We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE this unique and beautiful hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Rey Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added El Rey Inn to your Saves list
El Rey Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersGold level
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“LOVE this unique and beautiful hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We can't wait to stay here again! This is a historic hotel and the grounds are absolutely beautiful and well kept with maintenance out and about all day, making sure things are working and that the landscaping remains beautiful.

Our room was lovely and the bed was firm and comfortable. There is a nice secluded jacuzzi where you can steal away. It's a bit more private than the one next to the pool.

The young man, Jose, who was working at the front desk went above and beyond. He helped us find a nice hike as well as directions to Taos. He had maps to give us and drew us routes on them.

Breakfast was amazing! Delicious homemade tortillas and green chile as well as yogurts, granola, cereal, coffee and tea. The staff who gets you the tortillas in the morning are very friendly and helpful. There is one woman in particular who asked us every morning if we wanted a banana and tortilla. She was so nice. And you can have unlimited tortillas, which you will want because they are so tasty!

This hotel is just a short drive to the plaza. You should stay here!! We definitely will again!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    158
    43
    10
    7
See reviews for
102
224
27
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I just wrapped up my fourth stay at the el Rey. The staff is friendly and very attentive to guests' needs. The manager, Silvia, is quick to resolve issues. For example, we had a problem with the thermostat in our room and her team worked quickly to get it fixed. Silvia discounted our room fee because of the inconvenience. The inn is clean, comfortable, and uniquely appointed. The pool is very well maintained and the grounds are lovely. You forget that you're staying right on Cerillos Road because it's very quiet and peaceful. The el Rey is also very family friendly. I will definitely stay at the el Rey the next time I pass through Santa Fe, and I highly recommend it to anyone headed that way.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pgh
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I have wanted to stay at the El Rey for a long time,,its usually full during markets in August, but did make it to Folk Market this month. The hotel is spotless and the grounds are amazing, beautiful flowers!!! We had a room by the pool and hot tub, both clean and not crowded. They serve a nice breakfast by the workers in the breakfast room were very attentive. I would stay again!

Room Tip: rooms on second floor have balconys, first floor have a patio setting.
See more room tips
Green Features: they have a container to recycle and alerts about the water shortage in NM.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We going to splurge big for a room on the plaza, but for less money we were able to get a two room suite. Separate room for the kids > fancy pants plaza hotel.
We loved the El Rey--the grounds, the pool, the breakfast-all was amazing.
I don't think we'll be returning to Santa Fe, but if we did, I'd only stay here,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This must be close to our seventh or eighth time to visit the El Rey. This is my husbands favorite place to stay in Santa Fe. Each room is unique, some have larger kitchens than others. Some rooms have fireplaces. Serves a reasonable free breakfast- nothing that wows but will fill you up and get your day going. The flowers and various gardens are wonderful, we enjoy walking the property to see the various blooming flowers. Many butterflies and birds. Even tho off Cerrillos Road it's very quiet- never have a problem sleeping. They have a pool, two hot tubs and a sauna. Staff was able to check us in much earlier than normal which was greatly appreciated. Front desk will help direct you to places to eat, see or do. They offer trash and recycle- appreciate that they are Eco friendly. Trying to figure when we will return and what room to try next time. This time we had full kitchen, king bed and a kiva style fireplace. Near the pool we had two patio areas which we used every day with friends. They will be staying here next time they come to SF. Two downsides- challenge parking close to your room- sometimes closer parking is full- and we never could get wifi in our room or patio which is an issue for us.

Room Tip: Ask desk when you call about different amenities in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We booked the El Rey on our Route 66 trip. The grounds are beautifully maintained and have gorgeous floral baskets all around. The room was clean and the free breakfast was great. It is a bit out of city center but worth the drive.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindale, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay. If you want to stay at an authentic Route 66 retro inn, El Rey is the place. The well maintained grounds and spanish style architecture create a relaxing atmosphere. We spent time each day setting on the front porch, around the pool, or by one of the relaxing fountains. Our room was located on the back side of the property, therefore it was very quiet, even though the inn is located on a busy street. A couple of good restaurants are in walking distance of the inn. I hope to visit the El Rey Inn again soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Rey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Inn

Address: 1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Rey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rey Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.