We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected or read about” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Rey Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added El Rey Inn to your Saves list
El Rey Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersGold level
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Not what we expected or read about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2008

We only stayed one night, however, we would not have made it longer if we had the chance. I love quaint, independent hotels. The people generally treat you better and make you feel at home. That was not the problem here at all. First, I had paid for this room more than a month before our arrival and we did not get the room we were supposed to. Instead we had a very simple room with two beds, bathroom and fridge. I expected the larger room with the sofa/sitting area as was described when I booked it and a microwave. Not a huge deal, just a little disappointing. The beds were decent and the noise level was very low, which was good of course. Biggest problem was in the morning when we were greeted with very large bugs in the bathroom and vanity areas. We do not have these bugs where we live so I don't know if they were cockroaches or some strange very large beetle. They reminded me of a smaller version of the cockroaches I've seen in South Carolina, which are huge. These two that we flushed were about 1.5 inches. So, like my review started out, there's no way we would have stayed another night. We enjoyed the city of Santa Fe and the front desk people told us about a very good mexican food restaurant called Maria's. It was an awesome suggestion for dinner.
I am very disppointed that the El Rey Inn had the problems we experienced and I'm hoping that future customers do not deal with anything of this sort.

  • Liked — Retreat away from busy Cerrillos Road
  • Disliked — Bugs
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    158
    43
    10
    7
See reviews for
102
224
27
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
scottsdale
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

My wife and I just returned from a trip to Santa Fe. It is a great city to visit. I have never written a review before but our experience at the El Rey deserves comment. It was excellent. The price point is perfect. More for less. The room had a sitting area, fireplace and refrigerator . The look is total Santa Fe. Most importantly the service was terrific. From check in to the complimenary breakfast. At breakfast,as i was trying to carry food and drinks for two back to the room, a young server saw my plight and provided a tray. Then he asked if I would like a blueberry muffins. They had not been put out yet but he went out of his way to go to the kitchen and bring out muffins,butter etc. covered so I could carry them easily. El Rey has a homey atmosphere that lets you get away from the standard hotel experience. We will be back.

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land
Top Contributor
364 reviews 364 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
299 helpful votes 299 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2008

Our family of six loved our stay at El Rey! We stayed in a two bedroom, one bath suite with a kitchenette and living room area with two small sleeper sofas. Our unit had a nice Southwestern decor, and our kids loved the New Mexican style of the entire grounds. It was our son's birthday on our first night, and we had plenty of space for his "mini-party." The free continental breakfast was excellent, with warm muffins, instant oatmeal, canned peaches, strawberry and plain yogurt, and boiled eggs in addition to the usual bagel/cereal options. Our kids enjoyed the playground, and the outdoor pool was large, although it was closed. It was a five minute drive to the Plaza, and the staff was helpful in giving directions and suggestions. We liked it so much that we changed our travel plans to stay at El Rey again on our drive back to Texas. We will come back next year.

  • Liked — great price with plenty of space
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2008

I have stayed at The El Rey Inn a total of 6 times or more for 10 years now, most recently last week for 5 nights! It was a "girlfriend" trip and it was fantastic. The room was lovely and we made a fire every night. El Rey is a very charming, quaint, southwestern inn, great mattress/pillow, never slept better! The staff is awesome and my favorite person, Alice, unfortunately was away when I stayed, but she knows me when I visit! This is the ONLY place to lodge when in Santa Fe.

  • Liked — quaintness and charm of hotel
  • Disliked — breakfast for extended stays could be more creative
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, CA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2008

The El Rey Inn in Santa Fe, NM is a delightful experience. After reading others' reviews, I felt confident booking a two-night stay.
The Inn is over 50 yrs old with a charming southwest flavor.
Room was very clean, great mattresses, a real bathtub, warm reception, a lovely breakfast room with adequate continental breakfast. Located on the outskirts of town, a car is definitely needed to get around. There were several dining options within walking distance. The guest laundry room has a microwave available for guests and each room has a refrigerator.
I made use of a small exercise room with only so-so equipment but it was enough. It was a very pleasant Santa Fe experience.

  • Liked — Southwest flavor and clean, clean room.
  • Disliked — No WiFi and poor lighting in room for reading
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2008

Though this hotel is charming enough from the outside, we were disappointed with the interior amenities and services. The hotel is WAY past its prime; the furniture is run down and decrepit, the sheets stained and the bathroom not thoroughly clean.
The mattress was the incredibly rickety, and the headboard was falling apart. The sheets were yellowed in some areas, the blanket had holes. We were provided with two pillows. Both were flat, lumpy and incredibly unpleasant. I wouldn't be surprised if they were 50 years old. My fiance and I both woke up with sore necks.
The bathroom shower had clearly not been cleaned thoroughly; other peoples' *ahem* hairs were in it.
The continental breakfast was as under- whelming as most are. In addition to the typically sub-par continental breakfast offerings, the staff person attending the otherwise empty breakfast room offered us what looked like five-day old Safeway muffins. When we refused them, he put them back in their package. We couldn't help but wonder how many times those muffins had been warmed-up, then tossed back in their box.
A disappointing stay at a run-down hotel that we would not recommend.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2008

Wonderful motel full of Santa Fe charm , all the reviews I have read are accurate as this is an experience to stay there, its a bit far to walk into centre but we found with the car no problems parking, the whole area is just fantastic and we hope to return again soon to the El Rey.

  • Liked — rooms full of santa fe charm
  • Disliked — opening the door to see the car covered in snow !!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Rey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Inn

Address: 1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Rey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rey Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.