the end of June, the gardens were in bloom, providing welcome shade from the hot sun. We discovered two wonderful Mexican restaurants within walking distance! Our room located off the courtyard was quiet (no noise from Cerrillos Rd.).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Rey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Inn

Address: 1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Rey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rey Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.