We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem in Santa Fe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Rey Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added El Rey Inn to your Saves list
El Rey Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem in Santa Fe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Love this place. This is a quaint, beautifully landscaped, older styled and wonderfully maintained Inn. The grounds are very nice with flowers and greenery, courtyards and outdoor seating for morning coffee or late afternoon relaxation and conversation before dinner. They have a very beautiful hot tub. Breakfast is included in the price of the room and is served in a very small but nice area with some seating outside. A very nice lady helped with coffee and making sure we had everything we needed including wonderful warm homemade tortillas. There's not much variety but it was good and we enjoyed visiting with others around us. The rate is very reasonable and we would definitely stay here next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    170
    48
    12
    7
See reviews for
108
245
32
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We loved the El Rey Inn, an historic hotel on the old Route 66. The staff were great and all the rooms were wonderful. We stayed the first night in a double room and then, joined by family, moved to the "Lodge" which slept 4 at a minimum and easily six. It had its own kitchen with dishwasher, a bath and a half, two living rooms, one with a gas fireplace, and two patios. Very comfortable. The kitchen was fully outfitted with dishes but who wants to cook in Santa Fe? We were a bit underwhelmed by the continental breakfast but The Pantry is right next door and their portions are so large that you are set for the day. My friends had business to do and needed the car but that was no problem. There is a bus stop in either side of the road in front of the Inn and for a buck, you are on the Plaza in twenty minutes (10 in a car). No worries about parking if you take the bus and the drivers were so helpful and friendly. At this time of year, we didn't check out the pool or the hot tub but the grounds are lovely. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The El Rey was recommended by the owners of The Blue Swallow in Tucumcari. It's a vintage 1930's motor court--with a difference. The property has nice gardens and landscaping, a hot tub and swimming pool, and a charming breakfast room where complimentary breakfast complete with warm tortillas is served. Nice neon and tile work, a comfortable lobby with free coffee and tea, and lawn chairs for sitting outside make this a great place to relax. The rooms at the back of the motor court are especially quiet.

Room Tip: South side rooms are quieter. Be sure to ask for the AARP discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Two mature women jus spent four nights at the El Rey. We love the Santa Fe Motel and Inn, but when we couldn't get the accommodations we needed there, we went to El Rey. It was not a disappointment. El Rey is an old-style motel with outside entrances BUT...it has lovely oupen green area with lounge chairs, tables, etc, an inviting enclosed hot tub/spa as well as an outdoor pool, adequate parking and includes breakfast. Our room was not tiny, as is common with older motels, and it does not look, feel (or smell) old. Even the doors and windows are newer, nothing seems old except the style and charm of the facility. While the breakfast is included and includes homemade tortillas and green chile, we were disappointed. It is really a rather typical "included breakfast" . The tortillas are good but the chili is just a chili sauce but too runny to eat easily with the tortillas, and nothing else to go with it except some shredded cheese. BUT a few step away is The Pantry restaurant which has wonderful New-Mexican breakfasts if that is your preference. El Rey is a real value by Santa Fe standards. It's very reasonable even if you choose to forego the included breakfast and "splurge" by going to The Pantry for breakfast. Don't overlook this gem.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 75, a two-bed, standard room. It was quiet, the hot tub was right acroos from us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Mississippi
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The El Rey Inn has been around since the 30’s but has aged well. The motel and each room are different. The room floor plan and furnishing are unique and not like the “cookie cutter” approach you may be used to with other motels. If you want antiseptic, predictable, corporate, accommodations find the Holiday Inn…If you want to spend $300 a night find one of the upscale hotels around the Plaza downtown. If you want a pleasant older motel with an excellent free breakfast, free internet, parking at your door, efficient staff, and reasonable rate ( if you shop rates around the internet). The El Rey Inn may just be the ticket……

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here 20 years ago with our 5 sons and loved it then. Finally made our way back to Santa Fe as a couple and based on our experience 20 years ago, made reservations here. We had a wonderful courtyard room that was large and very comfortable. The grounds are beautiful, We enjoyed the outdoor hot tub on a gorgeous starry night. Breakfast was a nice continental breakfast with yummy warm tortillas. The staff, especially the breakfast staff, was very friendly. The El Rey Inn feels more like a B & B than a motel - we will definately be back!

Room Tip: Ask for courtyard room with table & chairs outside the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I first stayed at the El Rey last October 2012 on the encouragement of my sister and brother-in-law who'd stayed there. It has southwestern charm and a wonderful complimentary breakfast space including patio. Wi-Fi connectivity in my room did not work, but a short walk to the lobby provided me easy access. Additionally, the El Rey is relatively close to the Plaza, not walking distance but a short drive and parking at the El Rey is complimentary as well. I look forward to my upcoming stay in about 10 days, early Oct. 2013.
Also, there is a "lodge" accommodation for reunions, etc. that sleeps 8. We have already booked if for my family, as we celebrate my 60th birthday in Santa Fe next June, 2013. I love this fun inn; I think you will too!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to El Rey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Inn

Address: 1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#16 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your El Rey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rey Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.