We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, funky hotel in Santa Fe - short drive to the Plaza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Rey Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added El Rey Inn to your Saves list
El Rey Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun, funky hotel in Santa Fe - short drive to the Plaza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I first stayed at the El Rey last October 2012 on the encouragement of my sister and brother-in-law who'd stayed there. It has southwestern charm and a wonderful complimentary breakfast space including patio. Wi-Fi connectivity in my room did not work, but a short walk to the lobby provided me easy access. Additionally, the El Rey is relatively close to the Plaza, not walking distance but a short drive and parking at the El Rey is complimentary as well. I look forward to my upcoming stay in about 10 days, early Oct. 2013.
Also, there is a "lodge" accommodation for reunions, etc. that sleeps 8. We have already booked if for my family, as we celebrate my 60th birthday in Santa Fe next June, 2013. I love this fun inn; I think you will too!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    184
    48
    12
    7
See reviews for
122
260
34
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
regina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and I loved the look of the hotel and the grounds...great swimming pool..breakfast staff are excellent...but our room was very small...dark...and the bathroom looked like the fixtures were 40 or 50 years old..the bathroom needs a major overhaul...for over $100 a night I expected more.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We love coming here and have for several years. We come in August for the Opera but also the beauty of Santa Fe as well as New Mexico. The motel is warm, accommodating, as well as friendly. The rooms are clean and the staff is friendly. You don't get the feeling that it's a chain motel for impersonal. We love it and have already booked for next year.

Room Tip: I think it's easiest to call them directly and talk to them about the rooms.
See more room tips
Green Features: I can state that the did have containers for recyclables but other than that I don't honestly know. .
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

If you are driving down Route 66 in Santa Fe don't pass up the El Rey Inn!

It is a beautiful property that is first class. We had a beautiful room with an adobe fireplace and seating area and we had our own patio table right outside our door. If you can splurge on a king room it is worth it. Has all the amenities....in room microwave,refrigerator, coffee, hair dryer etc. They have two hot tubs and a beautiful swimming pool. Much nicer than the average chains. Very nice upscale continental breakfast. Even warm tortillas!

Room Tip: The king rooms are really nice!
See more room tips
Green Features: I think that they are doing a good job regarding their environmentally-friendly practices.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We had a pleasant few days here. Well located, good facilities, nice pool, helpful staff. Only complaint was noisy air conditioning and poor light in the rooms. Had to invest in a torch to see, even by day!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

From the moment we drove into the El Rey Inn, we relaxed, and had a great time. Situated just 5 minutes from downtown, it was a perfect oasis, yet close enough to quickly get to everything we wanted to see. Our first room was #12 - a queen suite with an enormous, sunshiney bathroom. The main room was small, but it had a small bedroom attached where our son stayed and we could move some of our things into.

After 2 nights in 12, we moved to #50. (When we reserved, #50 was taken already for the first part of our stay) Holy cow what a gorgeous room! Kiva fireplace, huge room with king bed, full kitchen, patio, 2 sets of sliding glass doors, and steps from the pool. We ate on the patio, went for a nightly dip in the hottub and pool, even did our laundry (in a nearby room) before we packed to leave at the end of the week.

We loved taking walks around the grounds. There are little hidden vignettes around every corner, beautiful plantings, great seating and courtyards. The breakfast could use some variety during the week, but overall was quite good. We had to print out our boarding passes the day before we left, however their guest printer was out of ink. When I asked about it at the desk, they were very accommodating, allowing me use of their own computer and printer.

Overall, the El Rey Inn was comfortable, and homey with all the amenities I wanted. The bonus was the location and of course the price. Not a cookie cutter hotel, it had charm and personality, great hospitality, and I would go back in a minute!

Room Tip: #50 was amazing, spacious, with a fireplace, kitchen and patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Recommended by someone in Taos, but not thinking about it, we happened upon the El Rey and stayed for 1 night. Established when Route 66 went through in the 1930's, it has had only 2 owners. This is a well-cared for and well-maintained oasis on a main road (Cerrillos).
The room had charm, attention to detail, and very comfortable and clean. But the outdoor space was so delightful and inviting we spent the evening with friends in comfortable seating in one of the courtyards under shady trees. There's a pool, 2 hot tubs and sauna. Self-serve laundry available.
Continental breakfast was lovely with attentive staff and served in a comfortable space overlooking the outdoors.
Oh, and the price was very reasonable considering the locale and that we stayed during Labor Day weekend.
We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,147 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#31 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 987 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 433 reviews
Downtown
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Inn

Address: 1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your El Rey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rey Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.