We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a "Find!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Rey Inn

Save Saved
You added El Rey Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Rey Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Splendid Fall Special
Ranked #9 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersGold level
Boise, Idaho
1 review
“Definitely a "Find!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Pleasantly surprised with the old world charm. Lodgings were a respite from the hectic Cerrillos Road; staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful; rooms are spacious and, if you are selective, extremely quiet. Consider this a "Find!" Grounds and gardens are well maintained. As many others point out, the price is great, especially with their passport of "stay 5 nights, get the 6th night free." These do not need to be consecutive. While it is not within walking distance, it is within approximately 3 miles of most destinations. We try to travel on "the road less traveled" and try to find accommodations that are unique and a value. The El Rey is definitely in this category and we will return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    150
    37
    10
    7
See reviews for
95
199
22
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We were hesitant to stay at a Motor Lodge on a busy road. It didn't sound like our idea of a charming Santa Fe vacation. As it turned out we had a hard time finding an affordable room in the center of town and wound up staying here for a night. We were pleasantly surprised and loved the place. It is motor lodge but a good portion of it is set way back from the road and is very quiet. The grounds and buildings are all immaculate. The road, Cerillos, wasn't as busy as we thought it would be. The grounds are tastefully decorated with Spanish tiles, flowers and plants throughout. Very colorful. There is a nice outdoor pool and an outdoor hot tub that we enjoyed after a day of traveling. They have a nice twist on the included continental breakfast. They serve warm tortillas w/ cheese and green chili sauce.

We took the advice of some of the other folks on Trip Advisor and booked a room in the back. It was a very pleasant stay and at 1/2 or 1/3 the price of many other places in town it is a bargain. The rooms themselves are fine. Not overly fancy They are very clean and all that you would expect. The front desk was very pleasant and helpful as well. The only drawback is that El Rey is not within walking distance to the downtown area that most tourist will want to visit. It is a 10 minute drive. it is close to Jackalope though ;-)

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The rear of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

From the outside it looks just like a nice Motel but once on the grounds it is very nice, extremely cozy, very Santa Fe colorful, very clean and friendly service. Wish we had stay longer and enjoy the hot tub, spa and heated pool they look soothing. If you are a light breakfast eater you will enjoy their breakfast. The breakfast room and patio are what you would expect at Bed & Breakfast place; it is a friendly home like ambiance. If in Santa Fe again I would stay there and use the hot tub this time.

Room Tip: I have four boys. Get plenty of beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watsonville, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Enjoyed the Spanish style 50s-60s(?) motor court design. Our room was very spacious, but the furnishings could use an update--clean but showing their age. Rooms are subject to any noise disruptions from guests outside. We were awakened at 5AM by a very loud group of guests outside our room who were getting ready for a bike ride and had NO sense that other people might be sleeping nearby. The location is very convenient.

Room Tip: The farther away from the parking lots, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We returned to the El Rey Inn in October, 2011. As usual, they continue to impress us with their service, quality of rooms and outdoor beauty. The rooms are very well maintained and clean. The breakfast was better than ever as well as the service they provided. Without a doubt, we will book our stay at El Rey every time we visit Santa Fe.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

My wife and I have been staying here for over twenty five years. We have lived in Albuquerque and Denver during that time, and in between visit Santa Fe whenever possible. In Santa Fe, this is the only place to stay. It's a 1930's (or older) motor court expanded, totally refurbished, and excellently maintained (they have their own greenhouse on premise to replenish the grounds). Many different room styles and very unique rooms with patios, vegas, and kivas, add to the enjoyment, as well as the park like nature habitat within the motel grounds. I would tell you our favorite room but then you might book it when we want IT!

If you really want a true taste of the Santa Fe Experience (and it is an experience), then this is the place.

By the way, compared to other high end Santa Fe lodging, it's reasonable, but the El Rey is not cheap. We think it's great value for the money, but if you want cheap, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Rooms around the original garden are best, they have a web site with room map...print this and then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Pros: Comfortable bed, hot shower, cute setting.
Cons: Lounge is too dark for reading, lights in room over reading area and vanity also low wattage (25 watts), staff was argumentative when I asked that heat be turned on (it was 66 degrees in the room). Very few channels on TV. Staff also lacking in knowledge as far as directions and touristy things to do.

Room Tip: Check out the wattage in the lights if you read at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Rey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Inn

Address: 1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#17 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your El Rey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rey Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;