We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Outdoor Spaces” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Rey Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added El Rey Inn to your Saves list
El Rey Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Cozy rooms with fireplace
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Outdoor Spaces”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed two nights at El Rey with another couple and it turned out to be a perfect choice for us. We had breakfast both mornings at a really pleasant outdoor patio. The pool area was also very nice and private, surrounded by trees. The nice outdoor spaces made it easy to spend time with our friends and to make new friends. I highly recommend El Rey if you are looking for a little more than just an inexpensive place to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    158
    43
    10
    7
See reviews for
102
224
27
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, FL
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We enjoyed our two days at the El Rey. It's a huge property with many little nooks to explore with an array of flora and great fauna too,(bird feeders with hummingbirds,etc.) The room was a nice size, however the bed was a bit squishy and the towels were past due for replacement.
All in all, I'd stay there again. It was convenient to get to the old town and a very comfortable place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

This hotel is beautiful. The old part of the hotel is nicer than the new part, but the new part is ok too. It is not in downtown Santa Fe but I didn't care since that's a little too much turquoise for me. It's not fancy but it just felt really good to be there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We traveled Route 66 for two weeks and stayed all across the route, El Rey Inn was my favorite spot! It has that fun 1940s motor court feel. The court yards are filled with benches, chairs, and spots to sit and enjoy the outdoors. It's evident this motel was built in a time when people enjoyed socializing and spent more time outside the room then in the rooms.
The rooms are also wonderfully comfortable and the bathroom was large with a large dressing area.
Don't miss this Route 66 charmer! It's a quiet rest stop and a charming place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro, NC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Only stayed one night but what a funky neat inn ... the pool was really neat and nice and big, grounds so beautifully landscaped and shady. Room was very retro ... had a great stay with family!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I've passed by numerous times and always found the white-washed buildings set back from busy Cerrillos Road to be intriguing and charming. So when I needed a place to stay for two nights in early May, I was pleased to discover a reasonable price for the El Rey Inn on Expedia. As a solo traveler, I felt very safe here. The room was clean and quiet and I enjoyed walking the grounds and discovering all the little hidden nooks and crannies with statues of St. Francis and other decorations. I loved the home-made tortillas at breakfast. My only complaint was that it seemed to be a while since the grounds by my room had been maintained. They were in need of weeding and mowing. I think it was too early in the season to see the gardens in full bloom. All in all, I got what I came for, a peaceful and relaxing time. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

The El Rey Inn is Route 66-type motel. It is attractive and pretty well maintained. Rooms are comfortable and staff helpful and pleasant. While definitely not in the up scale part of artsy Santa Fe, it is safe and comfortable. The grounds and gardens were beautiful at one time, so it's somewhat disappointing that they are no longer maintained as well as they could be. There are a couple of good local restaurants within walking distance, but you will need to drive to see any Santa Fe attractions. It is suprisingly quiet though on a major street, but the walls, trees and set-back location makes you think you are in a less busy industrial/business area. All in all, it is a pleasant and quiet inn with well maintained rooms except for the old-fashion televisions that receive very poor reception and deliver a horrible picture. Bring a good book!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Rey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Inn

Address: 1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Rey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rey Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.