We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Rey Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added El Rey Inn to your Saves list
El Rey Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This must be close to our seventh or eighth time to visit the El Rey. This is my husbands favorite place to stay in Santa Fe. Each room is unique, some have larger kitchens than others. Some rooms have fireplaces. Serves a reasonable free breakfast- nothing that wows but will fill you up and get your day going. The flowers and various gardens are wonderful, we enjoy walking the property to see the various blooming flowers. Many butterflies and birds. Even tho off Cerrillos Road it's very quiet- never have a problem sleeping. They have a pool, two hot tubs and a sauna. Staff was able to check us in much earlier than normal which was greatly appreciated. Front desk will help direct you to places to eat, see or do. They offer trash and recycle- appreciate that they are Eco friendly. Trying to figure when we will return and what room to try next time. This time we had full kitchen, king bed and a kiva style fireplace. Near the pool we had two patio areas which we used every day with friends. They will be staying here next time they come to SF. Two downsides- challenge parking close to your room- sometimes closer parking is full- and we never could get wifi in our room or patio which is an issue for us.

Room Tip: Ask desk when you call about different amenities in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    184
    48
    12
    7
See reviews for
122
260
34
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We booked the El Rey on our Route 66 trip. The grounds are beautifully maintained and have gorgeous floral baskets all around. The room was clean and the free breakfast was great. It is a bit out of city center but worth the drive.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindale, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay. If you want to stay at an authentic Route 66 retro inn, El Rey is the place. The well maintained grounds and spanish style architecture create a relaxing atmosphere. We spent time each day setting on the front porch, around the pool, or by one of the relaxing fountains. Our room was located on the back side of the property, therefore it was very quiet, even though the inn is located on a busy street. A couple of good restaurants are in walking distance of the inn. I hope to visit the El Rey Inn again soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Bautista, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We absolutely loved our recent four night stay at this charming inn. From our well appointed, spacious suite (#20) to the beautiful, well-kept grounds, everything was wonderful. This place captures the heart and soul of Santa Fe - hospitality, warmth, color, cool architecture, etc. Josh, especially, was most accommodating to myself and my family, including my two lively boys. The pool was undergoing a transformation at that time but looked great upon completion. Breakfast was hearty, especially the chili sauce. It is a beautiful oasis - we cannot wait to return !

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek AZ
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is our second stay at the El Rey Inn......from the road, it does not look like much, but once "inside" the grounds, it is beautiful and so peaceful....we reserved an upgraded room with a fireplace, and a satillo tile floor....the couple we traveled with reserved a standard room, carpet and did not have the "old world" ambience ours did...we had a private patio also.

There is a complimentary breakfast also, very nice.

The staff at the desk are the best, so attentive and informative!

Great stay!

Room Tip: Get an upgraded room, no cars parking in front of your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The El Rey is like stepping back in time. The rooms are so unique, the gardens are gorgeous, and the staff is very helpful. I was traveling with my 84 year old mother. The El Rey was perfect for her. Our room was on the ground floor and we could park right outside the room. I would recommend the El Rey to anyone wanting a relaxing, step-back-in-time stay!

Green Features: I loved the fact that there were recycle bins everywhere for cans, glass, and newspapers! Water conservation measures were also in place.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My husband and I stayed twice at El Rey in the past week on a trip to Colorado. I've stayed at this charming inn about 6 or 7 seven times since 2008. We've stayed at several well known resorts (the Waldorf Astoria "Boulders" in Carefree, La Berge de Sedona - I don't think I spelled that correctly - Dove Mountain in Marana, La Fonda and La Posada in Santa Fe, etc.) and while the El Rey is not a 5-Star property I've always loved it.

Frankly, the El Rey doesn't look that impressive from the street. Once you enter the property, though, it's warm and welcoming, clean and utterly charming! My favorite rooms are in the back, two-story section (remodeled a few years ago) of the inn surrounding a courtyard with trees and flowers. I've stayed in rooms 69, 67 (a suite), 65 and I believe 54 and I can't remember the room numbers for the others. Room 69 is a large room on a corner, we just stayed in 67 and 54 on different legs of our trip this past week.

Suite #67 (pictured) is lovely - after a long road trip it was perfect. It has a living room with a small kitchenette, fireplace and a Murphy Bed (which I wanted to pull down to see but we were tired) with a nice sized bedroom and bathroom (I think we paid between $180-190 for the suite). This is an older property so the bathrooms are on the small side compared to expensive resorts but nicely done and very clean. Room 54 was a smaller room (and the floors squeaked) but it's a great value - we paid about $112 - great price for Santa Fe - and it has a balcony overlooking the pool. We stayed in room 65 about 3 years ago and it was adorable and even has a radiant fireplace.

The grounds are gorgeous and every time I stay there I find another cool area to explore! This time we found the outdoor hot tub (they also have an indoor one) which I bet is lovely in the winter since it has a fireplace close by! Now I will tell you one time we were given a room and the ceiling was very low so we transferred to room 65 - I don't recall the other room number.

The staff is so nice and service is great. They offer a small breakfast in the morning with wonderful coffee, fruit and other small items. You can stay indoors or sip your coffee on the patio. Even my husband (who always wants to stay at high-priced places) loves El Rey. Also, I have round the higher priced hotels around the Plaza are not that great and so over priced - I much prefer this hotel and it has a wonderful Santa Fe feel. Let me know if you have questions.

Room Tip: My favorite rooms are in the two story section in the back on the second floor (see review for room...
See more room tips
Green Features: I saw notes about their environmental practices but I honestly didn't read them.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,147 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#31 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 987 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 433 reviews
Downtown
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Inn

Address: 1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your El Rey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rey Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.