We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Rey Inn

Save Saved
You added El Rey Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Rey Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersGold level
White Bear Lake
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We love coming here and have for several years. We come in August for the Opera but also the beauty of Santa Fe as well as New Mexico. The motel is warm, accommodating, as well as friendly. The rooms are clean and the staff is friendly. You don't get the feeling that it's a chain motel for impersonal. We love it and have already booked for next year.

Room Tip: I think it's easiest to call them directly and talk to them about the rooms.
See more room tips
Green Features: I can state that the did have containers for recyclables but other than that I don't honestly know. .
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    257
    148
    37
    10
    7
See reviews for
93
194
20
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

If you are driving down Route 66 in Santa Fe don't pass up the El Rey Inn!

It is a beautiful property that is first class. We had a beautiful room with an adobe fireplace and seating area and we had our own patio table right outside our door. If you can splurge on a king room it is worth it. Has all the amenities....in room microwave,refrigerator, coffee, hair dryer etc. They have two hot tubs and a beautiful swimming pool. Much nicer than the average chains. Very nice upscale continental breakfast. Even warm tortillas!

Room Tip: The king rooms are really nice!
See more room tips
Green Features: I think that they are doing a good job regarding their environmentally-friendly practices.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We had a pleasant few days here. Well located, good facilities, nice pool, helpful staff. Only complaint was noisy air conditioning and poor light in the rooms. Had to invest in a torch to see, even by day!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

From the moment we drove into the El Rey Inn, we relaxed, and had a great time. Situated just 5 minutes from downtown, it was a perfect oasis, yet close enough to quickly get to everything we wanted to see. Our first room was #12 - a queen suite with an enormous, sunshiney bathroom. The main room was small, but it had a small bedroom attached where our son stayed and we could move some of our things into.

After 2 nights in 12, we moved to #50. (When we reserved, #50 was taken already for the first part of our stay) Holy cow what a gorgeous room! Kiva fireplace, huge room with king bed, full kitchen, patio, 2 sets of sliding glass doors, and steps from the pool. We ate on the patio, went for a nightly dip in the hottub and pool, even did our laundry (in a nearby room) before we packed to leave at the end of the week.

We loved taking walks around the grounds. There are little hidden vignettes around every corner, beautiful plantings, great seating and courtyards. The breakfast could use some variety during the week, but overall was quite good. We had to print out our boarding passes the day before we left, however their guest printer was out of ink. When I asked about it at the desk, they were very accommodating, allowing me use of their own computer and printer.

Overall, the El Rey Inn was comfortable, and homey with all the amenities I wanted. The bonus was the location and of course the price. Not a cookie cutter hotel, it had charm and personality, great hospitality, and I would go back in a minute!

Room Tip: #50 was amazing, spacious, with a fireplace, kitchen and patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson, Arizona
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Recommended by someone in Taos, but not thinking about it, we happened upon the El Rey and stayed for 1 night. Established when Route 66 went through in the 1930's, it has had only 2 owners. This is a well-cared for and well-maintained oasis on a main road (Cerrillos).
The room had charm, attention to detail, and very comfortable and clean. But the outdoor space was so delightful and inviting we spent the evening with friends in comfortable seating in one of the courtyards under shady trees. There's a pool, 2 hot tubs and sauna. Self-serve laundry available.
Continental breakfast was lovely with attentive staff and served in a comfortable space overlooking the outdoors.
Oh, and the price was very reasonable considering the locale and that we stayed during Labor Day weekend.
We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We spent 2 nights here & enjoyed our stay...Yes, the hotel is a little tired, but its character makes up for that. Staff were all pleasant & a basic, but adequate.

Im not sure that it justifies the price, but then again, i guess Santa Fe isnt a cheap place to visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Wisconsin
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

From the time we stepped into the El Rey til the time we left it was the best experience we have ever had in our life! The staff was so kind and helpful. The breakfast was delicious. The grounds were filled with flowers, gardens, and trees...not to mention the white lights in the evening. I hope we can return to Santa Fe again and again. We will continue to only stay at the El Rey because it just doesn't get any better than that!

Room Tip: If you like log cabins...ask if you can stay in a room that has the log ceilings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Rey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Inn

Address: 1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#17 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your El Rey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rey Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.