We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Rey Inn

Save Saved
You added El Rey Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Rey Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersGold level
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This little gem nestled in the city of Santa Fe is a quaint, meticulously maintained old-time Route 66 motel. If you are looking for jet tubs and flat screen TVs this is not your place, but if you are looking for a perfectly manicured, lovely and peaceful setting, you cannot go wrong by staying here. The rooms are spacious and clean and the grounds are an oasis, with fountains, gardens, and lovely quiet settings to sit with coffee and enjoy the smell of the juniper. Will stay again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    149
    37
    10
    7
See reviews for
95
198
21
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manassas Park, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Spent 4 nights here in early April. This is an old-time, roadside motel from the days of old Route 66. It's been kept up very well over the years, with comfortable, large rooms and a laid-back atmosphere and welcoming vibe. Complimentary breakfast was basic with bread, bagels, tortillas, yogurt, etc. In warmer weather, the dining area would have nicely opened up to a patio, but during our visit, it snowed one day, so mornings were just a bit too chilly. The staff made us feel very welcome, serving fresh fruit in addition to the other breakfast essentials. The room, with two queen beds had an odd mix of furniture owing, I think to the long existence of the motel. The room was clean, with a refrigerator, and large bathroom/dressing area. There's a lovely garden in the center court that in warmer weather will be a nice spot in the evenings. All in all, a very nice stay and I warmly recommend to any one visiting the Santa Fe area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
425 reviews 425 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 180 cities Reviews in 180 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We were only here two nights, but we wouldn't hesitate to return. Lots of character and charm made for a very nice change from chain motels. This is an old, well-kept motel along the main road from Madrid into Old Town. Our corner room was in the back away from the street. It was very quiet and comfortable with a big bathroom. Excellent mattress, and we both slept well. Nice breakfast room with above-average offerings. Ask for a tortilla to go with the green chili sauce. We enjoyed reading on our verandah, where the view was of the tree-lined parking lot. While you're in the neighborhood, try Tortilla Flats for dinner (almost to Walmart on the same side of Cerrillos Road as Walmart).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

El Rey is always a fun place to stay. The prices are very reasonable for Santa Fe, and even though it is not right by the plaza or Canyon Road it is worth it to stay here and drive in to town as you like. It is an old Route 66 motel that has been upgraded regularly over the years and now has that Santa Fe ambience that everyone looks for. Right off of Cerillos Road, it is a quiet enclave with a lovely pool and hot tub, a generous breakfast bar and lovely rooms. When you first pull in off the road you may not be impressed - but once you see the rooms and the gardens and amenities you'll realize that it is a find!

Room Tip: The suites are beautiful - but even for the budget minded the rooms are good. Ask for a room toward...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We rely on ratings from multiple reviews to help us decide where we wish to stay. Ratings can sometimes can love it or hate it, but if they are mostly favorable with very few unfavorables, you can generally disregard the low ratings. El Rey in our search came in at 4.1 out 5 stars and after staying there for 1 night, it does have a 4+ rating for us. The grounds are nicely landscaped and maintained. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was quite good and the staff was very helpful and courtesy. We ride a motorcycle and it great when we can park our bike right in front of our room entrance.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Loved this place. Especially nice in good weather due to the outdoor spaces.

- old style motel that's been remodeled (but not the expensive Ralph Lauren type remodel). Lots of local "route 66" type style. (and yeah I know 66 didn't go through Santa Fe, it runs through Albuquerque, but you get the idea)
- end of Cerrillos Road closest to downtown (but not really walking distance to downtown). ~5 min drive to plaza area Santa Fe.
- super close to St Michaels (again ~5 min drive) with Trader Joes, CVS pharmacy, supermarkets/Whole Foods, etc.
- large sprawling property -- lots of little garden spaces with sitting areas, pool, indoor & outdoor hot tubs, sauna, barbeque, play area for kids, etc.
- all one story, so no stairs to climb
- small refrigerator in room (but not full kitchen)
- some rooms supposedly have fireplaces, as does the main lobby sitting room.
- lots of parking space
- our room was ~$90/night during the week (off season), a little more for weekend nights, which is a deal for Santa Fe.
- Was at the back of the property so it was quiet / away from the street.
- walking distance from multiple restaurants if you don't feel like driving. The Pantry opens early (~6am?) for breakfast and is open all day. Across the street are a couple of Mexican places, a Japanese place, and a Baskin Robbins ice cream.
- wifi throughout property. We had fine access in our room (at the back of the property) but some other reviews mentioned having problems. Also note that if the hotel is full and lots of people are using it the wifi would be slower.
- staff were friendly and polite

In the negative reviews, there was a mention of the beds being uncomfortable. We stayed there multiple nights and didn't have a problem, but YMMV.

Bottom line: this is a great atmospheric place to stay, affordable, close to downtown / plaza. I'd stay here again. If the quirkier aspects of older properties are a concern, would recommend to stay further out on Cerrillos in one of the newer and standard national brand hotel properties (Holiday Inn etc.).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed here for three nights on the first leg of our journey through the Southwest. The historical inn has lots of charm, with several courtyards, a fountain, a pool, and hot tub. Josh, the clerk I spoke with over the phone when I made the reservation, was the clerk when we got there. He was a sweet young man.
I have to agree with another reviewer here that talked about the birds. There was this huge tree outside our room #49 and I loved sitting out on our patio listening to all the birds. Yes, one of them did wake my husband up rather early, but I absolutely loved it.
The inn also had a nice dining area for breakfast and the food included my favorites, eggs, toast, yogurt with granola, fresh fruit. A server always asks you if you want a warm tortilla with your breakfast. I especially remember the classic Spanish guitar music that always played in the morning! Nice touch!
The inn had many outside decorative features, old wagons placed against the walls, hand painted tiles in places. The inside of the room had old charming pieces of furniture, a stucco fireplace, and the bathroom has a big skylight so I enjoyed putting on my make up there. The only drawback I found was that several times I ran out of hot water earlier than I would have liked, though I admit to taking rather long showers.

Room Tip: We loved room #49 with the patio surrounded by trees and birds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Rey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Inn

Address: 1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#17 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your El Rey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rey Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.