We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Taste of New Mexico” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Rey Inn

Save Saved
You added El Rey Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Rey Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersGold level
Monument
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Taste of New Mexico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We enjoyed our stay so much at the El Ray Inn in Santa Fe New Mexico. This is truly a taste of the Land of Enchantment! Very peaceful, very clean and most beautifully decorated! We were created with warm smiles and they took care of our room needs. The grounds also are very beautifully done in the Southwest flavor. This is where one needs to stay if you want a peaceful and authentic look and stay in Santa Fe. Thank you El Ray... we will be back!

Room Tip: All rooms have great qualities and great views. Just depends on what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    239
    137
    38
    10
    7
See reviews for
86
180
20
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed at the El Rey many times before, it was its consistently good product. The ground were not as beautiful as in the summer, but winter has a way of changing that. We stayed in room 61 and the rooms are well appointed, clean and very comfortable. Excellent shower with great fluffy towels. The instant on fireplace in the winter is a nice touch. Service staff at checking were friendly and courteous. Overall, we will continue to stay there and enjoy our stay. Nice to have pure Santa Fe for the accommodations.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

What reason what I have to stay any other place? This was a gift at the end of a 3-day journey through New Mexico. Accommodation, comfort, aesthetic, family-owned, quaint, caring staff, affordable. Thank you for your prior thoughtfulness in anticipation of the needs of the traveler.
Terrific breakfast from which to send one.

My compliments. Beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here many times and are never disappointed. I love the quiet, the nice breakfast and southwestern atmosphere. Trip into town is easy, but we avoid the tourist areas anyway. The old fashioned motor court feel is very welcoming.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

All good! A wonderful taste of Old Sante Fe..... Great room, very clean, grounds were wonderful ( wish I could see it in summer, staff was the best, breakfast crew were adorable, Dad&Daughter.....lovely

Room Tip: Great choice, don't hesitate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Last year we were lucky enough to stay at the El Rey Inn. Previously we always stayed downtown at an expensive hotel near the Plaza. We were always disappointed with the hotel so in March 2012, we decided to give the El Rey Inn a shot. And we were not disappointed. We stay in one of the rooms with a fireplace. The room is like a mini suite where you can entertain. We look out of our room to a beautiful courtyard. And even though it is on a busy street, Cerrillos Road, when you close your door, it is perfectly silent. The WIFI is amazing (unlike the unnamed expensive Plaza hotel). Do yourself a favor and stay at the El Rey Inn.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyle, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The El Ray is a sanctuary in the middle of Santa Fe. We stayed in a "Deluxe" room that had a gas fireplace that was very cozy. The Inn has classic but new Santa Fe style. The staff was great and the place has a lot of history. We will keep coming back to the El Ray each time we visit Santa Fe.

Room Tip: The Deluxe rooms and the fireplace are great on snowy days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Rey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Inn

Address: 1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your El Rey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rey Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.