We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Bad, No Dogs...But wonderful Grounds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Rey Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added El Rey Inn to your Saves list
El Rey Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Salida, Co. USA
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Too Bad, No Dogs...But wonderful Grounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Like I said, it's too bad they don't allow dogs, no, not even little ones...but I suspect that's one of the reasons the gardens are so nice to sit around in. This place is right next store to one of the best places to enjoy breakfast in SantaFe, The Pantry, so you got that going for you here...also, it's a hip older motel that has been kept handsome, and they didn't get greedy and sell off much of their property years back.
Enjoy, Salida1048

Room Tip: Most all of the rooms are good, if you're a pool person, with kids, then ask to be closer to tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    167
    46
    10
    7
See reviews for
105
237
31
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was a nice place to stay. We actually broke down with car trouble. We called ahead and they held a room for us. The breakfast was great, both the food and the service. They had a very nice selection for a free breakfast. There was food both the adults and the children enjoyed. The pool was also very nice. The staff was accommodating, helping a bad situation to not be quite so bad. They even offered us a discount. The room was clean, and we had everything we needed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaisir
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

An oasis of calm, we enjoyed the gardens, the pool . The breakfast buffet was quite sufficient and the staff very attentive . Our room was nice but dark . It lacked lights, even with all the lamps on it was difficult to read properly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marfa, Texas
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I have stayed at El Rey several times over the years.
As others write the grounds are beautiful; old growth gardens and truly real vintage Santa Fe style, with parking at the door. My recent stay was, however, not a good experience. My room was small, Dark and with a carpet that though probably not dirty was was worn to grey. The cooler control was located high in a corner above a chair and covered by a fallen taped-up instruction note. For those glitches i would not be writing a review.
But: the morning of my departure i packed my car, leaving my travel kit with all my shaving gear etcetera out on the bathroom counter. I went out to do errands around town expecting to return and freshen up before hitting the road. As i returned the housekeeper at the next door shot me a “look”. My room had been cleaned and my belongings gone; stuffed in the kit taken to the office. At the desk i asked “What time is checkout?” answer “12:00” “What time is it?” “11:15” They “Assumed” i had left. That is not in my view acceptable. I do not appreciate my room being entered and my belongings removed while i am still a paying guest.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrell W, Owner at El Rey Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
On behalf of our housekeeping staff we apologize for any assumption that the staff made in thinking that the accommodation was vacant since there was no luggage in the room and only a shaving bag left in the bathroom. The shaving kit was taken to reception and retrieved by the guest later in the morning. Our apologies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Been staying there for 30 years......not much has changed! Just love the place. Not a first class place but truly a well maintained classic . Go for the newer rooms and you be pleased. Can't walk to old town and the street front is very busy

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The El Rey Inn reminds me of the nicest roadside motel you might have found on Route 66 in the 1950s. The atmosphere was wonderful with nice sitting spaces and gardens surrounding the parking area. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. My family enjoyed the breakfast buffet. The hotel is located a couple of miles from the heart of Santa Fe so you are close to the action but don't pay downtown prices. There are plenty of restaurants and shopping areas around the hotel which was also convenient. The pool area was clean and we had fun swimming but the hot tub was painfully hot. There were a couple of drawbacks. They offer free wi-fi but the further you are away from the front desk, the weaker the signal. We couldn't get a good signal the entire time we spent there. Also, the restroom had zero counter space for your toiletries but that is a minor complaint. Overall, we would not hesitate to make this the hotel we stay at when visiting Santa Fe.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NWUSA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

El Rey is famous among those who travel through Santa Fe, with a ramshackle, Route 66 charm, but I'm sad to say I didn't catch whatever-it-is that brings it so many great reviews.

The hotel is comprised of several buildings, some two stories and some one, arranged in a horseshoe; the center of the horseshoe has an office area, playground, and another set of rooms. There are also one or two little courtyards, a fountain, and a pool. The entire complex covers five acres.

Our room (52?) was upstairs, and would have overlooked a courtyard except that a wall was in the way. The balcony overlooked the pool (which seemed nice; the weather was too cool to swim). The bed was a little soft for my wife, but not a problem for me. The continental breakfast was limited, and unremarkable except for the fresh tortillas. We liked the dining area.

Was there anything wrong with the El Rey? No, not really. I was just expecting more.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to El Rey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Inn

Address: 1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your El Rey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rey Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.