We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Rey Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added El Rey Inn to your Saves list
El Rey Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Cozy rooms with fireplace
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersGold level
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A little Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

El Rey is always a fun place to stay. The prices are very reasonable for Santa Fe, and even though it is not right by the plaza or Canyon Road it is worth it to stay here and drive in to town as you like. It is an old Route 66 motel that has been upgraded regularly over the years and now has that Santa Fe ambience that everyone looks for. Right off of Cerillos Road, it is a quiet enclave with a lovely pool and hot tub, a generous breakfast bar and lovely rooms. When you first pull in off the road you may not be impressed - but once you see the rooms and the gardens and amenities you'll realize that it is a find!

Room Tip: The suites are beautiful - but even for the budget minded the rooms are good. Ask for a room toward...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    158
    43
    10
    7
See reviews for
102
224
27
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We rely on ratings from multiple reviews to help us decide where we wish to stay. Ratings can sometimes can love it or hate it, but if they are mostly favorable with very few unfavorables, you can generally disregard the low ratings. El Rey in our search came in at 4.1 out 5 stars and after staying there for 1 night, it does have a 4+ rating for us. The grounds are nicely landscaped and maintained. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was quite good and the staff was very helpful and courtesy. We ride a motorcycle and it great when we can park our bike right in front of our room entrance.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Loved this place. Especially nice in good weather due to the outdoor spaces.

- old style motel that's been remodeled (but not the expensive Ralph Lauren type remodel). Lots of local "route 66" type style. (and yeah I know 66 didn't go through Santa Fe, it runs through Albuquerque, but you get the idea)
- end of Cerrillos Road closest to downtown (but not really walking distance to downtown). ~5 min drive to plaza area Santa Fe.
- super close to St Michaels (again ~5 min drive) with Trader Joes, CVS pharmacy, supermarkets/Whole Foods, etc.
- large sprawling property -- lots of little garden spaces with sitting areas, pool, indoor & outdoor hot tubs, sauna, barbeque, play area for kids, etc.
- all one story, so no stairs to climb
- small refrigerator in room (but not full kitchen)
- some rooms supposedly have fireplaces, as does the main lobby sitting room.
- lots of parking space
- our room was ~$90/night during the week (off season), a little more for weekend nights, which is a deal for Santa Fe.
- Was at the back of the property so it was quiet / away from the street.
- walking distance from multiple restaurants if you don't feel like driving. The Pantry opens early (~6am?) for breakfast and is open all day. Across the street are a couple of Mexican places, a Japanese place, and a Baskin Robbins ice cream.
- wifi throughout property. We had fine access in our room (at the back of the property) but some other reviews mentioned having problems. Also note that if the hotel is full and lots of people are using it the wifi would be slower.
- staff were friendly and polite

In the negative reviews, there was a mention of the beds being uncomfortable. We stayed there multiple nights and didn't have a problem, but YMMV.

Bottom line: this is a great atmospheric place to stay, affordable, close to downtown / plaza. I'd stay here again. If the quirkier aspects of older properties are a concern, would recommend to stay further out on Cerrillos in one of the newer and standard national brand hotel properties (Holiday Inn etc.).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed here for three nights on the first leg of our journey through the Southwest. The historical inn has lots of charm, with several courtyards, a fountain, a pool, and hot tub. Josh, the clerk I spoke with over the phone when I made the reservation, was the clerk when we got there. He was a sweet young man.
I have to agree with another reviewer here that talked about the birds. There was this huge tree outside our room #49 and I loved sitting out on our patio listening to all the birds. Yes, one of them did wake my husband up rather early, but I absolutely loved it.
The inn also had a nice dining area for breakfast and the food included my favorites, eggs, toast, yogurt with granola, fresh fruit. A server always asks you if you want a warm tortilla with your breakfast. I especially remember the classic Spanish guitar music that always played in the morning! Nice touch!
The inn had many outside decorative features, old wagons placed against the walls, hand painted tiles in places. The inside of the room had old charming pieces of furniture, a stucco fireplace, and the bathroom has a big skylight so I enjoyed putting on my make up there. The only drawback I found was that several times I ran out of hot water earlier than I would have liked, though I admit to taking rather long showers.

Room Tip: We loved room #49 with the patio surrounded by trees and birds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

This is our favorite hotel in Santa Fe, & it has come to be a very special for us over the last four years. The location is great--a short drive to downtown & great restaurants. The rates are very reasonable for the location & accommodations. We're always very pleased with our stay! The hotel has a great New Mexican charm to it, & it feels like a little retreat in many ways. Staff is pleasant & friendly. Breakfast is included with your rate, which is a nice touch. We just can't say enough about El Rey!

Room Tip: Their suites with kitchenettes are single-floor rooms, & their "standard" suites are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I recently stayed at El Rey for the 7th time, each time bringing a small group of fellow travelers. El Rey has consistently been charming, clean, and accommodating to our needs. The helpfulness of the staff, the complimentary breakfast, the teeming gardens, the fireplaces, and the El Rey Experience are truly one-of-a-kind.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Great place to stay whether for one night or one week as I did. The staff are warm and very help. My room is cozy, clean and well-maintained. A special treat: the windows open so I can listen to the birds outside my window as I awake each morning and enjoy fresh air all day long. The property is a bird sanctuary and there gardens and fountains abound. The morning breakfast is more than ample and prepared and attended by a charming couple. 5 minutes to old town Santa Fe. Can't wait to return with my husband and friends.

Room Tip: If a light sleeper, ask for a room toward the back of the property. More birds to enjoy, too.
See more room tips
Green Features: Glad to see their conservation of water in the rooms and careful use of it in their gardening practices.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Rey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Inn

Address: 1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Rey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rey Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.