We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Rey Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added El Rey Inn to your Saves list
El Rey Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Last minute trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

After a very last minute trip due to the Denver airport closing and mechanical issues with plane, we ended up driving to Santa Fe to go skiing over spring break. I booked a hotel at the Santa Fe Hotel the night before, when we arrived there, the "suite" I booked to accommodate 3 teenagers and a tired mom, had no door separating the advertised two rooms, so we changed plans while in Santa Fe and booked with the El Rey. Quaint unique property, we booked a suite that had two actual rooms and a murphy bed in the living area. Perfect for our party. Was it a tiny bit run down and eccletic, you betcha. But for the price $145.00 it was great and David at the front desk was more than accommodating. Kids loved the two hot tubs. Loved the breakfast area and people serving there, felt like I was in Europe again. All in all thumbs up for the El Rey!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    161
    45
    10
    7
See reviews for
105
227
29
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in winter. For under $100 a night you won't find a better place to stay. They were redecorating their breakfast area so we got a voucher to the restaurant next door for breakfast, which was a great little restaurant.

The rooms are a good size and bed is comfortable. We stayed here as part of a road trip so if you are looking for luxury weekend experience, this isn't the place for you. But if you looking for somewhere affordable to crash while you explore Santa Fe, then I would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the El Rey for three nights in February, and we were very pleased with our choice. We usually stay somewhere close to the Plaza, but the deal we found at the El Rey was too good to pass up. The room was a little old, but it was clean, cozy, and quiet. We were in a room at the back of the property - I'd imagine the rooms at the front (near Cerillos road) would be louder. Since we were there during off season, the hotel didn't serve breakfast. Instead they gave us vouchers for $5.00 off at The Pantry, which was right next door. Most of the breakfast entrees at The Pantry cost between $5.00 and $10.00, so when you include coffee the vouchers covered about half of the breakfast. Overall we were please with our stay and will definitely consider the El Rey next time we are in Santa Fe.

Room Tip: Rooms away from Cerillos Road are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

A very nice feeling in general in this place. Very nice motel feeling. Nice outside pool and also an outside whirlpool.

The rooms were OK but not more. The were relatively clean but could have been cleaner and fresher. The interior was a little bit old and some remodelling wouldn't hurt. I didn't find it worth the money, since it wasn't cheap anyway.

The breakfast was OK but a little bit of a disappointment since there was not that much to choose from actually.

It is located some miles outside the city and the neighbourhood around the motel doesn't really invite for a walk... But the motel area itself felt safe.

Next time in Santa Fe I will probably stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrell W, Owner at El Rey Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
The reviewer, having stayed with us six months ago, has a memory that is in our estimation, not quite correct. We are not a "little motel", our breakfast selection is quite extensive, and our rooms are absolutely immaculate. Perhaps, the reviewer could be a little more timely in reviewing their experiences on the road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My family and I recently visited Santa Fe,NM in Dec. We chose to stay at El Rey Inn and it was amazing. The people there was very nice and helpful. Each room is unique and has comfortable beds; rooms are very clean. We had a mini fridge which was a plus. Breakfast was delicious at the inn, they served fresh tortillas and fresh fruit each morning along with you typical hotel food: cereal, toast, eggs,etc. Since it was off season, they stopped serving breakfast on the 4th day of our trip..however, they gave us each $5 vouchers to the restaurant next door.Would absolutely stay her again! I loved it :]

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We have been to Santa Fe many times and stayed in many different hotels and had seen El Rey many times and wanted to try it out. We planned a short trip to "The City Different" and booked 2 nights at El Rey.

I was extremely happy with this stay. The stay is like going back to the 1950's in a good way. There was snow everywhere and the grounds were beautiful. Our room was pretty small and "cozy" but extremely nice and clean.

The only thing I would do differently in the future is go for a larger room but I was looking for the lowest price for a room and wanted to save my money for other things in Santa Fe, like the great food we ate in a bunch of excellent restaurants.

I would definitely stay there again and highly recommend it to anyone looking for something different in Santa Fe.

Room Tip: Book a deluxe queen or king room for a larger space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Quintessential Santa Fe!! The El Rey Inn rooms are not only large and spacious but also tastefully decorated. They are well equipped with kitchenettes supplied with everything you would need. The property offers a beautiful selection of outdoor patios, pools, and flower gardens. The entire complex is impeccably clean, and the service staff is outstanding. The main lobby and dining room have a European atmosphere and the free breakfast is absolutely delicious also with a European flair.
And for the cost, there is no doubt it is the best deal in town. We will be staying there many more times!!!

Room Tip: Corner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Rey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Inn

Address: 1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#17 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Rey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rey Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.