We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best on route 66 so far” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Rey Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added El Rey Inn to your Saves list
El Rey Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Our best on route 66 so far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Very helpful and friendly staff. Very nice rooms, lovely bathroom, good Internet, pool with hot tub. Very nice gardens. I would recommend this to anyone for one night or a week! One thing, the town center is NOT walkable and is worth looking round. Very nice stay.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    167
    45
    10
    7
See reviews for
105
232
30
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
portland, or
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I just spent 5 nights at this hotel while visiting my daughter in Santa Fe. The place is a great little throwback and charming hotel. I appreciated the whole place from the front desk staff to all the rest of the staff. Very friendly and welcoming. The grounds were great, great pool! It was big enough to actually swim in. 2 hot tubs. The outdoor one was the best. Great souvenir coffee mugs to purchase. Got one for my daughter. Will be staying again in September on another daughter visit. When I asked to look at some other rooms no problem. So I picked out the one I hope we get in September. A great hotel if you like a little funky and fun. Only complaint was pillows were not firm enough. Close to the plaza and all you want to visit in town. Walk or take bus. Nuff said

Room Tip: If you are by yourself the single room is plenty. But for more room based on the king and queen roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Funky and fun hotel that has a beautiful heated outdoor pool. We go every summer to enjoy an SF getaway that -- in addition to time spent on the Plaza -- has to include swim time for the kids. The rooms are retro cool and clean. The Pantry restaurant is a quick walk away for great local eats. El Rey is the best choice on Cerrillos.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

The room was a bit small for two people and the bed was not very comfortable but it worked out ok. The breakfast was decent. I would stay there again if I was looking for an ok budget motel in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed two nights at El Rey with another couple and it turned out to be a perfect choice for us. We had breakfast both mornings at a really pleasant outdoor patio. The pool area was also very nice and private, surrounded by trees. The nice outdoor spaces made it easy to spend time with our friends and to make new friends. I highly recommend El Rey if you are looking for a little more than just an inexpensive place to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, FL
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We enjoyed our two days at the El Rey. It's a huge property with many little nooks to explore with an array of flora and great fauna too,(bird feeders with hummingbirds,etc.) The room was a nice size, however the bed was a bit squishy and the towels were past due for replacement.
All in all, I'd stay there again. It was convenient to get to the old town and a very comfortable place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

This hotel is beautiful. The old part of the hotel is nicer than the new part, but the new part is ok too. It is not in downtown Santa Fe but I didn't care since that's a little too much turquoise for me. It's not fancy but it just felt really good to be there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Rey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Inn

Address: 1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your El Rey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rey Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.