We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great throwback inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Rey Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added El Rey Inn to your Saves list
El Rey Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Splendid Fall Special
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersGold level
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A great throwback inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

From the check in process through the viewing of the room and grounds, everything was as it should be for a hotel begun in the late 1930's when Route 66 went by the front of the El Rey.

The room we stayed in was in the back, on the second floor. It was added to the motel in a later time, and had all the amenities, plus a feeling of staying in Santa Fe, with a tiled bathroom, viga ceiling and a gas fired kiva. There was nothing to dislike.

We did not have the opportunity to take advantage of the outdoor pool or hot tub, but I assume that both are in keeping with the good condition of the rest of the property.

You will not be staying at a Marriott, but you should enjoy your stay and believe that you more than got your money's worth.

Room Tip: You might look at the rooms before you decide. The front desk is more than accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    153
    38
    10
    7
See reviews for
97
208
22
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

My wife always passed this hotel on the way in and out of Santa Fe. I told my wife that before w move back east we need to spend at least one night. Our last night in Santa Fe we did just that. The room was beautiful with a fireplace right at the foot of the bed. It was snowing outside so we stopped at Albertsons and got some snacks and huddled in for the night. Very we'll furnished. Very Santa Fe-ish. A 1950's feel and comfortable. I'm glad we stayed here. Perhaps we shall do it again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel many times in the past, and it is the highlight of my business trips to Santa Fe. The inn is older and full of character, which is what I love most about it. The staff is accommodating, and if ever anything needs attention, I ask for David or Sylvia and it is taken care of immediately. Each room is different, with skylights, block glass, and corian counters. I request the same room and get it almost every time. Parking is fantastic at the door of your room and the outdoor hot tub is chlorine free and has lovely ambiance. Several restaurants are walking distance as well as a grocery store. The flowers in the spring and summer dribble from a rooftop garden.There are porch swings and rockers and tables and chairs for outdoor eating as well as fountains to promote relaxation. They have a lovely lobby with comfy sofas and chairs. I don't think I can say enough. I hear that they now have a refrigerator in each room. I just wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: I have never had a bad room, they are just all different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We spent Christmas in Santa Fe with our two small children this year and the El Rey Inn was a highlight! The room was true to Santa Fe style, cozy and and inviting. The breakfast was great and the staff was helpful and kind. We will definitely be back!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed at the El Rey Inn over Christmas and had an absolutely fabulous time. Our room was comfortable and we liked the skylight in the bathroom. The front desk people were very friendly and we especially enjoyed the warm hospitality of the folks who ran the breakfast room. We will be back!

Room Tip: Highly recommend the rooms in the Colonial Courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We have been staying at the El Rey for a number of years and have yet stayed in a room that is like any other. The property is a collection of motels along Cerrillos Road about ten minutes from the plaza.

Room Tip: The farther away from Cerrillos Road the room the quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I've stayed at El Rey Inn many times, when traveling alone and also with my husband. It's a beautiful setting and convenient to downtown. When I return year after year to the same "home away from home" I like to feel that my comfort, safety and satisfaction really matter to the management. Unfortunately this was not the case during my recent visit in November.

In my room the pilot light in a gas heater wouldn't stay on despite maintenance twice re-lighting it, and I awoke to a frigid room at 1 AM, concerned about gas leakage and afraid to use the electric heater lest it cause a power outage, as I had been advised it might if left running. Though a kindly desk clerk brought extra blankets, reassured me about the gas, ok'd use of the electric heater and promised an adjustment on my room rate, none of my troubles were communicated to the manager, who next day met my complaints with skepticism and expressed no concern for the distress I'd experienced . She did offer to move me to another room but the electric heater was sufficient and as it was now mid-day and I was leaving next morning, I did not want to spend my remaining afternoon re-settling. The manager reserved making an adjustment on my room rate until she talked further with her staff, as if I might be making the whole thing up.

In addition to the heating problem, a missing lightbulb, a burned-out lightbulb, and a faucet that couldn't easily be turned off in the kitchen gave a further impression of casual standards.

At checkout, my roomrate for the icebox-night was reduced by half but there was no apology for my discomfort and distress, nor any offers that might assure my return as a guest in the future.

In the past, I've so enjoyed the quiet and privacy at El Rey, but I realize that despite its varied accommodations and beautiful grounds, El Rey is not an inn but a motel. Seniors traveling alone, like myself, may be better off in a full service hotel or a B & B where personal service is a priority.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Spanish Pavilion are quite elegant, like a real hotel. When my husband and I stayed...
See more room tips
Green Features: They are concerned about conserving water and advocate reuse of towels.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrell W, Owner at El Rey Inn, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
On behalf of our Inn, we offer our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience that you experienced on your recent visit with us. You are truly a valued guest and we do value your comments regarding your stay. Our Inn has been under the same ownership for over 40 years and we try very hard to make each and every guests feel welcomed, secure as well as comfortable. Please do give us another opportunity to serve you and let us deliver the level of hospitality that you are accustomed to experiencing at our Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Rey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Inn

Address: 1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Rey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rey Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.