We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro,Gem,Cozy and Affordable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Rey Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added El Rey Inn to your Saves list
El Rey Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Retro,Gem,Cozy and Affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I LOVE,LOVE,LOVE the El Rey Inn!!! What a pleasant surprise of a sweet gem during a busy business week of traveling. The El Rey is a throw back to an old motor lodge court motel, updated with modern furniture keeping with the Southwest feel. The bed was a Memory Foam..need I say more!! The grounds are adorable with lush gardens everywhere you turn. I love that you are encouraged to sit and enjoy the outdoor gardens at every turn with either benches or table sets, fountains and more. It is was an amazing restful stay at the El Rey. The hand-made tortillas in the morning with a variety of breads, cereals and juices were a perfect way to start the day. The only down fall is the lack of tv channels. Overall, I would encourage you to select this hotel for your next trip. Perfect location out of the busy downtown area but close enough (within 5 minutes) and also about 10 minutes to the interstate.

Green Features: The El Rey is an Environmentally Friendly hotel, so they will not change your linens but every 4 days and your towels are removed if they are placed in the bath tub.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    159
    45
    10
    7
See reviews for
103
227
29
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The staff at the El Rey Inn are the best! Doris the night clerk is so helpful and friendly she goes out of her way to make you feel at home and comfortable. I can't say enough about this lovely vintage motel. This motel is a great value!

Green Features: Beautiful motel I love this place Doris is the best!
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crescenta, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

New Mexico is one of the most beautiful states in the country and is truly 'The Land of Enchantment.'
This vintage hotel is close to the Plaza of Santa Fe and is easy to find. First built in the 1930's,the El Rey is a known landmark and a very comfortable stay. Our sink got backed up but all it took was one call to the front desk. Within 5 minutes there was a knock at the door and a staff member who was there,eager to fix it. That is service! Outstanding. The outdoor pool is huge and the jacuzzi is wonderful. The hospitality is also top notch and with that comes a complementary breakfast with fresh tortillas and bananas. Only one observation of Santa Fe which can only be described as a bit 'snooty': There seems to be a group of people up here who do have alot of money. Nothing wrong with that,but when they close certain historic old churches and other landmarks to host their 'private' parties, this is almost unforgivable.
It's not fair for the tourists who might be on a budget who keep this city alive with our dollars. One of my friends nailed it. He calls them the 'art and wine snobs'. Just be aware of these very rude people. They like to hold their wine glasses and stare at families walking by with kids with scowls on their faces. Don't let them ruin your visit. Enjoy Sante Fe and the magic of this beautiful city!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Santa Fe is an expensive place to stay but it can be made more affordable by staying on the outskirts of downtown, and this place is a definite for your list. The pool and hot tub area are super because the pool is actually larger than the postage stamp you get at most places. The young man at the front desk was friendly and helpful. The grounds are well kept and lush. Our room was clean and large, and the shower actually gave you a rush of water as opposed to some of the trickles we have encountered at other places The only reason I didn't give it a 5 bubble is because the furnishings need a little updating and the breakfast is a madhouse with rude guests...BUT that last part is not the hotels fault. The breakfast area is small and quaint so get there early or find somewhere else to dine!

Room Tip: Room was quiet and we were in the center of hotel. We had a king with two sleeper sofas which helped...
See more room tips
Green Features: Not sure aside from the usual hotel signs asking us to conserve water and towels.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

On a road trip with a friend that remembered this wonderful hidden spot in Santa Fe. Beautiful grounds and the rooms with the balconies were great. A great value and very convenient to everything. Wonderful swimming pool and the landscaping is beautiful and very well kept. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms over looking the pool have afternoon noise from kids in pool but the view is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We are on our 2nd night here and it's absolutely a wonderful little hidden jewel in a beautiful town. We came to visit the Santa Fe University of Art and Design, and this hotel is within 5 minutes of the campus, 5 minutes from the historic downtown..great location. The hotel has a great history, the orig 12 rooms, set up like an old fashioned family court motel. It has over the years expanded several times but they kept the original theme and New Mexico stucco design! white Puebla type buildings! Several courtyards, they must have well over 65 rooms, the landscape is amazing and you can tell they have groomed it well over the years! tall giant conifer trees, lush vines wrap around the cedar post poles outside! amazing butterfly gardens (the gardens remind me of looking at historic homes where gardens have been cared for for over 50 yrs).. It is an older hotel but well kept and maintained, the history you can just feel. If your looking for modern, lush W type hotels or spa's with a butler, this is not for you, but if you want history, a story, old fashioned slower pace and feel (from the old fashioned courtyard entrance, old type mail slots behind the check in counter, old fashioned floor tiles in the bathrooms, old time slider chairs on every porch, beautiful antique cast iron lamp posts all over the property)...then this is where you want to stay. It's amazing, I can't wait to book my next trip here!!!!

Room Tip: We liked our area, courtyard by the indoor spa, but another beautiful area is the open courts behind...
See more room tips
Green Features: Excellent, linens are only washed on 4th day of stay per state ordinance (state or city).
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed last night how lovely! Great decor, huge room, very clean, nice breakfast. Big pool and children's nice play area. Late check out was a bonus. Highly recommend staying here. There is great gluten free bakery across the road. What a bonus!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Rey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Inn

Address: 1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#16 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Rey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rey Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.