We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic charmer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Rey Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added El Rey Inn to your Saves list
El Rey Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersGold level
oklahoma
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Historic charmer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I've passed by numerous times and always found the white-washed buildings set back from busy Cerrillos Road to be intriguing and charming. So when I needed a place to stay for two nights in early May, I was pleased to discover a reasonable price for the El Rey Inn on Expedia. As a solo traveler, I felt very safe here. The room was clean and quiet and I enjoyed walking the grounds and discovering all the little hidden nooks and crannies with statues of St. Francis and other decorations. I loved the home-made tortillas at breakfast. My only complaint was that it seemed to be a while since the grounds by my room had been maintained. They were in need of weeding and mowing. I think it was too early in the season to see the gardens in full bloom. All in all, I got what I came for, a peaceful and relaxing time. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    158
    43
    10
    7
See reviews for
102
224
27
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

The El Rey Inn is Route 66-type motel. It is attractive and pretty well maintained. Rooms are comfortable and staff helpful and pleasant. While definitely not in the up scale part of artsy Santa Fe, it is safe and comfortable. The grounds and gardens were beautiful at one time, so it's somewhat disappointing that they are no longer maintained as well as they could be. There are a couple of good local restaurants within walking distance, but you will need to drive to see any Santa Fe attractions. It is suprisingly quiet though on a major street, but the walls, trees and set-back location makes you think you are in a less busy industrial/business area. All in all, it is a pleasant and quiet inn with well maintained rooms except for the old-fashion televisions that receive very poor reception and deliver a horrible picture. Bring a good book!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, ME
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

It isn't really off the beaten track - it's on a very busy road, actually - but once inside you could be anywhere. This is a big sprawl of a place that's been added on to again and again over the years. The landscaping is lovely, so you can relax outside. Our room was comfortable, with a bathroom big enough to sub-let, and we appreciated having a fridge. Also the price was right, probably because you're not smack in downtown Santa Fe.
Only a couple of quibbles - the pool was not in operation while we were there, which was too bad. And the breakfast is definitely skippable.

Room Tip: As others have said, rooms in the back are quieter. We had a corner room near the pool and the vendi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

My husband and I were very pleased by the El Rey Inn, which was cozy and filled with personality. While it might not be in the center of town, this seemed a good thing, since we could return to our quiet room and truly relax after a day of soaking up Santa Fe's culture.

Room Tip: Ask to be placed in a room away from the main road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed at the El Rey Inn for two nights. The hotel is charming - although it is on a main road, the grounds are beautiful and it is really quiet. The hot-tubs were well maintained. We skipped breakfast and headed to The Pantry next door, which serve fantastic South-Western meals.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

Very nice place, clean rooms, friendly staff, excellent service.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed at the El Rey Inn for 2 nights in May 2012. We had just turned off the highway and found it by accident on the GPS. It has a very quiet unique and pleasant feel to it and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The included breakfast was above the usual quality for its price range I thought, and the hot tub was just the right temperature. Good beds and laundry facilities and pool, which was not in service at that time even though it was unusually warm. We walked to the old plaza in about an hour and then rode the number 2 bus back for $1.00 each. There is a bus stop just outside the Inn and we did it to avoid parking hassles downtown and because we needed the exercise. At $95.00 per night it is a great deal. Oh yeah, it has beautiful gardens too.

Room Tip: farther away from the road the quieter. We had one by the hot tub with no problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Rey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Inn

Address: 1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Rey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rey Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.