We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic charmer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Rey Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added El Rey Inn to your Saves list
El Rey Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
oklahoma
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Historic charmer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I've passed by numerous times and always found the white-washed buildings set back from busy Cerrillos Road to be intriguing and charming. So when I needed a place to stay for two nights in early May, I was pleased to discover a reasonable price for the El Rey Inn on Expedia. As a solo traveler, I felt very safe here. The room was clean and quiet and I enjoyed walking the grounds and discovering all the little hidden nooks and crannies with statues of St. Francis and other decorations. I loved the home-made tortillas at breakfast. My only complaint was that it seemed to be a while since the grounds by my room had been maintained. They were in need of weeding and mowing. I think it was too early in the season to see the gardens in full bloom. All in all, I got what I came for, a peaceful and relaxing time. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soonermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

The El Rey Inn is Route 66-type motel. It is attractive and pretty well maintained. Rooms are comfortable and staff helpful and pleasant. While definitely not in the up scale part of artsy Santa Fe, it is safe and comfortable. The grounds and gardens were beautiful at one time, so it's somewhat disappointing that they are no longer maintained as well as they could be. There are a couple of good local restaurants within walking distance, but you will need to drive to see any Santa Fe attractions. It is suprisingly quiet though on a major street, but the walls, trees and set-back location makes you think you are in a less busy industrial/business area. All in all, it is a pleasant and quiet inn with well maintained rooms except for the old-fashion televisions that receive very poor reception and deliver a horrible picture. Bring a good book!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rrhone8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, ME
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

It isn't really off the beaten track - it's on a very busy road, actually - but once inside you could be anywhere. This is a big sprawl of a place that's been added on to again and again over the years. The landscaping is lovely, so you can relax outside. Our room was comfortable, with a bathroom big enough to sub-let, and we appreciated having a fridge. Also the price was right, probably because you're not smack in downtown Santa Fe.
Only a couple of quibbles - the pool was not in operation while we were there, which was too bad. And the breakfast is definitely skippable.

Room Tip: As others have said, rooms in the back are quieter. We had a corner room near the pool and the vendi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

My husband and I were very pleased by the El Rey Inn, which was cozy and filled with personality. While it might not be in the center of town, this seemed a good thing, since we could return to our quiet room and truly relax after a day of soaking up Santa Fe's culture.

Room Tip: Ask to be placed in a room away from the main road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Miami_Adventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed at the El Rey Inn for two nights. The hotel is charming - although it is on a main road, the grounds are beautiful and it is really quiet. The hot-tubs were well maintained. We skipped breakfast and headed to The Pantry next door, which serve fantastic South-Western meals.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neutor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

Very nice place, clean rooms, friendly staff, excellent service.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gmartin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed at the El Rey Inn for 2 nights in May 2012. We had just turned off the highway and found it by accident on the GPS. It has a very quiet unique and pleasant feel to it and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The included breakfast was above the usual quality for its price range I thought, and the hot tub was just the right temperature. Good beds and laundry facilities and pool, which was not in service at that time even though it was unusually warm. We walked to the old plaza in about an hour and then rode the number 2 bus back for $1.00 each. There is a bus stop just outside the Inn and we did it to avoid parking hassles downtown and because we needed the exercise. At $95.00 per night it is a great deal. Oh yeah, it has beautiful gardens too.

Room Tip: farther away from the road the quieter. We had one by the hot tub with no problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wasklywabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Old Santa Fe Inn
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,220 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#4 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,446 reviews
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#31 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,041 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Inn

Address: 1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your El Rey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing